Book Notification

John Stonehouse Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of John Whicher Books

An American Outlaw (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
An American Kill (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wildburn (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
An American Bullet (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
An American King (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
An American Reckoning (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
South Country (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mountain Gods (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

John Stonehouse is a successful American writer of crime fiction, suspense, thriller, and mystery novels. He is particularly well known for writing the John Whicher book series. Stonehouse is said to have spent time in traveling a lot. He has visited various places in the states as well as overseas. His particular interests include literature, poetry, history, and music. All these interests have drawn him to wide-open places, where very few people like to go. Stonehouse made his debut in the field of writing with the book called An American Outlaw. This book gained widespread popularity and helped him establish himself as a noteworthy author. The book also found a place in’s list of top 50 ‘successors of the greats’ in the category of contemporary crime fiction. Stonehouse followed the success of his debut book with its sequel novel entitled An American Kill. It also opened to widespread acclaim and achieved immense success. After this, Stonehouse wrote one more full-length novel and one novella. Currently, he is working on the development of a new novel and is expected to release it soon.

Each of the novels written by Stonehouse features the lead protagonist in the role of Deputy US Marshal named John Whicher. His books are available in various formats and are also found on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Apple iBooks, and Kobo as ebooks. The first and second novels of Stonehouse’s career have become Amazon bestsellers. Author Stonehouse has developed a website of his own. He uses it to give out updates, latest news, release schedules, special offers, etc. to his fans from all over the world. The critics often describe Stonehouse’s novels as fast-moving, action-packed, filled with tension, and brilliantly written. Several others see his novels as meditations on life, war, and love, and expect them to be adapted into films soon.

Stonehouse’s description of the people, culture, and landscape of West Texas has been highly appreciated. His descriptions are hailed as being accurate and filled with valid details. Author Stonehouse likes to hear from the readers and answer their queries personally. He makes an attempt to respond to each of the messages he receives. He is also active on social media platforms, Facebook and Twitter, where readers can connect with him easily. Stonehouse is looking forward to writing numerous other novels in the upcoming years and achieve much more success than he has already achieved.

The John Whicher series penned by author John Stonehouse began in 2013. It features the main characters in the roles of John Whicher, Gilman James, Tennille Labrea, Juanita Jones, and several others. Stonehouse has done the setting of the plots in Colorado and Texas, near the US-Mexico border. The debut book of this crime fiction/thriller/mystery series is entitled ‘An American Outlaw’. It was released as a Kindle book in 2014. Initially, Gilman James is introduced as the scion of the great outlaws of the West. He comes home after fulfilling his duty in the Iraq war and is the last one of the group of 3 children friends to come back. His other two friends merely appear to be the shadows of the lives that they have formerly lived. But, Gilman James seems to be unmarked and is determined to look after them. But, he wonders how far can he go to help those he loves.

Due to his determined efforts in taking care of his brothers-in-arms, Gilman steps across the line between wrong and right multiple times. A time comes when he finds himself all alone in the vast desert of Texas. A bank heist planned by him goes wrong, leaving him stranded in the desert. He is pursued by John Whicher, a determined US Marshal. While trying to outrun John Whicher in the badlands, Gilman James comes across an outlander named Tennille Labrea. She is fighting her own demons and wants to get rid of them as soon as possible. Tennille shields an important secret which is so precious that she cannot share it with anyone.

To keep the secret safe and well-guarded, she has made up her mind to cross her line without a second thought. John Whicher is a First Gulf War veteran and thinks that he knows the circumstances that force a person to become an outlaw. But, a question he keeps asking himself is whether the law can be outranked by natural justice. As the story reaches its climax, 3 very different people face their moment of reckoning in the most violent, inescapable, and defining way. This thrilling story found a lot of takers in all the places of its publishing and became highly successful.

The second installment of the series is known as ‘An American Kill’. It was also published in the Kindle format in 2015. Initially, it is mentioned that John Whicher, a US Marshal, has spent less than 12 months in this role after returning from Gulf war service. He is still in shape and not forgotten his skills and training. While in south Texas, he comes across the first case of his new career. John Whicher learns that an incident of multiple shooting on the Mexico-US border has left one American and 4 non-documented aliens dead. The government decides its best to prevent it from getting highlighted in the media. It limits the inquest. Due to budget cuts, the investigating agency has very few resources at hand to use for investigation.

John Whicher is not willing to let these shortcomings come in the way of his investigation. He is also willing to know who is setting the limit and in what capacity. This book turned out to be an exciting one containing plenty of excitement, drama, action, and twists. Stonehouse’s depiction of characters looks quite dynamic and interesting. The readers enjoyed the book very much and gave exciting reviews on various literary platforms. The critics have also given good reviews and ratings for this book. They have praised the writing style of author Stonehouse and appreciated his efforts in coming up with this unique story of mystery, thrill, and suspense. Author Stonehouse felt motivated with all the praise and appreciation. He went ahead to develop more interesting stories and make them available for his fans to read and enjoy.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John Stonehouse

2 Responses to “John Stonehouse”

  1. Rick Pringle: 3 months ago

    I have listenten to th fist four books an am waiting pationately for more in Audio, I have a macular eye issue and find it to hard to read a ook, but I can listen.


  2. Diane Cauble: 3 years ago

    I really like the series and I like the audio. I have listened to all except the las two. When will the audio of American King and American Reckoning come out.


Leave a Reply