Book Notification

Jonathan Ames Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Happy Doll Books

A Man Named Doll (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wheel of Doll (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I Pass Like Night (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Extra Man (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wake Up, Sir! (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Bored to Death (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Were Never Really Here (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

My Less Than Secret Life (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Double Life is Twice as Good (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Graphic Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

What's Not to Love? (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sexual Metamorphosis (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Love You More Than You Know (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Akashic Drug Chronicles Books

The Cocaine Chronicles (By: Lee Child,Laura Lippman,Ken Bruen,Jervey Tervalon,Bill Moody) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marijuana Chronicles (By: Jonathan Santlofer) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nicotine Chronicles (With: Lee Child,Joyce Carol Oates,Hannah Tinti,Christopher Sorrentino,Cara Black,Lauren Sanders,Bernice L. McFadden) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Open City #9: Bewitched(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
110 Stories(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Insomniac Reader(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alone in the Kitchen with an Eggplant: Confessions of Cooking for One and Dining Alone(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Awake!(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coming and Crying(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Jonathan Ames has written both comic memoirs and novels. At one time, he worked for the New York Press for many years, and made a name for himself telling tales about his own sexual misadventures. These stories each had a self deprecating sense of humor. Ames has also won a Guggenheim Fellowship.

Jonathan Ames was born in March 23, 1954 in New York City. He grew up in Oakland, New Jersey and went to Indian Hills High School; he would graduate from Princeton University and got his Master of Fine Arts from Columbia University in the subject of fiction.

Ames also has had a long time love of boxing, and occasionally fights under the name of “The Herring Wonder”, having two amateur matches.

“The Extra Man” was made into a movie and released in the year 2010. “You Were Never Really Here” was made into a movie with the same title, and starred Joaquin Phoenix, it was directed by Lynne Ramsay.

Along with writing, he has performed often as a storyteller (many times with The Moth) and has appeared on Letterman’s Late Show as a guest.

“I Pass Like Night” is the first stand alone novel, which was released in the year 1989. Alexander Vine gets done working as a doorman at the exclusive Four Seasons restaurant in Manhattan, and goes into a landscape, filled with reinvention, danger, excitement, and chance in the erotic underworld in the city.

He walks a tightrope of self extinction and sexual desire, he plots his course of self destruction, not to mention, his own personal struggle for redemption. He does it all with a shocking amount of clarity.

This book shows the world is how it is and we just struggle to live within it; for some, this was beautiful in how simple it was and extremely honest but never manipulates the reader. Fans of the novel find they cannot get enough of Ames’ work, and this one was no exception to that. It held readers’ attention the entire way through. This is a book that will stick with readers long after they have finished it because the emotions and feelings the characters have are relatable.

“The Extra Man” is the second stand alone novel, which was released in the year 1998. Here is Louis Ives. He is romantic, well groomed, and just about as captivating as a hero from F. Scott Fitzgerald. This is a hero, however, that likes ladies clothes, and has just lost his post as a teacher at Princeton’s Pretty Brook Day School after there is an incident that involves one of his colleague’s bras.

Henry Harrison is a former actor, well experienced as an escort for the women of means in New York City, and a playwright who is brilliant but failed at the art. While he is alone, he dances to Ethel Merman’s records and plays out his scrappy life with the dignity just like a self styled man of the world should. What would an ageless Don Quixote like this have to offer a young guy like Louis? That is a good question.

The answer is somewhere in the middle of a mentor and the eager apprentice’s education. In between the cocktails they have while on the Upper East Side and the much more intoxicating treat that is on Times Square’s secret fringes. Somewhere, too, between their longing and their friendship.

Fans of the novel found themselves half way done with the book, and do not understand why. They somehow enjoy reading about his wacky characters. For some, this is the funniest book they have read the entire year. The characters are fully drawn, and fleshed out so that they resemble humans, not just type or a character from a book. Ames’ writing is witty and bright, but you will still empathize with Louis’ feelings of occasional sadness, loneliness, and longings.

“Wake Up, Sir!” is the third stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2004. Alan Blair, star of the novel, is a loony and young writer that has many problems of sexual, mental, physical, emotional, and spiritual kind. He is great at problems. Fortunately for Alan, he has Jeeves (his own personal valet) that strives to make sure things are sorted out for Alan.

Alan is able to find trouble anywhere he goes. He goes off on a weird road journey, full of peril and is trying to get to Saratoga Springs to find an artists colony there. He finds a beautiful femme fatale who has the greatest nose.

Here is a book unlike anything else a lot of readers have read before it. Very peculiar, but still highly enjoyable the entire way through. Fans of the novel find this book to be extremely funny, and has a lot of wry observations from Jeeves. With all that happens, the book is hard to put down for very long. Some find that this author is a treasure, and this book is a reason why. By this author, the weirdness is fun and the neuroses are quite funny.

“You Were Never Really Here” is a novella, which was released in the year 2013. Joe has seen some things that no one can erase. He used to be a Marine and an agent for the FBI, and he was abused during his childhood years which damaged quite a bit. He is withdrawn completely from the rest of the world, and makes a living by rescuing girls that are abducted and forced into the sex trade.

A corrupt New York senator hires him to save their daughter who is in a Manhattan brothel held as a captive. He pays a steep price when he finds a nasty web of conspiracy. Joe’s small group of associates get picked off one at at time, and he knows that he does not have a choice. He will have to take the fight to those that want to kill him.

Not only can Ames write very funny stories, but he is able to write a stellar cold blooded thriller, too.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jonathan Ames

2 Responses to “Jonathan Ames”

  1. Nancy: 2 years ago

    When will “The Wheel of Doll” be released? Just read “A Man Named Doll” & really enjoyed it. Thanks!

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Currently scheduled for September 6, 2022.


Leave a Reply