Book Notification

Joy McCullough Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Blood Water Paint (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Field Guide to Getting Lost (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Across the Pond (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Great or Nothing (With: Tess Sharpe,Caroline Tung Richmond,Jessica Spotswood) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not Starring Zadie Louise (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Code Red (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Enter the Body (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everything Is Poison (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

Champ and Major: First Dogs (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Harriet's Ruffled Feathers (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Story of a Book (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Basil & Dahlia (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

That Way Madness Lies: Fifteen of Shakespeare's Most Notable Works Reimagined(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Joy McCullough

Joy McCullough is a prominent American author known for her exceptional work in the genres of young adult and children’s fiction. She hails from the Seattle area and channels her creativity to craft compelling characters and protagonists in her stories. Her writing style is captivating, making her works entertaining and engaging for readers of all ages. Joy McCullough possess a gifted ability to weave intricate narratives that resonate with her audience, establishing herself as a prominent figure in the literary world.

Residing in the Seattle area, Joy McCullough is a talented author specializing in young adult and children’s fiction. Her stories are enriched with well-crafted characters and protagonists that capture the imaginations of readers. With a unique writing style, McCullough’s narratives are not only entertaining but also thought-provoking, drawing readers into her fictional worlds effortlessly. Her ability to create engaging stories showcases her talent and sets her apart in the realm of literature.

Joy McCullough, a skilled writer based in Seattle, is renowned for her contributions to young adult and children’s fiction. Through her works, she brings to life characters and protagonists that resonate with audiences on a profound level. McCullough’s storytelling prowess shines through in her ability to craft entertaining and compelling narratives that keep readers hooked from beginning to end. Her knack for creating engaging stories cements her status as a standout author in the field of literature.

Early and Personal Life

Growing up with a passion for storytelling, Joy McCullough developed a keen interest in reading and writing from a young age. Throughout her childhood, she immersed herself in books, nurturing her love for literature and setting the stage for her future as an author. Drawing inspiration from her surroundings and experiences, she discovered her unique voice and style, paving the way for her journey as a writer.

Studying theater at Northwestern University provided Joy McCullough with a foundational understanding of storytelling and character development. Her academic background in theater shaped her approach to crafting narratives, infusing her writing with depth and complexity. Visiting a Guatemalan volcano with her husband to be added a touch of romance to her life, further influencing her creative endeavors and inspiring her to explore diverse themes in her works.

Living in the vibrant Seattle area with her husband and two children, Joy McCullough’s daily life revolves around a harmonious blend of family, literature, and sweet indulgences like chocolate. Surrounded by a treasure trove of books and the joyful presence of her children, she finds constant inspiration for her storytelling. Embracing the challenges and joys of parenthood alongside her writing career, Joy McCullough continues to evolve as an author, enriching her work with a deep sense of passion and purpose.

Writing Career

Joy McCullough has established a notable writing career with a series of well-received novels. Starting with her debut novel ‘Blood Water Paint’ in 2018, she has continued to captivate readers with works such as ‘A Field Guide to Getting Lost’ (2020) and ‘We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire’ (2021). As she expanded her literary portfolio, releases like ‘Across the Pond’ (2021) and ‘Great or Nothing’ (2022) – co-written with others – showcased her versatility as an author.

With an impressive lineup of upcoming releases, Joy McCullough’s writing career shows no signs of slowing down. Further works like ‘Not Starring Zadie Louise’ (2022), ‘Enter the Body’ (2023), ‘Code Red’ (2023), and ‘Basil & Dahlia’ (2024) would prove to better solidify her standing in the realm of young adult and children’s fiction. Joy McCullough’s commitment to storytelling and her ability to craft compelling narratives continue to shape her burgeoning career as a writer.

Blood Water Paint

‘Blood Water Paint,’ a Young Adult historical novel by Joy McCullough, was published by Dutton Books for Young Readers on March 6, 2018. This debut garnered multiple award nominations, including being a National Book Award Nominee for Young People’s Literature and a nominee for the William C. Morris YA Debut Award in 2019.

Artemisia Gentileschi, facing a life-altering decision at twelve after her mother’s death, opted to grind pigment for her father’s paint instead of becoming a nun. By seventeen, she rose as one of Rome’s gifted painters, despite anonymity in the male-dominated art world. After a traumatic incident, Artemisia confronted the harrowing choice between silence and truth in a society where men held power over women.

With resilience and determination, she asserted her identity as a painter, declaring her artistry and capability as a woman in a poignant declaration.

Delving into the true story of the remarkable painter Artemisia Gentileschi, the book explores themes of resilience, identity, and empowerment in a male-dominated society. A poignant and gripping narrative that showcases the strength and talent of a remarkable woman.

Enter the Body

‘Enter the Body,’ a Young Adult historical novel by Joy McCullough, was published by Dutton Books for Young Readers on March 14, 2023. The book received the prestigious BCCB Blue Ribbon for Fiction award in 2023, further solidifying Joy McCullough’s standing as a prominent author in the genre of young adult literature.

In a hidden chamber below a theater stage, deceased teenage girls of Shakespeare’s plays gather to share their tales of love, life, and destiny. Joy McCullough’s narrative highlights the strength of young women supporting one another and reclaiming their narratives post-trauma.

The novel provides a poignant exploration of empowerment and solidarity among characters facing tragic circumstances. Through authentic storytelling, McCullough transforms these girls into voices of resilience and unity.

We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire

Joy McCullough’s Young Adult historical novel ‘We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire’ was published by Dutton Books for Young Readers on February 9, 2021. The book received a nomination for the Washington State Book Award in the Young Adult category in 2022, further highlighting its significance in the literary world.

After Em Morales’s sister is sexually assaulted at a frat party, she becomes a vocal advocate for justice, leading to a guilty verdict for the assailant. Despite this victory, the sentencing brings devastation as the rapist receives no prison time, igniting Em’s intense emotions.

Em embarks on a journey of healing, drawing strength from the tale of Marguerite de Bressieux, a historical figure known for seeking retribution for rape victims.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Joy McCullough

Leave a Reply