Book Notification

Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister Books

By: Michael R. Phillips, Judith Pella
My Father's World (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Daughter of Grace (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
On the Trail of the Truth (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Place in the Sun (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sea to Shining Sea (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Into the Long Dark Night (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Land of the Brave and the Free (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Home for the Heart (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grayfox (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister is a series of historical Christian novels written by Michael R. Phillips and Judith Pella which follow the exploits of a young girl that must protect herself and her siblings in the harsh landscape of the American Frontier.

+The Story
The Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister often elicit surprisingly positive opinions. Despite turning some people away with his message, a significant number of readers have shown no notable opposition to all the preaching that Michael R. Phillips does in these books.

The Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister series is aptly named because it essentially chronicles the story of Corrie Belle Hollister. When readers first meet her in ‘My Father’s World’, Corrie is only fifteen-years-old but her world has already collapsed.

Corrie’s father and uncle fled to California in the hopes of profiting from the Gold Rush. From what the family could tell, the pair set up camp at a raucous mining camp but they were never heard from afterward.

When word finally reached the Hollisters, they learned that their father was presumed dead. Eventually, they packed up all their belongings and began the long trek to California.

They hoped to arrive safe and sound as a unit six. But tragedy struck and the Hollisters lost their mother. So seemingly overnight, Corrie became guardian to her two brothers and two sisters.

With the help of their Wagon Master, she kept her siblings alive as they made the rest of their trip to Miracle Springs. At the camp, Corrie hoped to find their Uncle Nick. She wanted to believe that he would care for them and keep them safe.

But the news that met the Hollister kids in Miracle Springs was anything but positive. Their Uncle Nick had fallen foul of the law. He had fled the mining camp with the town Sheriff on his trail.

The Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister series tells Corrie’s story of survival. Suddenly abandoned in a town she knows nothing about, with no means to support herself and dependents she must feed and shelter, Corrie must overcome impossible odds to keep the Hollister clan strong and thriving.

Because Corrie is just a child when readers meet her, she is forced to grow up rapidly over the course of just the first novel. Fortunately for the little girl, her mother prepared her for the hardships of life.

The woman used her final breath to tell Corrie that a woman had to be strong. She told the little girl that she would have to grow accustomed to making her way through life alone.

Those words push Corrie Belle Hollister to succeed even during the difficult times. She takes up writing because her mother encouraged her to do so primarily as a means of coping. Not only are the Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister books narrated by Corrie Belle herself but her story throughout the series is told using her journal entries.

Each new installment gives readers a glimpse into Corrie’s thoughts as she reaches a new stage in her life. The California Gold Rush brings with it as many challenges as it does opportunities.

Corrie has to create connections and forge new alliances to survive. Luckily for her, so many of the people in Miracle Springs are strong, moral and trustworthy, and Corrie quickly finds that there’s always a helping hand ready to lift her up whenever she falls.

But even after she begins to master her responsibilities as guardian and provider to her siblings, Corrie must contend with the complexities that come with growing up during the California Gold Rush.

She tackles themes associated with womanhood such as love, family, and career. Her writing becomes a critical aspect of her future as she sets her sights on a career in journalism.

Michael R. Phillips has been praised repeatedly for painting the setting of the Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister series in such vivid colors. So many readers are drawn to these books because of their exploration of history.

But it is the character of Corrie that the majority of the author’s fans praise. They appreciate how strong she is, not to mention the hardships and heartaches she encounters and the ability she manifests to survive at all costs.

Because Michael R. Phillips is a Christian author, Christianity plays a significant role in Corrie’s life. More often than not, she is placed in situations that compel her to rely on the Power of God to see her through.

While some people appreciate the author’s biblical references and inspirations, others believe that the Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister series is too preachy. They have complained that the author basically beats them over the head with his religious beliefs.

+The Author
Michael R. Phillips has written and edited over a hundred books during his lengthy career. This includes all the volumes he has co-written. Phillips is best known for his strong Christian beliefs which permeate all his works.

+My Father’s World
Corrie Belle Hollister joins her mother and four siblings on their journey to a raucous mining camp during the California Gold Rush to find their Uncle Nick. When their mother dies on the way, Corrie becomes responsible for her siblings.

But even though she safely gets them to Miracle Springs, they are all disappointed to learn that their Uncle Nick ran away after falling foul of the law.

Now Corrie is alone in a strange place unaware as to how she will protect herself and her siblings.

+Daughter of Grace
Corrie and her younger sisters and brothers came to Miracle Springs in despair. Their mother was dead and they had no one to love and care for them in their strange new home.

But then they found their father on the streets of Miracle Springs and their hope was rekindled. Now the Hollisters are trying to readjust to family life. They have set up shop in a cabin.

Their father is doing what he can to settle into his role as patriarch of the Hollisters. As Corrie matures into womanhood and encounters all the complexities that such a development attracts, Pa Hollister realizes that he must find his children a new mother.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister

One Response to “Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister”

  1. Sherry Zappola: 2 years ago

    Loved the whole Corrie Belle series. So impressed with the prayers, & Christian content, gave the whole set to a friend. She loved it. Just bought whole set to keep & read again. More like this please. Blessings, Sherry Zappola


Leave a Reply