Book Notification

Jon A. Jackson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detective Sergeant Mulheisen Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Measures of Poison(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Jon Anthony Jackson was born November 5, 1938 in Royal Oak, Michigan, and grew up in Detroit and northern Michigan. Jackson is the son of Jabe Cook and Grace Jackson. He is a resident of Missoula, Montana. His hobbies include white-water canoeing and fishing.

He was married two times, once to Ruth Baum, whom he married in 1968, before divorcing in the year 1977. That same year, he married his second wife, Cinda L. Purdy. He has one child with each of his wives.

He thought he wanted to become a writer, but it was when he moved back home near Traverse City, Michigan that he actually started to work at it. He started in poetry, something he never mastered, but was able to gain enough confidence and courage to pursue fiction. Jackson feels he owes quite a bit to the Iowa Writer’s Workshop and to some teachers in Montana.

He writes mystery novels and pens the “Detective Sergeant ‘Fang’ Mulheisen”, which began publication in the year 1977, when “The Diehard”. Jackson has also penned a stand alone novel, released in the year 1993, and was called “Go By Go”, which is a historical novel.

“The Diehard” is the first novel in the “Detective Sergeant Mulheisen” series, which was released in the year 1977. The novel starts in Indian Village, which is an exclusive part of Mulheisen’s crumbling precinct in Detroit. A beautiful young heiress gets stabbed and shot, during what appears to be a robbery and dies on the doorstep of a neighbor.

Her husband was the sole executive of Fidelity Trust Insurance to get out of being blamed for an embezzlement scandal that was worth twenty million dollars. Where is the money, what could the connection be, and who is the tanned stranger that is hunting the same leads down, one step ahead of Mulheisen?

The book is well-written and well-plotted read, and is both surprising and confident. This author is a pro that not enough people read, as he is just as good as his contemporaries. Mulheisen is richly drawn character that is flawed, relentless, and sardonic; he is all the things a good detective has to have. The characters are easy to visualize in the book.

“The Blind Pig” is the second novel in the “Detective Sergeant Mulheisen” series, which was released in the year 1979. A cop kills an armed intruder and a pair of hit men shoot a jukebox. It seems like an open and shut case, but the dead winds up being a hit man for the mob, and Mul finds that he is right in the middle of a gun-running plot.

At the same time, a “delicious kumquat” of a lady is using ammo of her very own on Mul during the after-hours world of Detroit jazz. Mul finds that the shootings center around a young guy that made it rich in trucking. Everything explodes after someone is able to pull off a million-dollar heist. What did they get? Some beautiful and sleek guns. Enough to start a war.

This author makes it look easy, as he makes the reader entirely forget the story was built and written down. The dialogue here is crafted expertly, especially between Joe Service and Fatman. Jackson creates some memorable characters in this one, and the book is a fine procedural with some local color from seventies Detroit.

“Grootka” is the third novel in the “Detective Sergeant Mulheisen” series, which was released in the year 1990. Detroit is the right place to find somebody’s corpse. “Books” Meldrim’s corpse is the one being found. He was a snitch, pimp, and a longtime denizen of The Library Bar. Grootka, a perpetual grouch and retired cop and a legend within the department for tough detective work and bad habits, found the corpse.

Sergeant “Fang” Mulheisen is unsure whether he should believe Grootka’s crazy theory the murder is linked to a pretty teen being raped and killed during the fifties. Mulheisen has got two new homicides and an attempted assassination on his books. He has zero time for old crimes or old cops. Until Grootka straps on an old .45 and goes back to the twisted back alleys of Detroit to make a younger cop learn a chilling truth. What goes around comes back around. It will only stop with one bullet or your life.

Here is another stellar read in the series with some rather startling surprises just about at every turn. The book is one worth tracking down.

“Hit on the House” is the fourth novel in the “Detective Sergeant Mulheisen” series, which was released in the year 1993. Hal, Good, who is a contract killer, is hired to murder Big Sid Sedlacek, who is a mob heavy that has been on the take. Brought in as a potential witness, Hal exchanges Ids with some drunk and steps out of the jail before Mulheisen gets the chance to question him.

Other higher-ups in the Mob start meeting bloody ends, and a female from Mulheisen’s past winds up married to a rough computer entrepreneur. He’s got a rather suspicious amount of friends that are in “the business”. The investigation gets much more unwieldy, the body count rises, as the millions that Big Sid and his unnamed partners, which possibly includes Hal, skimmed continue to stay missing.

This is some tight and twisted detective fiction that is simply an enjoyable story. Jackson has penned yet another winner with this fantastic book.

“Deadman” is the fifth novel in the “Detective Sergeant Mulheisen” series, which was released in the year 1994. Mulheisen is going out of town, tracking Helen Sedlacek, who skipped with stolen cash after killing Carmine Busoni, mob boss, with a double-barreled twelve-gauge.

A guy fitting Joe Service’s description, Mul’s nemesis and Helen’s amour, has turned up inside of a Butte hospital in a coma. This is after having been shot in the face at a close range. Where is the money, and Helen? Who shot Joe? Who killed Mario?

The novel is a pulse-pounding and gritty wild goose chase that confirms that Jackson deserves his spot in the top tier of American mystery authors. The book is great for how it throws Mulheisen into Montana and it is fun to see him interact with the locals. It is made up of some vividly-imagined and great characters, and the book moves at the right pace from beginning to end.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jon A. Jackson

One Response to “Jon A. Jackson”

  1. diana: 1 year ago

    fan of this author-


Leave a Reply