Book Notification

Johnny Dixon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Johnny Dixon Books

The Curse of the Blue Figurine (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mummy, the Will, and the Crypt (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spell of the Sorcerer's Skull (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Revenge of the Wizard's Ghost (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Eyes of the Killer Robot (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trolley to Yesterday (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chessmen of Doom (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret of the Underground Room (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Drum, the Doll, and the Zombie (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hand of the Necromancer (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bell, the Book, and the Spellbinder (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wrath of the Grinning Ghost (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stone, the Cipher, and the Shadows (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Johnny Dixon series of mystery novels by American author of horror, children’s, and mystery and thriller books, John Bellairs. The series features Johnny, a timid young boy who is forced out of his comfort zone by a series of unfortunate events. Other characters in this series include Professor Roderick, Johnny’s elderly friend, Bron Ferguson, and Father Thomas Higgins, among others. The series comes with supernatural overtones where forgotten figurines bring evil forces back to life. The series is mostly gothic, but the darkness is not too overwhelming for the target audience. The books are also relatively short and easy to read in a single sitting.

The Curse of the Blue Figurine

In the first book in the Johnny Dixon series, we meet Johnny Dixon, a bookish young boy who takes a keen interest in history. Johnny’s mum dies of cancer, and his dad is in the military. Johnny is left with no choice but to live with his prudish but loving grandmother and his grandfather. Despite his misfortunes, Johnny’s scholarly skills are admirable, and because of this, he attracts the wrath of his peers. This pushes him to an odd friendship with a professor who fills his mind with tales of ghosts and paranormal events.

Johnny doesn’t believe that mad Father Baart’s ghost haunts the local church. This is until he finds an odd figurine and old scroll in the church compound. Johnny’s curious nature pushes him to steal the quaint blue figurine in a bid to discover more about it. Johnny consults his friend professor Roderick, about the unique figurine. The more he delves into the history and the possible world of ghosts, the more he keeps secrets from his guardians, much to his detriment. When Johnny accepts a magic ring from a stranger, he is plunged into a scary adventure that could potentially kill him.

Thanks to the blue figurine, a dark specter sets his sight on young Johnny, and things start to go downhill pretty fast. The unexplained ordeal has quite an impact on Johnny’s physical health. Despite this, Johnny sets on a fun trip to the mountain accompanied by the professor. The journey takes the duo to an ill-chosen town where all the professor has been talking about becomes clear. The actions that follow are spooky enough to leave your heart thumping
This story is set in a small town in America during the Korean war. The novel is gothic, with a few dark episodes of warmth to lighten the moments. The book is created with young people in mind and features a young hero and a good number of young characters. The book also comes with charming senior citizens and one grouchy grandmother. In the middle of the fun, there is one timeless lesson: children should expose any adult who keeps on doing odd things with them and insist that these should be kept a secret.

If you want a fun, spooky, and educational gothic book for your child, this book is ideal. The story features a young hero that most young people can identify with, a story interesting enough to capture their young minds, and a few great life lessons. The author’s creativity is on another level making this one of the best young adult pieces of all time.

The Mummy, the Will, and the Crypt

The Mummy, the Will, and the Crypt is the second book in the Johnny Dixon series. In this book, Johnny is on a mission to solve the riddle that could lead to the discovery of rich Mr. Glomus’s will. After Mr. Glomus dies, his will goes missing, and his widow is eager to find it. She offers a huge reward for whoever finds the lost will. Johnny is convinced that he has the right skills to solve the riddle and win himself a hefty award in return. The offer is too good to reject, and Johnny finds it hard to resist the challenge, despite the apparent difficulties.

Johnny goes to the Glomus mansion despite his neighbor Professor Childermass’s misgivings. Here, he encounters a ghost that chases him around the vast mansion. Despite the scares, Johnny does not back down. This young boy is on a mission, and he knows that the reward will make a massive difference in his grandparent’s lives.

It is sweet to see how far Johnny is willing to go to win the hefty reward, and in turn, help his grandparents with the money to pay the doctor’s fees. This and other non-supernatural sub-plots like the new friendship between Johnny and Fergie and his struggles through life without his parents add character to the story. This being a young adult book, the main character is relatable. Despite his sharp mind, he still struggles with the things that children his age are struggling with in real life. He also encounters many challenges in his journey, and while he is not always brave, Johnny does not give up.

Just like the previous book in the series, The Mummy, the Will, and the Crypt come with a healthy dose of mystery and spookiness. Thanks to the author’s talent, this story will transport you to the creepy underground passages and the haunted house the lead character visits in his search for the truth. You laugh and Johnny’s naivety and affinity to trouble. The good thing with this book, just like other John Bellair’s works, is that you can enjoy it as a standalone. The gothic-themed book comes with a creepy yet cozy feel perfect for teens and preteens.

Want a short, action-packed, and somehow dark book for your teenagers, this book is ideal. Aside from offering a thrilling story, the book comes with an exciting cast and a relentless pace. There are abandoned mansions, ghosts, and black magic to deal with, not to mention grumpy grandparents and a host of exciting neighbors. The gothic feel adds to the charm, and the fact that you can enjoy the book in a single sitting is a plus — definitely, a worthy investment that is worth every cent and so much more.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Johnny Dixon

Leave a Reply