Book Notification

Jonathan Lunn Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Arrows of Albion Books

The Road to Crécy (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Passage at Arms (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Castle in the Marsh (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Riders of Fury (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Arrow for the Crown (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warriors in the Snow (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kemp: The Flames of Heresy (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jungle War Books

Blitz in Malaya (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape from Singapore (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Betrayal in Burma (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Kit Killigrew Naval Adventures Books

Killigrew of the Royal Navy / Killgrew R.N. (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killigrew and the Golden Dragon (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killigrew and the Incorrigibles (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killigrew and the North-west Passage (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killigrew's Run (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killigrew and the Sea Devil (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jonathan Lunn
Jonathan Lunn, born in London, began writing when he was fifteen. He studied at the University of Leicester, where he got involved in politics. Lunn worked for six years as a spin doctor in local government, however he decided to leave behind politics and concentrate more on his writing.

He wrote two novels under his real name of Daniel Hall, before switching to the pen name of Jonathan Lunn.

Jonathan writes a series of novels about Kit Killigrew which starts in the year 1847, and is therefore right at the very end of the sailing era. They’ve been described as “the Victorian Hornblower”.

He claims he has literary antecedents, being descended from the guy that introduced Sir Arthur Conan Doyle to the Reichenbach Falls.

To relax, Jonathan goes for long strolls in the British countryside. Which is an activity that over the years has resulted in him getting lost (on multiple occasions), breaking one rib, failing in overcoming his fear of heights atop dizzying precipices, providing a feast for blood-sucking parasites, fleeing from herds of stampeding cattle, getting shot at by hooligans with air-rifles, and finding himself getting trapped by rising floodwaters.

“Kemp: The Road to Crecy” is the first novel in the “Arrows of Albion” series and was released in the year 1996. When Kemp joins the English army so he can avoid the hangman, he might just be delaying the inevitable. As he stays hopeful that at least there is the opportunity for some heroics, the reality’s much different from that.

Kemp’s war is instead a rather horrifying odyssey through the confusion and panic of his first battle, the savage realities of siege warfare, and eventually to the field of Crecy, where he faces the armored might of the French nobility. However being an elite longbowman, when it comes to losing or winning, he could have a crucial, albeit dangerous, role to play.

“Kemp: Passage at Arms” is the second novel in the “Arrows of Albion” series and was released in the year 1997. The year is 1347 and the French, following a crushing defeat at Crecy, lick their wounds as their king raises up a new army. The English, locked into a fruitless siege, are camped out in the marshes around Calais.

Among them is Martin Kemp, an archer and foot soldier, whose dreams of serving his king and reliving the chivalrous adventures of King Arthur’s Knights of the Round Table are tempered by the brutal and gory reality of siege warfare.

Having just barely escaped from death in a surprise attack from the French, Kemp sees the chance for a reprieve when a shaky truce gets signed. However can there truly be peace for a guy like Kemp?

“Kemp: The Castle in the Marsh” is the third novel in the “Arrows of Albion” series and was released in the year 2019. Blood, dirt, and iron. France in 1351-2. Kemp and his men get captured in a skirmish close to Calais, and get imprisoned in some French castle afterward. Every attempt made to escape are punished with death.

And then Sir Hugues de Beauconray comes to Kemp with an offer: escort this Dominican friar on a journey to steal some mysterious book from this abbey in Scotland. Fail, and ten of Kemp’s buddies will get hanged.

During the hotly-disputed border country, Kemp’s going to need all of his skills as an archer and a swordsman if he’s to head back to France and rescue his comrades. However more importantly, survive.

“Killigrew RN” is the first novel in the “Christopher Killigrew” series and was released in the year 2000. Forty years after its abolition, the Transatlantic slave trade is even more lucrative than it ever was. Even the Royal Navy’s new steamships are powerless to catch the slavers’ swift brigs. Only one guy is ruthless enough to beat these slavers at their own game.

Risking disgrace and death, Lieutenant Kitt Killigrew infiltrates one slave ship’s crew to learn the whereabouts of the largest slave market on the coast of West Africa, owned by Francisco Salazar, a shadowy megalomaniac. From the smoky gentlemen’s clubs in London to the steamy jungles of the Guinea Coast, he embarks on a journey fraught with betrayal and murder.

“Killigrew and the Golden Dragon” is the second novel in the “Christopher Killigrew” series and was released in the year 2001. Bloodshed, piracy, and betrayal during the early days of Hong Kong.

1849 in the South China Sea: A burning clipper ship and her butchered crew can only be the work of Zhai Jing-mu, China’s most ruthless and feared pirate. Kit Killigrew, HMS Tisphone’s second lieutenant, captures Zhai after quite the bloody chase.

After he hands Zhai to the police, Kitt’s free to enjoy the many pleasures in Hong Kong. However underneath the opulent surface, tensions are seething: the Triads have been gaining influence and the hostilities behind the Opium War are much too easily revived. But then Zhai escapes.

Pretty soon Kitt finds murder and treachery around each and every corner. And somewhere in all this tangled web, Blase Bannatyne is lurking. He is a wealthy tai-pan of the leading company that is importing opium into China. The game’s afoot!

This one is alive with the sounds, sights, and smells of naval adventure.

“Killigrew and the Incorrigibles” is the third novel in the “Christopher Killigrew” series and was released in the year 2002. Death, danger, and darkness on the South Seas.

South Seas in 1850. Kit Killigrew and the Tisiphone are headed for Norfolk Island, a brutal penal colony, in an effort to drop off the prison chief’s new governess. However also to deliver a reporter hellbent on interviewing Devin Cusack, an Irish political prisoner.

However when some unknown party attempts to rescue Cusack, seven of the most ruthless prisoners on the island escape, including the fearsome Wyatt. What follows is a lethal game of cat-and-mouse among the New Hebrides, where Kit unearths a series of illegal trades.

Ultimately, it’s his state of mind that threatens to achieve what a band of desperate criminals, a tribe of cannibals, and a vicious trader (hell bent on profit at any cost) can’t, while he places himself in the line of danger once too often.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jonathan Lunn

Leave a Reply