Book Notification

Joseph Fink Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Welcome To Night Vale Books

with Jeffrey Cranor
Welcome to Night Vale (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Devours! (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Faceless Old Woman Who Secretly Lives in Your Home (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Welcome To Night Vale Collections

with Jeffrey Cranor
Mostly Void, Partially Stars (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Great Glowing Coils of the Universe (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Buying of Lot 37 (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who's a Good Boy? (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Alice Isn't Dead (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Halloween Moon (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The First Ten Years: Two Sides of the Same Love Story (With: Meg Bashwiner) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Commonplace Book of the Weird: The Untold Stories of H.P. Lovecraft(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Joseph Fink is renowned for the live show and podcast Welcome to Night Vale which he created and at the same time co-wrote with Jeffrey Cranor. He is from California but currently he is not staying there. He lives in New York together with his wife. Joseph Fink started a very small book publishing company called Commonplace Books. This he started at the age of twenties and he was able to produce his short works in two collections. Fink became tricky and edited the short works without the awareness of his boss and he laid it out at his office. His collaboration with Jeffrey Cranor came about when Jeffrey approached him to ask if they could write a play about time travel. It is from here that the two were able to co-write the play which they performed at the East Village in the year 2011, August. This did not become the end of Joseph’s career in writing short works since afterwards he was able to co-write with Jeffrey even more play. It is from this collaboration that they were able to come up with the Welcome to Night Vale.

Review of Books Written by Joseph Fink

Either by collaboration or in his own works, Joseph Fink has been a unique writer. His works have been so much interesting and engaging with lots of teachings as well. Fink is popularly known for his work ‘Welcome to Night Vale’ but he still has other works like ‘Mostly Void, Partially Stars,’ ‘Great Glowing Coils of the Universe’ and much more.

Welcome to Night Vale Review

In this book, there is a mystery in imaginative disappearances and appearances. This depicts how humans struggle to look for one another regardless of their place of residence. The book is mostly known to be weird but in real sense it is not more than real life in weirdness. With the quality of Hyde and Jekyll in it, the novel has become weird even the more. Joseph Fink has just made the book even more interesting with lots of splendid writing styles. The book is about a certain strain of gothics from America encompassing the Twilight Zone. The novel is also around the Twin Peaks and Stephen King with tremors thrown inside.

Night Vale is just a small place that is located in an anonymous desert in the Southwest America. In this town, angels, ghosts, government conspiracies and aliens are believed to be part of the everyday life. There are two women here who will have their lives with two mysteries converged at the anonymous town.

Jackie Fierro is a 19-year old pawn shop owner in the place who is given a paper with the marking ‘KING CITY’ by a mysterious man. As the man gives the paper to this shop owner, he is holding a deer skin suitcase and he is dressed in tan jacket as well. It is from the appearance of this man that starts to cause almost all the trouble. The shop owner becomes uncomfortable with the man because in the first place no one who meets the man can remember anything about him. This seriously sets the mind of the woman into unsettledness.

Jacky then has the zeal to uncover the King City’s mystery and the man before she can unveil herself. Josh who is a son of Diane Crayton; a PTA treasurer in the Night Vale town seems to be moody and shape shifter. Later on, Josh starts to see the father of her son wherever she goes with the same look as when they were still teenagers. As Diane is looking at Josh, she realizes that he looks different and this gives even more interest in his father. This situation leads to a disaster that is evident to Diane but unfortunately she seems to be helpless in preventing it.

To try and solve the mystery, Diane tries to reconnect with Josh her son. At the same time, Jackie searches for her former routine of life and funnily enough, the two searches collide and the two women converge at two words ‘KING CITY’. This means that the mysteries of these two women can be solved in the King City if they can find it.

Great Glowing Coils of the Universe Review

This is a collection of episodes from Joseph Fink’ Season Two in his book series. This book features some commentary that are behind the scenes, original illustrations and foreword of the same authors who wrote the Welcome to Night Vale. Fink and Jeffery began to air podcasts twice weekly with a hope that they could be heard by everyone that would be outside their periphery. They started doing this in the year 2012 June.

Come the year 2013, one year later, during the anniversary show, the base of the fans had just exploded. The podcast became vaulted even in iTunes with immediate effect. From this point on, the popularity of this novel has just grown amazingly with more than 100m downloads. This has also made the Night Vale to expand and has even become a multi-cast touring stage show not only in New York but also internationally. The first two seasons of the work can be found as books. This gives the readers an entertaining experience. There is also a valuable reference to the past episodes that acts as a guide.

In this novel, there is a totalitarian takeover of the city, Night Vale. This threatens to give a total change to the town and even a total change to the lives of people who live in the place.

In the Great Glowing Coils of the Universe there is also a featuring of the forward of Jeffery who co-wrote the book with Joseph Fink. There is also a featuring of commentaries behind the scenes and guest introduction by both performers and noble fans with Cecil, Mara among others included. The book also has a full script from the debate of the Welcome to Night Vale live show. Each and every episode is also accompanied by beautiful illustrations from Hayworth Jessica who is a series artist.

Joseph Fink is a writer who is well-known to be one of the best. Most of his works are suitable for anyone even those people who are not fans of pod-cast. Joseph currently lives in New York but his original home is California.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Joseph Fink

Leave a Reply