Book Notification

John Putnam Thatcher Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of John Putnam Thatcher Books

Banking on Death (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Place for Murder (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
Accounting for Murder (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Makes the Wheels Go 'Round (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Shall Overcome (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Against the Grain (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Stitch in Time (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
Come to Dust (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
When in Greece (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder To Go (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pick Up Sticks (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ashes to Ashes (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Longer the Thread (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Without Icing (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet and Low (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
By Hook or by Crook (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Double, Double, Oil and Trouble (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Going for the Gold (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Green Grow the Dollars (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Something in the Air (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
East Is East (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Right on the Money (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brewing Up a Storm (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Shark Out of Water (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

The name Emma Lathen doesn’t really refer to a specific writer, rather the name of two competent writers who met at graduate school, Havard. Emma Lathen is, therefore, a pen name of two American businesswomen, who had the passion of writing. They are Martha Henissart, who is an economic analyst and Mary Jane Latsis, who was an economist. Martha was born in 1929, while Mary Jane was born on 12th July 1927 and passed away on 29th October 1997. Besides being an economic analyst, Martha is also a physicist, who attended the Mount Holyoke College and attained a B.A in physics in 1950.

In order to come with the pseudonym name, Emma Lathen, they use the abbreviations and short forms of their names. Apart from this pen name, they also wrote under a different pseudonym known as R.B. Dominic. They managed to write several books together and are all available online and at the local libraries. They are very interesting books that you will really love reading.

Under the pen name Emma Lathen, they managed to write a myriad number of books with the debut novel being written in 1961. This was a novel they entitled as “Banking on Death”. In about two years later, they wrote the second book and this was entitled as “A Place of Murder”. These are also the first two books in the John Putnam Thatcher (Series by Emma Lathen). The latest book under this pen name was written in the same year Mary Jane passed away and it is known as “A Shark Out of Water”. Under the pen name R. B. Dominic, they have also done different books with the pioneer book being written in 1968, while the last one was written in 1983. In their writing career, they managed to win several awards like the Gold Dagger, Agatha Awards and Edgar Awards in 1967, 1997 and 1983 respectively.

Banking on Death

This is the genesis book of the John Putnam Thatcher Series by Emma Lathen. The novel currently has about seven editions and its first publication was done in 1961. It has about 166 pages. The protagonist character in the novel is known as John Putnam Thatcher, who is a street banker/amateur sleuth. John Putnam Thatcher, who is also a Senior Vice President of the Sloan Guaranty Trust, the third biggest bank on the planet. He is a regarded and perceived figure on Wall Street. He comes back to his office one day to discover Arthur Schneider requesting to meet with the top man to talk about his family trust. Thatcher consents to see him and gets himself initially aggravated and afterward interested by this little bank trust – an annoyance account, similarly as the Sloan is concerned in light of its size. There is a missing beneficiary and due to this, Thatcher helps the trust officer allocated to the case discover the man. Shockingly, it’s past the point of no return. This is because he has just been assassinated. Thatcher is interested and can’t abandon it to the police, so he utilizes his monetary contacts to do some examining.

How did John Putnam help the situation? This is something that is very stressing and as the one in charge, he finds it quite tricky to come up with the solution. In order to understand the novel better, then you should find the book today and you will really love the merging story written by these two writers. The books can be found both locally and online.

A place of Murder

This is the second book of the series of the John Putnam Thatcher Series by Emma Lathen. Its initial publication was done in 1963 and currently has about four editions with approximately 188 pages. The main character in the novel is known as John Putnam Thatcher, who is the vice president of Sloan organization. In this second book of the series, there are a number murderous romping through.

The first incident in the novel is about the sister of the Sloan’s president demanding for a divorce from her husband. In a real sense, she is not after the divorce, but her husband, with whom they have been married for about 20 years is very eager to give her the divorce. This is because the husband is now ready to marry another young lady just from the same town. Prior to their separation, they can both experience some ranch that should be surveyed for quality. As Thatcher touches base to assist the vulnerable president, the young woman who anticipates her man to be separated is found murdered. And after that there is a puppy show booked. More passing, madness. With these pieces of information, lastly, Thatcher is very confident that he can assemble the pieces in order to get the truth about the murder of the young woman.

At this moment, John Putnam Thatcher has two different murder cases to solve. The tricky part of it is that he may not successfully provide the required information to the authorities. This is the reason why he decides to travel to Connecticut, where he does some hand-holding. Thatcher, irritated by the interference in his rustic arrangements for the weekend when he is sent to Connecticut. He takes it out on a junior subordinate by stacking him up with a considerable measure of additional work to do throughout the weekend as well. Miss Corsa, Thatcher’s sorted out, flawless, and down to earth secretary carefully tells Thatcher, why his junior official is not upbeat about not having time at home throughout the weekend.

Thatcher, in any case, doesn’t yield. In the long run he, his junior official, and a large portion of the bank’s top administrators ends up in Connecticut to manage the aftermath from a homicide found amid the prenuptial festivals and including elk horns gave to the gathering by Brad Withers. This is just, but a small summary of this book. You can follow the entire series by getting a copy of the novel from your nearest library and you will definitely love it. The novel is also available online where you can choose to read or buy it.

Book Series In Order » Characters » John Putnam Thatcher

Leave a Reply