Book Notification

Joshua Doder Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Grk Books

A Dog Called Grk (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grk and the Pelotti Gang (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grk and the Hot Dog Trail (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grk Operation Tortoise (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grk Smells a Rat (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grk Takes Revenge (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grk Down Under (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grk and the Phoney Macaroni (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Timetraveller's Guide to Saxon and Viking London (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Timetraveller's Guide to Shakespeare's London (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Duke of Wellington (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Joshua Doder is the pen name used by the well known English author named Joshua Lacey. He is very well known for writing down the highly successful novel series, the Grk series. Joshua was born in the year 1968 in London. At the beginning of his writing career, he used to write several standalone novels under his original name. The novels were mostly based on the children’s book genre and one of them was based on the young adult genre. Joshua is also famous for writing the biography titled ‘God is Brazilian’, based on the life of Charles Miller, who is known to have introduced the game of football to Brazil. Later, he began writing the Grk series under his pseudonym. As of today, he lives in London along with his wife, a couple of dogs, 3 cats, and a ferret named Miki. Before becoming a full time author, Joshua Doder has worked for a number of jobs, including a librarian, a chef, and an actor. Apart from writing exciting novels, he has the hobbies of climbing mountains and collecting Japanese artistic pottery. Joshua had also performed in several plays and has done reviewing work for a major newspaper under his pen name. He says that after being born in the amazing city of London, he lived there for almost his entire life. Most of his childhood days were constantly immersed in books. He used to get involved in disappearing in the rabbit holes in the backyard of his house and often try different styles of wardrobes.

Joshua also had the liking for exploring the foreign countries and the distant corners situated far away in the galaxy. When he grew up into an adult, he could not manage to keep himself away from his hobbies and would often visit the fabulous places around him. Joshua proudly considered himself luck indulge himself in interesting activities and live a ‘real life’. Many a times, he used to get absorbed in the world of books for long hours. Later, he started writing his own novels and eventually went on to write around 20 books in his writing career till now. Author Joshua says that most of his books are intended for the children. The first novel written by him in the Grk series tells the story of a young boy named Timothy Malt, who finds a dog lost in the street named Grk. He takes him up and decides to search his owner and reunite the dog with him. With the success of the first novel of the series, author Joshua went on to write 7 more novels in the series based on the adventures of Grk and Timothy all around the world. He has depicted them, going from France up to Brazil and Italy up to Australia, throughout the series. Author Joshua has also written a historical novel titled Bearkeeper, which is set in London at the time of Shakespearean era. In this book, he has given the description of the adventures of a young boy named Pip, who saves a bear. Other than these, Johusa has also written around 3 books based on a complicated family referred as Misfitz. He has also written the Dragonsitter series and a couple of books about the character Tom Trelawney.

The Grk series written by author Joshua Doder consists of a total of 8 books published between the years 2005 and 2012. Each of the books in the series is based on the adventures of a dog named Grk and a young boy named Timothy Malt. The first novel of the series was published in the year 2005 by the Delacorte Books publishing house. It was titled ‘A Dog Called Grk’. The plot of this novel introduces the primary characters of the series in the form of Timothy Malt and Grk. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Timothy Malt or Tim, as he is often referred by his friends and family members, is shown as being followed by a dog from the street to his home. When he sees him, he comes to know that he is lost and has been separated from his owner. Tim gets determined to find out the owner of the stray dog and help him get back to him. Tim finds out from the name tag that the dog’s name is Grk. When he starts searching for the owners of Grk, he finds out that they do not live in the town or even in the country anymore. Later, Tim comes to know that the owners of Grk are Max and Natasha Raffifi, who have been kidnapped by an evil man named Colonel Zinfandel along with their ambassador parents and held in one of the prisons in Eastern Europe. Tim decides to go on the mission of rescuing Grk’w owners and help them to reunite with Grk. But, he also knows that his parents will not allow him to do so. So, he sneaks out during the middle of a night along with Grk and takes a taxi to the airport. After reaching to the unknown place in Stanislavia, Tim and Grk are required to break the high-security prison in order to rescue Natascha and Max Raffifi. After that, they have to undergo a nail biting run in a helicopter to the border of Stanislavia. Eventually, Timothy Malt and Grk are required to finish the high-octane and international adventure without getting hurt themselves and saving the owners of Grk from the evil Colonel Zinfandel.

The second novel of the Grk series written by author Joshua Doder was published under the title ‘Grk and Pelotti Gang’. It was released by the Delacorte Books publishing house in the year 2006. The plot of this novel continued to feature the main characters in the form of Grk and Timothy Malt and revolved with their further adventures. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, the owners of Grk, Mas Raffifi and Natascah Raffifi are depicted as newcomers to England and recently orphaned. They are seen trying to adjust to their new lifestyle and wish for anything that does not cause them to go on the run again. They find it better and relaxing to be reunited with Grk, their black and white dog, and having the chance of staying with their friend Timothy Malt, who helped them to reunite with Grk. But their relaxation does not last for too long as Natascha sees a know name in the afternoon newspaper. Soon, they come to know that the notorious Pelotti brothers are involved in a series of crimes in Brazil. They run a gang of mastermind criminals, who were captured only once in their lifetime by Natascha Raffifi’s father. She and Max Raffifi decide to act soon in order to avenge the death of her father at the hands of the Pelotti gang. Eventually, they set off in the middle of one night along with Grk and Timothy Malt, and arrive in Rio de Janiero. As they begin their action for taking the revenge from the Pelotti gang, they face more trouble and feel outnumbered, than they had imagined before coming to Rio de Janiero.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Joshua Doder

Leave a Reply