Book Notification

John Rawlings Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of John Rawlings Books

Death in the Dark Walk (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Beggar's Opera (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Devil's Tavern (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Romney Marsh (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in the Peerless Pool (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Apothecaries' Hall (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in the West Wind (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at St. James's Palace (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in the Valley of Shadows (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in the Setting Sun (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and the Cornish Fiddler (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Hellfire (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and the Black Pyramid (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Wedding Feast (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Rocks (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Boston Tea Party (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the River Thames (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

John Rawlings is the main character in a series by Deryn Lake is the main character in a series of historical fiction novels written by bestselling English author of romance, mystery and historical fiction novels Deryn Lake. Rawlings is an associate and apothecary of John Fielding, mostly in the 18th century London, England. Deryn Lake began the publication of John Rawlings Series in 1994 when Death in the Dark Walk, the first novel in the series was published and since then over a dozen sequels have been published.

Death in the Dark Walk

Following his education, as in apothecary and apprenticeship, John Rawlings celebrates in the gardens of Vaux Hall when he stumbles upon a girl’s body. Send before the magistrate as main suspect, Rawlings erases his own name and impresses Judge John Fielding, who is instead asked to investigate the crime. From hellish games to fashion houses, Rawlings follows a trail of intrigue and lust that reveals a dangerous past with menacing secrets.

Death at Beggar’s Opera

John Rawlings, the apprentice and apothecary with the talent for investigative work, and Fielding, the great magistrate whose corridors formed the first police force in London, make a good comeback in this intriguing Georgian mystery.

John Rawlings is one of those who are having a good time with the play of “The Beggar’s Opera” on Drury Lane when the leading actor, the famous Jasper Harcross, falls dramatically dead on stage. While Rawlings and The Bind Bleak are searching for important clues, they discover a Centre stage of rivalry on and off the stage that produces many suspects and more questions. As investigations takes on a twisted path, John Rawlings finds himself in a fascinating trail of passion that sends to the evil heart of cold-blooded murder.

Deryn Lake has woven a brilliant second John Rawlings series installment featuring two brilliant lead characters. John Rawlings combines his intelligence being in his 20’s with a slight naiveté of his youth and a determination for justice. The relationship with his adopted dad is quite impressive, beautifully illustrated in Lake’s wonderfully evocative writing style.

Death at the Devil’s Tavern

Death at the Devil’s Tavern is the second novel in John Rawlings Series by Deryn Lake. The novel opens up on a blustery March day, and John Rawlings is officially celebrating no longer being an apprentice. He ventures into Wapping, a rather filthy section of London to celebrate with his friend Samuel. Arriving pretty early, John sneaks into the back of a church and discovers that a wedding ceremony is almost starting.

However, the bridegroom does not show up and to the delight of his family and friends. Worse for wear, both Samuel and John spend the night at a local tavern but are later awakened in the midst of the night. John goes out to investigate and soon discovers the body of a murdered young man he suspects to be the missing bridegroom. Having assisted John Fielding, the magistrate in the past, John is once more asked to lend his hand to this murder case.

The author, Deryn Lake’s research in both historical fiction and murder mystery is apparent in this third series installment. She has created vividly described the setting, a strong sense of place and also a strong feeling of authenticity to her beautiful writing including the use of idioms and the remedies used by John Rawlings. It is interesting to see how the author has woven actual historical figures such as John Wilkes Booth and Thomas Jefferson into mentions or cameo roles within the story.

Death at the Devil’s Tavern is a classical, traditional mystery with a long list of suspects with each having his or her own motives, plenty of red herrings. The lead character, John is a brilliantly crafted with both the exuberance of a touch of naiveté and his youth.

Death on the Romney Marsh

John Rawlings is a medical doctor and occasionally provides a lending hand to Judge Sir John Fielding while investigating the crime. John is summoned by a lady he met during a previous investigation. Mrs. Elizabeth, formerly Harcross, is convinced that someone wants to kill her, and so he asks John for help.
With the beginning of the Seven Years’ battle in Europe, Fielding warns John against paying attention to spies. On the bus tour to Winchelsea, John Rawlings sees a strange scarecrow standing in the middle of Romney Marsh. After an investigation, he finds out that the scarecrow a body of a murdered man; also revealed to be a French spy.

Death in the West Wind

Apothecary John Rawlings and his girlfriend, Emilia, have decided to stay in England for their honeymoon. One of the stops is the bustling harbor of Taunton. They are invited to celebrate with Jan van Guylder, her son Richard and her obviously annoying and intentional daughter Juliana. A couple of days later, Emilia and John are on the beach watching a boat towed to the shore. There is no crew aboard, but Juliana’s wounded and battered body was placed on the ship’s figurehead.

The story is very well drawn with ghost cars, old lovers, a depraved mansion that was not wholly uninhabited and growing tension. Despite the discovery of the villain, there was a very satisfying ride in the end.

Death at Apothecaries’ Hall

Death at Apothecaries Hall opens up with Apothecary John buying herb as a dinner of the Worshipful Society is over. He encounters Liveryman Alleyn summoning his home and desperately sick, and as a result, he accompanies him and saves his life.

After getting back home and refresh, he and his adoptive dad head to Kensington, and they story at Alleyn’s on the way, only to find the man dead. It is also revealed that several of the guests who attended the dinner had been taken ill as well. Could this be accidental food poisoning or was it intentional?

If you love historical mystery, then John Rawlings is such a good series. Lake’s sense of place and time are well done. She has done a brilliant job in conveying the 18th century England, from the beggars to the wealthy elites in the city, the food, the dressing, the manners and even the voice associated with the period. The characters are beautifully woven, some with a great sense of humor particularly John Rawling’s father.

Book Series In Order » Characters » John Rawlings

Leave a Reply