Book Notification

Jolina Petersheim Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Alliance Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Outcast (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midwife (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
How the Light Gets in (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

When You Pass Through Waters: Words of Hope and Healing from Your Favorite Authors(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jolina Petersheim
Jolina Petersheim is an inspirational writer best knows for her unique Amish stories. Some of her most outstanding works include The Divide, The Outcast, The Alliance, and The Midwife. The author holds an English and communications degree from the University of the Cumberlands. Petersheim and her husband share some Mennonite and Amish heritage which explains her deep understanding of this subject. While she is originally from Lancaster, Petersheim currently lives in Tennessee. The talented author enjoys spending her free time with her husband and their three young daughters.

The Outcast
The Outcast also said to be a modern retelling of The Scarlet Letter features Racheal and Leah Stoltzfus. Rachel came to help her twin sister Leah and her husband after the birth of their baby. Leah is on bedrest, and Rachel makes sure that both baby and mum are well taken care of, and her sister is able to recover fully after birth. This is when the incident happens, something that completely changes the course of Rachel’s life. Later, an illegitimate child is born, and the mother has to go through untold pain to bring her baby into the world.

Racheal is a strong single woman who is up against a judgmental society. Racheal notices the whispers about her belly, the more the child inside her continues to grow. Determined not to repent or name the man responsible for her pregnancy, Rachel gets shunned by the people she loves most and those she thought would be there for her in time of need. Finally, her brother in law who is a bishop convinces her to leave if only for her peace of mind. However, even with her departure, secrets that run in the community begin to emerge, and the truth finally shines on all the darkness affecting different people in Copper Creek.
One outstanding thing about this book is the narrative voice. The primary voice belongs to Racheal, who is also the lead character. Through her own voice, the reader gets to see her emotions, thoughts, and actions. Amos, a newly diseased man, is the second voice. The father of two speaks on his son’s behalf and helps bring Racheal’s past in the limelight. This story progresses backwards, which is quite smart, and the flawless narration simply takes it to the next level.

There is a lot covered in this book. First is the in-depth explanation of the Amish way of life. The author also explores the complexities that come with sin, lust, family loyalty, betrayal, and single parenting. There is also some discussion on the conflict between religion and medicine. Even after you have discovered Racheal’s secrets, this story will still have a hold on you. You will be busy cheering some characters on as you hate on others.
The Outcast is an inspiring story that will make you cry at times and laugh out loudly in others. It is a story filled with little victories and major heartbreaks. Everything from the character development to the plotting is done right, and the definite twist towards the end will throw you completely off-guard. Rachel’s narration is unique not to mention the man talking from the grave. Set in the Mennonite community, this story explores the themes of forgiveness, legalistic religion, strained family relationships, and holistic vs modern medicine. If you are an Amish fiction fan, you can be sure that you will love this book.

The Midwife
The Midwife tells the story of motherhood, what it feels like to carry a pregnancy, and the sacrifices women often have to make for their children. The story stars Rhoda Mummau, a head midwife at Hopen Haus and a member of the Mennonite Church. Rhoda has many secrets that she would like to keep in her past. She keeps herself busy caring for unwed mothers, and even though she thinks of the benefits of contact with the outside world, her current job allows her the anonymity she desires.

Beth Winslow just graduated only to find herself in a path that comes with its fair share of misery. The young woman is heartbroken after being forced to surrender her baby for adoption. To distract herself, Beth focuses all her energy on her studies until she discovers that she is pregnant again. This time around, Beth is carrying a child as a surrogate. When medical reports show that the baby may have some abnormalities, the parents decide to the pregnancy. Beth finds this decision unacceptable and to stop this from happening; she flees to Hopen House. There is no way she is going to let someone take her baby again.

Amelia arrives in Hopen House that is right in the midst of the sweeping countryside. The more her due date approaches, the more it becomes evident that Rhoda has to face the past she has been running away from. This is the only way to let the power of forgives and love set all the people involved free. So, what is the link between Rhoda and Amelia? What becomes of Beth’s baby? Will the baby be born with or without complications?
Throughout this book, the author emphasizes that God is present in all situations. Even when the characters are going through struggles, He is there for them and knows their deepest longings and desires. The book comes with fractured timelines, but these are easy to follow. Beth and Amelia’s story is beautifully woven, and the grief they experience will bring you to tears.

The Midwife is an intriguing and beautifully woven story. The story gets deeper to include the characters’ internal and external struggles, so you get to see how they overcome all this in the end. While this story is fast-paced, the author takes her time to develop each character, so you get to know them better the more you read. This makes it easy to ponder and savour the tale. Since the book touches on ethical, spiritual, and social issues, it is a perfect choice if you are looking for something uplifting. Sure, the characters will make you cry at some point, but somehow, everything works out in their lives in the end.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jolina Petersheim

Leave a Reply