Book Notification

Jonas Ward Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Buchanan Books

One Man Massacre (1958)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trap for Buchanan (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Revenge (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan Says No (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan On The Prod (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Gamble (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Name's Buchanan (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's War (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan Gets Mad (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan Gets Tough (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Gun (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Siege (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan on the Run (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Get Buchanan! (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Big Showdown (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Showdown (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan Takes Over (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan Calls the Shots (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Texas Treasure (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Stolen Railway (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Range War (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Manhunt (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Big Fight (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Black Sheep (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buchanan's Stage Line (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jonas Ward
Few authors imagined the dark side of the city and the entertainment business any better than William Ard, who wrote the “Buchanan” series of westerns under the name of Jonas Ward.

Tom Buchanan, once William turned his gaze west, is one of the genre’s most enduring heroes. Buchanan is a friendly yet deadly western drifter.

When Ard died, Tom grew stronger with every reincarnation by its successive authors and numerous printings.

“The Name’s Buchanan” is the first novel in the “Buchanan” series and was released in 1974. Tom Buchanan hailing from West Texas, who fought with joy and he loved with gusto. This time around he takes on the entire Agry County and the violent bandit clan who ran it.

It wasn’t any fight of his, however a girl was violated and a family’s honor was tarnished. So Buchanan settled his gunbelt and he flexed his great hands and he went surging out into battle like a one man troop of cavalry.

“One Man Massacre” is the third novel in the “Buchanan” series and was released in 1974. The man stepped back and looked at the smiling and tall man with wonderment. He’d just seen him lick the deadliest gunslinger in the West with just his bare fists. He asked Tom where did he come from, with admiration.

No place in particular, was Tom’s response. The rancher wondered where he was heading, same place, was the response to that. The rancher figured Tom liked it there. Buchanan said that he liked it best wherever he was.

“Buchanan Gets Mad” is the fourth novel in the “Buchanan” series and was released in 1974. The armed deputy prodded Buchanan outta his cell. He told him that they were taking care of such scudders like Tom that attempt bucking the law. And putting him on trial, with a judge and jury, the whole shebang. The shebang in this case was just a frame up.

The self-appointed judge was nothing more than a madman, part time lunatic preacher and part time sadistic sheriff. And the so called jury he had appointed was made up of doddering old men either too deaf or too drunk to even hear any ‘evidence’.

The deputy sneered at Buchanan, while telling him that the jury was going to hang him. Hang him by his neck.

“Buchanan’s War” is the eighth novel in the “Buchanan” series and was released in 1974. Tom’s first job as a Texas Ranger was to go to the small town of Scottsville in order to prevent a war there. Even before Major Jones had finished giving Tom his orders, he knew that he would find Scottsville to be a hostile territory.

Two cattle barons, who each happened to be quick drawing women, had ripped this town apart in such a duel which had cost several lives already. Now it was up to Buchanan to stop the war, and he knew that he could not do so without spilling more blood, and very possibly some of his own.

“Buchanan’s Gamble” is the tenth novel in the “Buchanan” series and was released in 1975. The killers had taken the town over, lock, stock, and barrel. And they had no plans to leave until there was absolutely nothing left to loot.

They had the saloon and bank. They also had the sheriff’s office and the poker game. And you just had to like it or you would wind up dead. However Buchanan, for one, did not like it.

“Buchanan’s Siege” is the eleventh novel in the “Buchanan” series and was released in 1975. One of the best heroes in all of western fiction has returned again. Here he’s engaged in a battle that he’d much rather avoid. Buchanan truly is a peaceable man, but it is the rest of the world that isn’t.

A man called Bradbury had sent for him, however there is no question at all that it wasn’t to act as some sort of hired gun, for Bradbury knew full well that Buchanan could not be hired to kill. Despite the fact that he wouldn’t hesitate to do so if the cause was the right one.

“Buchanan on the Run” is the twelfth novel in the “Buchanan” series and was released in 1974. Big Jim’s men gunned O’Brien down and shot Tom right in the back. He lay on the floor, just bracing himself upon one elbow. All he could manage. And he heard Big Jim say do not kill Tom, but get his gun and fire another shot into O’Brien. Because he wanted to see Buchanan hang.

Buchanan had zero intention of hanging. In front of a jury, his name would be cleared before all the world. And Big Jim would be the one that would be heading to the gallows.

“Get Buchanan!” is the thirteenth novel in the “Buchanan” series and was released in 1974. The widow wanted Tom dead or alive. But mainly dead. Buchanan found it difficult to believe.

When he knew her so many years ago, she was only a ranch wife. But now her husband had gone and she’d become the tyrannical ruler of the entire county. She owned everyone and everything.

And she bled them all dry. Nobody dared to oppose the woman. But her son. Buchanan, too. Now she had the entire town gunning after them.

“Buchanan’s Big Showdown” is the sixteenth novel in the “Buchanan” series and was released in 1976. He just seen a man whoop their entire police force. Took all their guns and whupped them all. Buchanan is that man. He hadn’t been looking for trouble. It just came to him.

When the crooked Dodge City deputies attempted to push Tom around, he resented it naturally. His way.

“Buchanan’s Gun” is a novel in the “Buchanan” series and was released in 1976. Tom was in the mood for comfort, so naturally he wound up getting trouble. He came on the troop of cavalry that had been conducting an army prison wagon holding an old friend of his.

He asked Sentos, his buddy, what happened. The Apache told him he was stupid for trusting a blueleg warrior, and now they’re looking to hang him. Buchanan looked at the troopers and sighed. He just could not allow for them to hang a friend.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jonas Ward

Leave a Reply