Book Notification

John P. Marquand Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mr. Moto Books

Your Turn, Mr. Moto / No Hero / Mr. Moto Takes a Hand (1935)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thank You, Mr. Moto (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
Think Fast, Mr. Moto (1937)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Moto is So Sorry (1938)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Laugh, Mr. Moto (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
Right You Are, Mr. Moto (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Unspeakable Gentleman (1922)Description / Buy at Amazon
Four of a Kind (1923)Description / Buy at Amazon
Do Tell Me, Doctor Johnson (1928)Description / Buy at Amazon
Haven's End (1929)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ming Yellow (1935)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Late George Apley (1937)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wickford Point (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
H.M. Pulham, Esq. (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
So Little Time (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
Repent in Haste (1945)Description / Buy at Amazon
B.F.'s Daughter (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon
Point of No Return (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's Loaded Mr. Bauer (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
Melville Goodwin, USA (1952)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sincerely, Willis Wayde (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon
Life At Happy Knoll. (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon
Women and Thomas Harrow (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warning Hill (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Black Cargo (1925)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lord Timothy Dexter of Newburyport, Massachusetts (1925)Description / Buy at Amazon
Timothy Dexter Revisited (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Black Cat Weekly #29(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

A highly renowned and an equally highly regarded author of spy and satirical stories, the American author John P. Marquand built himself a strong legacy during his lifetime. Taking a look at big themes and ideas such as class and its place within American society, he was an influential and gifted writer. With a keen eye for character and a well defined insight into American values and what drove people, it was no wonder that he went on to becoming a Pulitzer Prize winning author.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1893 on the 10th of November, John Phillips Marquand was born and raised in the area of Wilmington in Delaware. Growing up in America he harbored a strong passion for both reading and writing from a very early age, right up until the day he died in 1960 on the 16th of July. Constantly focused as a novelist throughout, he managed to build his name as an author for the duration of his lifetime.

Graduating from Newburyport High School with a scholarship to Harvard, Marquand was already well on his way to becoming an academic success. It was here that he’d find himself come against the social conventions of the day, something which would influence his work enormously. With his academic career shaping him hugely, he would become extremely vocal on many issues during his lifetime.

During the first world war, he went on and served in the Massachusetts National Guard on the Mexican border. This was in 1916, after he’d graduated from Harvard followed by working at The Boston Evening Transcript as a reported in 1915. It was these experiences that would help to shape him into becoming the writer that he would later become, along with his views and ideas.

With a long and extensive legacy behind him, he is still currently revered as an author to this very day. Whilst he may have ended up joining the elite classes that he initially snubbed, it is his work satirizing them that’s most fondly remembered. Winning a Pulitzer Prize during his lifetime, he was and will continue to be, an inspiration for many for years to come.

Writing Career

Publishing his first book in 1922, he would make his name with the novel ‘The Unspeakable Gentleman’. This would help launch his career as an author, marking him as a serious talent to watch, although still considered to be on the more populist end of the spectrum. It was during the latter half of the 1930s that he’d start to focus himself on class and social issues, though, with an eye for satire.

One of the series that he’s best known for still, though, is that of his Mr. Moto spy novels, which continue to entertain people to this day. Creating one of his most enduring characters, it was to become a well established story with a highly engaging protagonist. It would also help to move the genre forwards as a whole, setting up many of the tropes that are still currently seen now.

The year of 1938 was when he’d be awarded his Pulitzer Prize for his novel ‘The Late George Apley’ published the previous year. This is what would set him on his path to becoming a highly renowned and equally highly regarded author of much repute. His relationship with the general public was also strong as well, with his many spy novels reaching worldwide acclaim on a regular basis.

Over the years he’d have a love and hate relationship with the upper classes, something which would show in his writing. It was during this time, though, that he’d produce some of his most scathing and witty portrayals of certain class aspirations. This is what his name has become synonymous with over the years, due to his keen insight and ever perceptive eye.

Continuing to write right up until his death, he slowed down in his later years, publishing stories for such publications as ‘Sports Illustrated’. His son, John Phillips Marquand, Jr., also followed in his father’s footsteps, as he too became and author as well. Over the years, though, the legacy of Marquand has lived on, not just through his son, but through his work overall.

Your Turn, Mr. Moto

Originally published in 1935, this book was first serialized in the Saturday Evening Post before being released as a full novel. Marking the first title in the ongoing Mr. Moto series of spy novels, it was also made into the 1938 film ‘Think Fast, Mr. Moto’ starring Peter Lorre. Initially titled ‘No Hero’, as well as ‘Mr. Moto Takes a Hand’, it’s seen many reiterations and republications during its time.

Featuring the American airman Casey Lee who’s seen better days, it starts with him having already lived through his glory days, now being grounded in Japan. That’s when a series of events transpires to turn all this around, as he gets entangled with a beautiful Russian femme fatale spy, along with Mr. Moto himself who hopes to enlist his services. Using his skills and his powers of deduction, he hopes to put all the pieces together in a case involving treachery and death. Who is behind all the deception? What is going on with the mysterious Chinese courier? When will it be your turn, Mr. Moto?

The Late George Apley

Initially published in 1937, this was to be a stand-alone satire of the upper classes that has become universally revered over time. Winning the Pulitzer Prize for the Novel the following year in 1938, it has gone down as being a classic of its genre. It has seen many reiterations over the years, including a 1944 Broadway play and a feature film in 1947, along with a television series in 1955.

Set in downtown Boston on Beacon Hill, this features the story of the eponymous George Apley who lives there. With a WASP education he is a member of a family with a slowly diminishing fortune and is also recently deceased. Telling the story of the aftermath of his death it charts the transitioning of this particular family from high wealth and status, and the truth behind this façade. Will they cope in the wake of it all? How do they really deal with all the trappings of wealth? What will become of the late George Apley?

Book Series In Order » Authors » John P. Marquand

Leave a Reply