Book Notification

John Wingate Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cold War Naval Thriller Books

Publication Order of Submariner Sinclair Books

Submariner Sinclair (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jimmy-the-One (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sinclair in Command (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nuclear Captain (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sub-Zero (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full Fathom Five (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
In The Blood (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sea Above Them (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Submarine Warfare in World War Two Books

Convoy Escort Commander (By: Peter Gretton) (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fighting Tenth (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crisis Convoy (By: Peter Gretton) (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of WWII Action Thriller Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Pulpit of the American Revolution (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Souls Speak (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

John Wingate was an English author who wrote many books with a naval theme. He was the author of the Submariner Sinclair series, the WWII Action Thriller series, and the Cold War Naval Thriller series. He wrote twenty-five books in his career as an author.

Wingate was born in 1920. He went into Navy and was involved in many operations. John was in the Battle of the Channel in a Chasseur and also served in submarines that were based in the Mediterranean in Malta. He used his experiences in the service to add an authenticity to his writing that was well received. One of these experiences saw him and his crew survive a 36-hour dive while they were being depth-charged. Many thought that this type of survival was impossible because of the amount of carbon dioxide that would build-up, but they managed to make it. He was awarded by the Navy for his service in that event, receiving the DSC.

Once the war was over, Wingate went into market gardening. However, he was soon recalled for the Korean Crisis in 1951 and returned to the Navy. After that conflict he was based in Portsmouth. He then went into work as a teacher in Sussex before moving on to Aysgarth Preparatory School near Bedale in Yorkshire. He would teach there for three years before taking a job at Milton Abbey School in Dorset. He left that teaching job after being asked to start Hampshire Activities Centre at Calshot, a first of its kind centre. The Hampshire Activities Centre was opened by Prince Phillip and went on to be a great success.

Wingate retired after that and that is when he began his writing career. He eventually made his way to France where he lived and wrote. Wingate then passed away in 2008.

Submarine Sinclair is the first book in the Submariner Sinclair series. The story takes place in the Mediterranean in 1942 as Britain is at war with Germany. Sinclair is serving the H.M. Submarine Rugged as they protect British convoys in the Channel in a small Chaser. Peter Sinclair is Sub-Lieutenant who finds himself surrounded by deadly mines, 120 feet beneath the sea and three miles from the enemy. On the North African coast, the Flotilla comes under attack from the enemy. When a Captain of a British sub is captured, Sinclair and a team of commandos will attempt to rescue him from a German-controlled prison.

The series continues with Jimmy-the-One. The story begins as Sinclair has been promoted to First Lieutenant, known in the Royal Navy as Jimmy-the-One. His ship is given orders to disrupt the Axis supply convoys. In order to do so, they will need to avoid deadly mines, depth charges, and torpedoes. They are being hunted by the destroyers of the Trapani First Eleven and are quickly running out of oxygen. They will have to dig deep into their reserve if they wish to evade their enemy and survive this encounter.

The Submariner Sinclair series book In The Blood follows the early days of Sinclair. This series of nautical adventures focuses on Peter Sinclair, a member of the Merchant Navy. He had previously worked in a factory job, but left on the advice of his father who was also a sailor. He starts off as a deck cadet and is taken around the world on voyages in cargo carriers and oil tankers. Sinclair will find himself going face-to-face with typhoons, dangerous seas, and an insane shipmate. This book covers the three years that Sinclair spends in the Merchant Navy which turn out to be the most thrilling of his young life.

Frigate is the first book in the Cold War Naval Thriller series. Captain Pascoe Trevellion of the Royal Navy is sent to the Icarus in a tense time in the Cold War. The threat of nuclear war is looming in a major way and now NATE must respond to the threat. Trevellion has little time to meet his new crew before they are put into a war simulation exercise. However, the danger quickly becomes all too real when they encounter a Russian submarine. The ships battle into northern Norway as the Soviets become suspicious. The world teeters on the brink of annihilation as the Cold War escalates.

The WWII Action Thriller Series begins with Torpedo Strike. In Malta of 1940, the Royal Navy’s Fleet Air Arm is set to launch a strike on the Italian port of Taranto. Sub-Lieutenant Bill Tanner sees his aircraft caught in enemy fire off the coast of Malta. He then decides to disobey an order to return to base and stays by the side of his C.O. This act will threaten to ruin his Navy career when he is charged with disobedience. With a court-martial looming, a successful Taranto raid is what he pins his hopes on to avoid it.

The series continues with Never So Proud. The book picks up after the events of Torpedo Strike. Greece has been invaded by the Germans and now they are setting their sights on Crete. Allied forces have been set to the island, including Sub-Lieutenant Bill Tanner. The Germans will be coming from the sky and victory is not guaranteed. They are in the midst of one of World War II’s most dramatic battles, one that could turn into disaster.

Go Deep is a submarine novel set in the Mediterranean in 1942 as World War II is going on. The people in Malta have had to deal with the agony of bombings and starvation for two years. The island is nearing its breaking point and surrender is inevitable if the population of the island wishes to survive. Lieutenant John Carbis joins HM submarine Urgent, captained by Hammer Hawke. The sub is one of the renowned U-class submarines known as the Fighting Tenth. They are on a mission to defend the Allied supply convoys that are heading into Malta. They head 120 feet below the sea, surrounded by minefields, as they are hunted by the Axis on the surface. The battle will makes its way to Sicily where the Urgent stop an enemy supply train. The dangerous mission will see the crew needing to remain undetected if they hope to make it through.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John Wingate

Leave a Reply