Book Notification

Jonathan Eig Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Lola JonesBooks

Some Pigtails (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Score for Imagination (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The D.O.G. (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everybody's Home (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Jonathan Eig

Jonathan Eig hails from the United States as a journalist and has made substantial strides as a biographer. A gifted writer, he has written more than six significant works so far and counting, while showing no signs of slowing down. Not just content with captivating an adult audience, Eig has penned over four titles aimed at the younger minds, expanding his reach and molding future readers. Before making his mark as an author, he honed his reporting skills at The Wall Street Journal, laying down a solid foundation for his storytelling prowess.

What truly sets Jonathan Eig apart are his unparalleled abilities to weave intricate stories that hold readers, young and old, spellbound. The characters in his tales, crafted with acute attention to detail, thrum with life, making them relatable and enduring a thread to the reader’s heart. His knack for developing protagonists who lead the narrative adds a compelling layer to his books, transforming them into journeys rather than basic reads. This talent, among others, has propelled four of his works into the prestigious list of New York Times best sellers, a testament to his gripping narrative style.

The global appeal of Eig’s storytelling is undeniable, with his works finding a home in over a dozen languages. This broad translation underlines not just the universality of his themes but also the adaptability of his narrative style across cultures. Beyond simply entertaining, Eig’s well-crafted narratives offer readers a window into experiences across different realms and times. His gifted storytelling does more than tell tales; it invites readers into worlds crafted with a genuine passion for every story he chooses to tell, making each narrative not just engaging but a memorable epic in its own right.

Early and Personal Life

Jonathan Eig, born in Brooklyn on the 26th of April 1964, was raised in Monsey, New York, nurturing his passion for storytelling from a young age. His writing journey began at 16 with a job at his local newspaper, setting the foundation for his future in journalism. His academic years at Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism further polished his craft, leading him to notable roles at various respected publications, including The Wall Street Journal.

Eig’s career has been a blend of active journalism and sharing his knowledge through teaching at Columbia College Chicago and speaking at Northwestern. His work spans contributing to major outlets like The New York Times and participating in television shows and documentaries, reflecting his wide-reaching influence in the media landscape. Living in Chicago with his wife Jennifer Tescher, and three children, Eig draws continuous inspiration from his experiences, dedicating his life to exploring and presenting compelling narratives.

With a commitment to the craft of storytelling, Eig has made significant contributions both as a journalist and as an educator. His appearances on platforms like The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and in documentaries underscore his role as a prominent voice in discussing pivotal historical figures and events. Through his work, Eig continues to impact a broad audience, inspiring future generations of writers and journalists.

Writing Career

Jonathan Eig initiated his professional trajectory in journalism, contributing to respected outlets like the New Orleans Times-Picayune and The Wall Street Journal. Additionally, Eig expanded his roles by educating aspiring writers and contributing as a freelancer to esteemed platforms, including The New York Times and the online edition of The New Yorker. This transition from journalist to a distinguished author and mentor has significantly enhanced his contributions to literature.

In Eig’s repertoire of work, notable biographies stand out, beginning with ‘Luckiest Man’ released in 2005, and then moving onto impactful narratives such as ‘Ali: A Life.’ His portrayal of these influential personalities has not only been acclaimed but also awarded, underscoring his literary talent. With Eig’s continuing endeavors in writing, the literary landscape can anticipate further explorations into the lives of prominent figures, enriching readers’ understanding and engagement with history.

King: A Life

Published on May 16, 2023, by Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Jonathan Eig’s ‘King: A Life’ quickly made its mark, earning a spot as a contender for the 2023 National Book Award for Non-Fiction. The work also caught the eye of the Goodreads community, resulting in a nomination for the Best History & Biography category in 2023, and was celebrated for its audiobook narration on the 2024 RUSA CODES Listen List.

In this groundbreaking biography, Eig offers a comprehensive look at Martin Luther King Jr., a pivotal figure in civil rights, through the lens of previously inaccessible FBI files and rigorous new research. This narrative uncovers the multifaceted life of King, revealing him as not just a fervent preacher and advocate for peaceful protest but also as a person wrestling with internal conflicts and the weight of leading a significant movement.

Eig dives deep into King’s personal history, exploring his family roots, nuanced relationships, and the battles he fought for justice, providing a deeply personal view of his character. The book redefines King’s enduring impact, showcasing him as a strategic thinker and persistent advocate for equality, whose work still resonates profoundly today, making ‘King: A Life’ a significant addition to the discourse on one of history’s most influential leaders.

Luckiest Man

Released in 2005 by Simon & Schuster, ‘Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig’ is penned by Jonathan Eig. This biography delves deep into the life and eventual demise of Lou Gehrig, hailed as the Iron Horse of baseball. The narrative, enriched by over two hundred unreleased letters and recent interviews, paints a detailed picture of Gehrig’s evolution from a modest young man in New York to a celebrated figure in the Yankees and his complex relationship with teammate Babe Ruth.

Eig’s comprehensive biography unveils that Gehrig’s struggle with the disease that would later carry his name began as early as 1938, presenting a new timeline to his challenges. It throws light on his extraordinary courage and grace towards the end of his life, embodying the spirit of his famous ‘luckiest man’ address.

For its insightful portrayal and elegantly structured narrative, the work was rewarded with the 2006 Audie Award for Nonfiction, Abridged, and the 2005 Casey Award, acknowledging its contribution to baseball literature and making it a finalist for the Society of Midland Authors Award for Biography in 2006.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jonathan Eig

Leave a Reply