Book Notification

John Morgan Wilson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Benjamin Justice Books

Simple Justice (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revision of Justice (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Justice at Risk (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Limits of Justice (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blind Eye (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moth and Flame (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rhapsody in Blood (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spider Season (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Philip Damon Mystery Books

with Peter Duchin
Blue Moon (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Morning, Heartache (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Men of the Mean Streets: Gay Noir(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

About John Morgan Wilson

John Morgan Wilson, an American writer, is best known for his Benjamin Justice mystery series and has also co-written two books with Peter Duchin. He has won the Edgar Award and the Lambda Literary Award multiple times for his work on the Benjamin Justice novels.

Wilson, an American journalist and crime fiction author, is recognized for his captivating storytelling in the Benjamin Justice mystery series. The series centers around Benjamin Justice, a former journalist solving murder cases in Los Angeles while dealing with personal struggles. Wilson’s talent for creating engaging characters and gripping plots has made his books highly entertaining for readers.

His writing style is praised for its compelling narratives and engaging storytelling, particularly in the Benjamin Justice series. Through his skillful storytelling, Wilson crafts suspenseful and intriguing plots that captivate readers from beginning to end.

Wilson’s adept portrayal of complex characters adds depth and authenticity to his storytelling, drawing readers into the intricate lives of his protagonists. As he continues to expand the ‘Benjamin Justice’ series, along with his overall career, readers can anticipate more riveting narratives and character development in his future books, promising an engaging and immersive reading experience.

Early and Personal Life

John Morgan Wilson, born on the 19th of September in 1945 in Florida, developed a passion for writing during high school in California. Encouraged by his wrestling coach, he pursued writing after some college experience. Starting as a sports correspondent, Wilson transitioned to reporting for newspapers and writing for magazines.

Engaging in fiction classes and captaining the wrestling team during college, Wilson honed his writing skills. Founding Easy Reader in 1970 in Hermosa Beach, he later became involved in the LGBT movement in Venice Beach. Settling in West Hollywood, Wilson drew inspiration for his Benjamin Justice mysteries and married his partner, Pietro Gamino, in 2013.

From his early days in California to his success as an author, John Morgan Wilson’s writing journey has been shaped by his experiences in journalism and community paper founding. His storytelling prowess and personal growth have led to the creation of captivating works like the Benjamin Justice series, capturing the imaginations of readers worldwide.

Writing Career

John Morgan Wilson established himself as a full-time freelance writer by 1975, contributing to various publications such as the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and Writer’s Digest over the years. Transitioning to television in 1992, he worked as a writer-producer on different programs for networks like Fox, Discovery Channel, and Court TV, focusing on documentaries and fact-based content for nearly a decade.

In 1996, Wilson released his first novel, ‘Simple Justice,’ kicking off the critically acclaimed Benjamin Justice mystery series. The series garnered recognition, with the debut novel earning an Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best First Novel and a nomination from the Lambda Literary Foundation.

Aside from the Benjamin Justice series, Wilson has collaborated on two mysteries with Peter Duchin and published short fiction in various magazines and anthologies, showcasing his versatility and storytelling finesse throughout his extensive writing career.

Justice at Risk

John Morgan Wilson’s mystery novel ‘Justice at Risk,’ the third installment in the ‘Benjamin Justice’ series, was published by Crimeline on May 2, 2000. The book received the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Men’s Mystery in 1999, adding to the success of Wilson’s acclaimed series. These mysteries can be enjoyed independently or as part of a series.

Benjamin Justice, valuing credibility as a reporter, faced setbacks after losing a Pulitzer prize. Despite the challenges, his luck changes with an offer to script a documentary. Upon discovering the mysterious disappearance of his predecessor, Justice dives into a dangerous pursuit of uncovering dark secrets.

As he delves deeper into the investigation, Justice realizes that his life is now at stake in protecting not just his reputation, but his very existence.

With vivid storytelling, readers are drawn into a gripping narrative filled with suspense and unexpected twists. Wilson’s skillful writing keeps you on the edge of your seat, making this a must-read for mystery enthusiasts.

The Limits of Justice

John Morgan Wilson’s mystery novel ‘The Limits of Justice,’ the fourth book in the ‘Benjamin Justice’ series, was also published by Crimeline on May 1, 2001. The book received the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Mystery in 2000, further highlighting Wilson’s continued success with the series, which again offers a cohesive narrative for returning readers.

Ex-reporter Benjamin Justice, at his lowest point battling HIV with no prospects, is offered a job ghostwriting a retaliatory book by a woman seeking to clear her late father’s tarnished name. The sleazy bio accuses her father, actor Rod Preston, of dark deeds, leading Justice into a treacherous world of powerful men and heinous crimes.

When the woman is found dead, Justice suspects foul play despite authorities ruling it a suicide, prompting him to delve deeper. With only rumors and limited evidence, Justice embarks on a dangerous quest for the truth, uncovering a web of secrets involving perilous games and unimaginable atrocities that may jeopardize not only his life, but his very essence.

The intricate storyline and complex characters draws readers into a world of suspense and intrigue, making it a compelling read for mystery aficionados.

Spider Season

John Morgan Wilson’s mystery novel ‘Spider Season,’ the eighth book in the ‘Benjamin Justice’ series, was this time published by Minotaur Books on December 9, 2008. The book was nominated for the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Mystery in 2008, adding to the accolades received by Wilson for his captivating series that offers readers a cohesive narrative.

Once a prominent journalist, Benjamin Justice’s downfall came when his Pulitzer-winning articles were exposed as fabricated. Years later, he releases a memoir, hoping to redeem his tarnished reputation and revive his writing career.

However, his memoir unearths buried secrets from his past, putting himself and his loved ones in jeopardy. Justice must confront his past and fight to protect his future amidst the chaos unleashed by his memoir.

Wilson’s skillful storytelling once again keeps readers engrossed as Justice navigates the complexities of redemption, unearthing buried secrets that threaten to upend his life in this gripping mystery.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John Morgan Wilson

Leave a Reply