Book Notification

Jonas Jonasson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Books

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hitman Anders and the Meaning of It All (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd. (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prophet and the Idiot (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jonas Jonasson is a literary fiction author and journalist best known for his general fiction.
The author was born in 1961 in Vaxjo, a small town in Sweden. He would thereafter attend the University of Gothenburg, where he studied languages thereafter becoming a journalist.

As a journalist, he initially worked for “Smalandsposten,” a small regional newspaper before moving on to work for “Expressen.” Several years later, he started “OTW,” a successful television producer, and consulting company.
After more than two decades of working in newspapers, television, and media, he was exhausted with it all and decided to sell all shares in his company and moved abroad.

Jonasson moved to Switzerland’s Ponte Tresa, where he and his family lived for three years. During this time, he completed writing the manuscript for his debut novel “The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared.”
His debut novel which was published in 2012 achieved a lot of success and has over the years been translated into more than three dozen languages and has sold more than 3 million copies across the world.

Jonas currently makes his home in Gotland, a small island in Sweden, where he lives with his son and a large coterie of chickens and cats.

Jonasson found literary stardom pretty late in his life as he initially got his start as a journalist working in Sweden.

After selling much of his business in media in his forties, he made a lot of money that he could have easily retired. But craving a new challenge, he decided to revisit his old desire to become a fiction author.
Jonas Jonasson was only hoping that his debut work would sell about 3000 copies, which would convince his publisher to let him write the second novel.
But when the work came out it turned out to be a bestseller as at some point it was selling 7.000 copies every day.

He has now made an even bigger fortune as an author who routinely lives in the finest hotels and rides in limousines on his literary travels abroad.
Jonasson has said that he is beholden and grateful to his devoted readers for making his dreams of becoming a successful fiction author come true.

Jonas Jonasson’s novel “The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared” is a work set in Sweden.

Jonasson follows the life and times of Allan Karlson the lead character who is living in an old people’s home. On his 100th birthday, he had climbed out the window and had been reported missing.
Allan had then gone on an interesting journey and along the way, he steals a suitcase not knowing what is contained in it.

It turns out that the suitcase is full of money that was the payment to a group of bikers that had been paid to them by a Russian mafia group for services rendered in a drug deal.

What follows from here is an amusing story of drug dealers who try to get back the money. In the meantime, the police have started a nationwide hunt for the octogenarian over a triple murder.

Over the course of the story, Allan teams up with a motley crew of flawed but interesting characters that include an elephant. Somehow they all manage to stay ahead of the cops even as we get flashbacks into Allan’s life.
We also get insights into how he managed to influence significant events in history by being at the right place at the wrong time.

Jonas Jonasson’s novel “The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man” looks at recent events, as opposed to the first which was focused on world events during the 20th century.
Featuring prominent people such as Angela Merkel, Donald Trump, Vladimir Putin, and Kim Jong-Un it is a beautiful retelling of world events.

At the opening of the novel, Allan and his friend Julius are heading out in a hot air balloon. Soon enough, they are lost at sea, and in an unexpected twist, they find themselves in North Korea.
They are rescued by a ship full of uranium heading to North Korea where the president seems obsessed with nuclear weapons. It does seem that Allan has nine lives and given that he is 101, this is even more remarkable.
However, the author spins a very believable story. Making use of actual events in history, it is saddening that we are living in such difficult times.

The Russians spew all manner of lies to both Republicans and Democrats. This also happens during the Brexit campaign as Putin proves he is a wily fox who knows how to polarize people.
Right-wing extremists come up against Nazis in a matchup that makes right-wingers actually look good. Still, Allan’s bumblings through it all make for some humorous reading.

Jonas Jonasson’s novel “The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden” is a novel that first came out in 2013.

The lead in the novel is Nombeko Mayeki that was born in 1961 and now lives in Soweto. By a twist of fate, she takes a walk out of the slum she lives in and gets run over.

Luckily, she survives and the man who ran her over asks her to come work for him. She is to become a cleaner in a secret nuclear weapons facility that South Africa has been running for years now.
While working at the facility, her good head for numbers makes it possible for her to cover for her incompetent and drunken employer.

Her employer is ultimately murdered by two agents from Mossad but she manages to outwit the agents and flees to Sweden. But in the chaos, she finds herself in possession of a missing atomic bomb she took from the facility.
In Sweden, she makes her home in a weird commune where she lives with two unstable Republicans who have vowed to put an end to the monarchy in Sweden.

Nombeko and her new boyfriend are determined to hand over the nuclear weapon to the country’s leadership but no one wants to talk to them.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jonas Jonasson

Leave a Reply