Book Notification

Josie Marcus: Mystery Shopper Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Josie Marcus: Mystery Shopper Books

Dying in Style (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
High Heels are Murder (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Accessory to Murder (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder with All the Trimmings (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fashion Hound Murders (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Uplifting Murder (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on a Platter (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder is a Piece of Cake (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fixing to Die (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dog Gone Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elaine Vets is a world-renowned author and an American Newspaperwoman, who is popularly known for Dead-End Job mystery series. Ever since Elaine was young, she has always been taught the importance of housecleaning, paying cash and hard work. However, as time went by, Elaine managed to forget everything that she had learned and eventually turned into a mystery writer. Born in the year 1950 in a white working-class neighborhood, Elaine Viets spent her early formative years growing up and also forming different experiences, which eventually came to inspire her. By taking inspiration from her surrounding, Elaine Viets has always had a keen eye for the written word and literature. This would eventually be the building blocks for her career as an author.

After completing her University education, Elaine Viets was awarded a degree in journalism. Viets did a wide range of jobs including telemarketing and many others. The main reason why she took all these low paying jobs was to ensure that she conducts in-depth research for her first book series, Dead End Job. Using her journalistic skills and her aptitude of comprehending the subject on a personal level, Elaine Viets is always more than willing to do whatever it takes to ensure that she gets the best results. Viets is an active member of the Sister’s in Crime and the Mystery Writers of America.

Josie Marcus Best Books
Dying in Style
Dying in Style is the first installment in the Josie Marcus; Mystery Shopper book series. In Dying in Style author Elaine Viets introduces the readers to Josie. Josie has not had it easy in life, considering the fact that she is the daughter of a single parent. However, she has still managed to make the most out of life. Josie took the job as a mystery shopper, considering the fact that bit gives her the chance of being at home, whenever her daughter is around. Despite the fact that the pay is lousy, and many at times Josie is forced to walk more than 10 miles in a day, Josie still loves her job. There are days, when she has to drive more than 300 miles in a single day. Nonetheless, Josie lives to shop and loves going undercover as a spy. Josie Marcus cannot stand the store employees considering the fact that many of them are extremely rude.

The book begins as Josie is going for her next assignment, at one of the leading local diva’s store. In Josie’s next assignment, she is expected to review a chain of stores that are owned by Danessa Celdine, St. Louis celebrity philanthropist. After Josie brief visit to all of the expensive boutiques, she realizes that the assignment that she has been given was a skunk in disguise. Josie does not want to write a bad-report about St. Louis owns Martha Stewart. Apart from being unable to rate the stores, Josie is also unable to rate the merchandise and the employees as well. Nonetheless, Josie still has a strong sense of duty and many at times love to report what she’s witness. When Danessa eventually finds out what had been written about her store, she decides to visit Josie’s boss. Danessa is extremely furious and confronts Josie in front of her boss.

As Danessa confronts Josie, her boss only watches and does not utter a single word. Later in the day, Danessa is brutally slain, and Josie is confronted by the local police, to explain the negative report, which she had written about, Danessa’s chain stores. Furthermore, Josie is also asked to explain how her fingerprint ended up on the belt that was used to strangle Danessa. Josie ends up being the main suspect in Danessa’s killing when she eventually fails the lie detector test. With that said, Josie Marcus is not only spirited, but also independent and highly inquisitive. Furthermore, Josie also has a rather healthy dose of self preservation, which she was never going to allow Josie just to watch as she waits for the local police to find answers.

High Heels are Murder
High Heels are murder is the second installment in the Josie Marcus mystery series. After a complaint is made concerning a certain salesman, who appears to be more interested in the customer’s feet instead of the shoe that he is selling, Josie decides to mystery shop. While mystery shopping, Josie finds the man in an extremely compromising situation. A day after the man was fired from his job, the man is found murdered, and all the evidence points to Cheryl, the daughter of Josie’s neighbor. It does not take long before Josie finds herself drawn into an investigation that involves men with special needs. With that said, High Heels is not only well-written but also well-plotted.

It is going to appeal to the readers who love murder mysteries that have been interspersed with various designer brands. Josie, the protagonist, is a highly entertaining character, and there are several instances when it is not hard for the readers to smile at the various situations that she finds herself in. Despite the fact that the narrative is light-hearted and frivolous, author Viets manages to instill into Josie characteristics which readers may find extremely familiar with their respective lives. Apart from being a single mother, Josie is also trying to make ends meet, while working at a job that she truly enjoys.

Accessory to Murder
In Accessory to Murder, we meet once again with Josie Marcus, the protagonist of the Josie Marcus; mystery Shopper book series. Josie is a single mother who resides in St. Louis, with Amelia, her daughter. Josie raises her daughter, Amelia with the assistance of Jane, her mother. Josie is still in the mystery shopping business, a less than a delightful job. Amelia still works for Horrible Harry, her extremely pretty and vindictive boss. During her free times, Josie normally finds herself solving murder mysteries. This time around, Jake Bohannon, the husband of Josie’s best friend is the main suspect in the murder of Halley Hardwicke, a fashion designer. Most of the evidence in the murder incidence points to Jake. However, Allyce, Josie’s best friend is more than certain that her husband did not commit the crime.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Josie Marcus: Mystery Shopper

Leave a Reply