Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

John Nichol Books In Order

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Point of Impact (1996) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vanishing Point (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Exclusion Zone (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Stinger (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Decisive Measures (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Tornado Down (1992) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Team Tornado (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Last Escape (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tail End Charlies (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Medic (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Arnhem (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Red Line (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
After the Flood (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Return of the Dambusters (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Author John Nichol was once a flight lieutenant with the RAF for fifteen years, and had a Tornado fighter shot down while doing a mission over Iraq during the Gulf War, and was captured before being tortured.

He was born Adrian John Nichol in December of 1963, and has been referred to as the British Tom Clancy. He resides in Hertfordshire.

He started publishing books in the year 1992 with a non-fiction book he wrote with John Peters. Peters was pilot with him when they were shot down with him. He later turned his hand to writing novels, starting in the year 1996 with the publication of “Point of Impact”. Whether it is non-fiction or fiction, he incorporates his time as a pilot into his work, with a lot of his characters being flight lieutenants in the RAF, just like he was.

“Point of Impact” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 1996. Tempests of the Royal Air Force start crashing on simple and routine missions. It is something that is puzzling people. Pilot error is what the Investigation Bureau blames it on at the moment.

Drew Miller (who is a Flight Lieutenant) is suspicious there is a cover up, as some of his buddies are some of the ones that have died. He is determined to find out more about what is going on here. It quickly becomes clear that the key to solving this is still in the Tempest’s cockpit, but how will he be able to unlock the plane without dying himself?

Fans of the novel found this to have a strong ending that concludes an enjoyable story. The writing in the book makes it feel like you are with the other characters in it, it is described that vividly. This was hard for some readers to put down for very long, as it was quite entertaining the entire time.

“Vanishing Point” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 1997. Mark Hunter (who is a Flight Lieutenant, as well as one of the most ambitious pilots the RAF has) finds that it was not only the Iraqis that used some of the toughest strains of chemical warfare while the Gulf War was being fought.

Both Whitehall and the Pentagon are going to stop at nothing to make sure that one of the deadliest Desert Storm skeletons stays buried for good.

“Exclusion Zone” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 1998. The year is 1999, and the place is the Falklands. There is a vital stronghold, strategically speaking, and a gem that is worth a pretty penny in the oil rich part of the South Atlantic. Sean Riever (a pilot for the RAF) it is filled with ghosts. To Jane Clark (the only female navigator of the bunch) it is a place to make some hard choices.

The compulsion Sean has to live up to a legend and a hero takes him to a female that is lonely on a level he knows all too well. Then a nuclear submarine of the Royal Navy goes missing, and Argentine’s jet fighters are able to get into the Exclusion Zone. Sean, along with his companions are able to hold off many enemy attacks. Their fight to keep the islands safe starts to be a huge battle to survive, and victory is only something that can only be accomplished after paying a terrible price.

Fans of the novel found this to be quite exhilarating of a book. The book has strong writing that is easy to follow with vivid imagery that really takes you to the places being described and characters that you get to know and even like. The book is able to entertain while also teaching the readers about a country and a part of history they knew nothing about.

“Stinger” is the fourth stand alone novel and was released in the year 1999, which also features Sean Riever (who appeared in “Exclusion Zone”). Sean Riever is still struggling to cope with the nightmare in the Falklands, he tries to clear his head by taking part in an operation clearing mines in Afghanistan.

A stinger missile is responsible for taking down passenger plane that belongs to British Airways. The phantoms from his past conflict come back to haunt him. Sean is forced to go right back into the cauldron of war.

He dresses like the enemy and hides in some rocky mountains to outsmart the horrifying regime of Taliban. He risks all he has learned to care about so that he can prevent a much bigger tragedy from happening.

Fans of the novel found that once again, you get to really smell it all and see everything being described. Here is a quality thriller that is fast paced from a stellar author. You are unable to break away from the story for very long, as the author keeps you captivated the entire time. It even has a serious message in it, too.

“Decisive Measures” is the fifth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2000. Jack Griffiths (a helicopter pilot) leaves RAF to join Decisive Measures (which is a private military company). This is a move made in the hope that he can put behind some of the horrible ethnic fights he saw in Kosovo and in Bosnia.

This new job sends him off to Sierra Leone with a job protecting diamond fields. While there, he meets up with Layla, who is a doctor that works with one of the charities. Their new friendship is wrecked when civil war breaks out, and sends Jack right back into fighting. Decisive Measures just abandons all of the mine workers. Jack and Layla have to figure out just where their actual loyalties lie.

The author does a great job here with talking about war without getting preachy or slowing the story down any. It has a fast pace and the romance the two main characters have is pretty fantastic. Fans felt that the lead character in this was someone that they were rooting for pretty quickly while reading this one.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John Nichol