Book Notification

John Wilcox Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Simon Fonthill Books

The Horns of the Buffalo (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road to Kandahar (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Diamond Frontier (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Stand at Majuba Hill (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Guns of El Kebir (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Siege of Khartoum (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shangani Patrol (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The War of the Dragon Lady (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire Across the Veldt (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pirates – Starboard Side! (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bayonets Along the Border (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treachery in Tibet (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dust Clouds of War (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Starshine (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Rocks of Morwenstow (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Arrow's Arc (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Bombs & Betty Grable (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

John Wilcox was a popular novelist from The United Kingdom, who wasfamous for writing historical and fiction novels.

He passed away in 2018.

He was particularly well known for writing the Simon Fonthill novel series. Before becoming a novelist, Wilcox started his career by working in the field of journalism. He joint as a local journalist and reporter in Birmingham. Author Wilcox spent a number of years in the journalism industry and also got the chance to visit numerous countries of the world.

When he found his interest in writing books, Wilcox felt very much drawn to the idea of writing his own story. He got so much indulged in it that he decided to sell his company. And since then, he has devoted himself completely as a full time writer. As of now, author Wilcox resides in Salisbury. He says that back in the day when he was a daily newspaper reporter, his life was completely fulfilled.

He used to consider himself as a competent reporter and his enthusiasm and dedication had helped him win the Best Young Journalist award. Later in life, when author Wilcox thought of all these things, he wonders how he allowed himself to get lured away by the fascination of writing novels. Author Wilcox was not good with numbers at the time of his studies. He was not able to do sums as the other kids in his school. However, he did have a nascent talent of stringing words together.

Both these things enabled author Wilcox get steered towards the world of journalism. Also, he had a deep desire of wearing a trench coat with belted knots, similar to that of Bogart. Later on, author Wilcox went on to join a leading car making company in UK and became its public relations head. He was happy to have moved into a more tangible world that involved marketing. He found the work to be less hectic as compared to his previous job of newspaper reporting. Author Wilcox became even happier when he eventually sold his partly owned company. T

his enabled him to shift to the countryside and focus on his hobby of writing stories. . Wilcox said that he liked to enjoy sitting in his studio, located near the bottom of his garden in Wiltshire. Sitting there, he wonders about the fairies by looking at the chestnut trees in his garden and indulges deep in the thoughts about the exciting and strange world that he looks to create in his newer books.

The Simon Fonthill series written by John Wilcox is comprised of a total of 11 novels, which were released between the years 2004 and 2014. Each and every book of this series features the lead character in the role of Simon Fonthill, who is shown as a lieutenant in the British Army.

The plotline of the series moves from 1879 up to 1903 and shows various battles in which Simon Fonthill takes part as being the member of the British Army. The series begins with its debut novel entitled ‘The Horns of the Buffalo’. This novel was released by the Headline publication in the year 2004. In this book, author Wilcox has shown the British Army and Lieutenant Simon Fonthill indulging in a battle against the Zulus in South Africa. The story begins at the time of the year 1879.

At the start of the book, it is described that the British Army’s redcoats division is universally considered as the best fighting force all around the world. Simon Fonthill is also a part of the redcoats and holds the post of a lieutenant. As the redcoats are asked to move to South Africa, Simon Fonthill looks at it as an opportunity to prove a lot to himself and to the world. He desperately wants to get rid of the tag of coward, which was given to him by his former commanding officer Colonel Covington. When the redcoats reach the Cape, the tension is already high over there.

It is learned that the Zulus, which is an independent nation comprising of brave militant tribesmen, have threatened the vision of the colonial government of uniting South Africa as a single nation. Simon Fonthill comes to know that he has been assigned to carry out a highly dangerous mission. He is asked to enter deep among the Zulus and discover the intentions and plans of the king. During the course of the mission, Simon gets arrested by the Zulus. He gets imprisoned and faces a lot of violence before being forced to face the greatest challenge of his life. He must escape from the Isandlwana Battle’s massacre and reach the small garrison halted at the Rorke’s Drift to inform them about the dangerous threat from the advancing Zulus. If Simon succeeds in completing this task, he will be able to prove the Colonel Covington was a liar in labeling him a coward. However, he will have to pay an ultimate price before being able to see that happen.

Another successful book of this series is called as ‘The War of the Dragon Lady’. It was released in 2013 by the Allison Busby publication. The plot of this story is set in 1900 and shows the main characters as Simon Fonthill, Alice Fonthill, and Jenkins. At the beginning of the story, it is depicted that the whole of China turns into a huge chaos at the start of the 20th century. A group of peasants called as the Boxers blame the foreigners, especially the foreign missionaries, for the ill state of the nation. They have now started rampaging all over the country and killing every foreigner they set their eyes upon. The Boxers are encouraged by the Dowager Empress of China secretly, causing the malestorm to grow even bigger after each passing day. During such difficult times, Simon Fonthill, Alice, and Jenkins visit the country to pay a visit to Alice’s uncle, who is a missionary. As they feel the threat from the Boxers, they escort Alice’s uncle to Peking along with the family. While on their way to safety, the group is suddenly attacked by the red bannered Boxers, resulting in the killing of the missionary. The remaining people reach Peking, only to discover that the situation in the capital has also gone out of hand. The city is about to get sieged by the barbaric peasants. In order to prevent this from happening, Simon and Jenkins set out to get some help. They are joined by the adopted son of the missionary, named Chang. Simon realizes that he has landed himself in a dangerous mission once again. However, he does not lose hope and looks to bring the situation under control by bringing help well within time.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John Wilcox

2 Responses to “John Wilcox”

  1. Ron Murphy: 2 years ago

    I’ve been looking forward to another one

  2. Judy Scotcher: 3 years ago

    I loved all of his books and would like to know if there will be anymore?


Leave a Reply