Book Notification

Jonathan Dunsky Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Adam Lapid Mysteries Books

The Dead Sister (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Auschwitz Violinist (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ten Years Gone (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Debt of Death (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unlucky Woman (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Act (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Auschwitz Detective (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Death In Jerusalem (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
In That Sleep of Death (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Payback Girl (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Favor (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Omission of Her Majesty's History (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rabbi Shmuel vs. the Lizard Demon Queen (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Family Ties (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grandma Rachel's Ghosts (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tommy's Touch (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shootout With Death (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jonathan Dunsky

Jonathan Dunksy was born in Israel and served four years with the Israeli Army. He has a degree in business and computer sciences. He has lived for many years in Europe and lives in Israel with his two sons and his wife.

After his service, he ran his own Search Engine Optimization business, worked as a team leader in different high-tech firms, and lectured at Tel Aviv University on the Faculty of Business Management.

He has written some novellas, as well as the “Adam Lapid Mysteries” series. His series, that stars a former Holocaust survivor named Adam Lapid, is set during the late forties after Israel declared their independence. He writes historical mystery novels.

“Ten Years Gone” is the first novel in the “Adam Lapid Mysteries” series. She gave up her son so that can save him, but now she wants him back.

Germany in the year 1939. Henrietta Ackerland, a Jewish mom in Nazi Germany, makes a rather heart-rending choice. She gives Willie, her baby boy, to a friend that is leaving Germany and going off to Israel. Henrietta has plans to follow soon, but World War II breaks out, leaves her in Europe.

Israel in the year 1949. Henrietta is finally able to get to Israel, but cannot find Willie. She hires former Nazi hunter and private investigator Adam Lapid to locate him for her.

Adam realizes it is going to take a miracle to locate Willie after ten years. Adam does not believe in miracles. Not anymore. Not after he lost his whole family because of the Holocaust. Not after he experienced the horrors of Auschwitz.

Henrietta is rather desperate, so Adam decides to take the case on. Adam does not realize, however, is that this missing person’s case is going to quickly land him in a heap of trouble. What began as a hunt to find Willie Ackerland is going to soon turn Adam into prey and of more than one kind of hunter.

The twists and turns found in the book do a wonderful job of keeping the reader engaged. The characters are written to be very human, flaws and all. Some readers found themselves learning about Israel during this period of time.

“The Dead Sister” is the second novel in the “Adam Lapid Mysteries” series. The murder had been brutal. Now the police do not want to catch the killer. If justice is possible for the victim, Adam Lapid has to find it himself. The murder of Maryam Jamalka, who is a young Arab woman is being ignored in Israel 1949.

The newspapers will not report on it, and the cops will not investigate it. The brother of the victim goes to Adam Lapid to help get justice. Adam’s investigation is going to sink him into a murky underworld that is filled with depravity and crime. It will also put his own life in jeopardy. To catch a killer, he has to confront true evil. If he is not careful, he could be the one that winds up dead next.

This is more than just a gripping mystery, it even gives a glimpse into the heart of darkness. This was engrossing and well written; it even makes you forget you are reading a historical mystery after a certain point. Adam is a relatable character and empathetic in his isolation.

“The Auschwitz Violinist” is the third novel in the “Adam Lapid Mysteries” series. Private Investigator Adam Lapid was certain that Yosef Kaplon was dead. Last time he saw him was back in Auschwitz. They were held prisoner together in the same barracks. One day, without any warning, Yosef was gone.

Six years later, in August of 1950, Adam bumps into Kaplon on some street corner in Tel Aviv, Israel. Shortly after, Kaplon is found dead inside his apartment. The police are calling it suicide, but Adam is not quite sure. There is something that does not feel all that right about his death.

Was Yosef driven by grief and madness to kill himself? Or has Adam stumbled upon a sinister and crafty serial murderer, killer that has killed before with plans to kill again?

This series just gets better and better with each installment. Adam is a great character and it is easy to root for him, no matter what.

“A Debt of Death” is the fourth novel in the “Adam Lapid Mysteries” series. The dead guy was lying face down in a puddle of rainwater and blood. Private investigator Adam Lapid finds Nathan Frankel dead in the street and makes a quick decision. He is going to find out who killed Nathan and punish them himself.

This is due to Adam owing Nathan a debt that he can never fully repay. This makes the whole thing a personal matter. Adam’s job is not going to be an easy one, though. Quite a few people had the motive to want Nathan dead. Some of them are more than willing to spill more blood to cover up their crimes.

Some readers had no idea just who the killer actually was, until it was finally revealed at the end.

“The Unlucky Woman” is the novella in the “Adam Lapid Mysteries” series. She just wanted to know the truth, but she might live to regret it. Hilda is certain her husband is cheating on her, so she hires Adam to figure out with whom. Adam thinks this will be both an ordinary and short investigation. Both he and his client are in for quite the surprise.

What begins as a routine case quickly winds up being anything but. To fulfill his mission, Adam has to dig deep into both the present and the past, as well as cut through the lies and secrets.

In the end, he has to uncover an unexpected truth that could do his client a lot more harm than good.

This is a fast paced mystery that has quite a few twists and turns in it, and does an outstanding job of holding your attention the entire way through.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jonathan Dunsky

3 Responses to “Jonathan Dunsky”

  1. Gloria Jean Alton: 4 months ago

    I have read The Auschwitz Detective and Ten Years Gone. I have studied World War II for a long time. Your description of Auschwitz was very educational. Showing more of the true camp life. It was such a terrible thing to let happen. General Eisenhower was correct when he told his men to take as many pictures as possible because people would have a hard time believing this could happen.

    I am staring on The Dead Sister. It is very hard to put your books down. I plan to order more of your books.

  2. Robert campbell: 2 years ago

    I have now read 4 of your books.wondering is there one that Adam catches up with any of the jailers from the concentration camps.i have enjoyed these books.

  3. susan grauer: 2 years ago

    after reading “the auschwitz detective” I am reading your books in order. “ten years gone” is almost finished and I looked you up to know if you were iimprisoned during the war. I am awed that your descriptions are so real and deeply moving. have given up on all other books for now and until I have read all your works.

    your fan,


Leave a Reply