Book Notification

Jude Fisher Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fool's Gold Books

Sorcery Rising (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wild Magic (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rose of the World (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Fellowship of the Ring Visual Companion (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return of the King Visual Companion (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lord of the Rings Complete Visual Companion (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Visual Companion (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug Visual Companion (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies Visual Companion (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jude Fisher is the pen name for Jane Johnson a celebrated science fiction and fantasy author. She was born in the Cornwall United Kingdom where she also schooled at the Liskeard Grammar School and later on received an English degree from Goldsmith’s College. Jude has a huge experience in the book industry since she has also worked as an editor and publishing director. She is fond of travelling and adventure and has been to many places abroad among them New Zealand, Iceland and also Africa.

Jude Fisher’s writing career started and is extensive where she has also partnered with many other authors such as M. John Harrison. From 2001 to 2014 she joined hands with the cast and crew to come up with six visual books used in film trilogies, The Hobbit, The Lord Of Rings. The author created The Fool’s Gold Series from 2002 to 2005 that has hugely borrowed from experience in adventure and touring different places in her lifetime.

Sorcery Rising

Sorcery Rising is the first publication in the Fool’s Gold Series. Jude has created a masterpiece with the main issues brought out being magic, war and deception at the same time adding the element of culture. Two cultures are leaving peacefully with each other, the Eryans and Istrians and both have different specialities. However, they do meet to exchange what each of them has annually.

Fisher has two characters from each side and who has the story centring around. Virelai is brought up in isolation, magic and one day during the Alifar which was the trading day decides to escape. With him, he carries a magical cat, some gold and a beautiful succubis. This is done innocently but will, later on, create a massive conflict between the two tribes out of the reintroduction of magic in the Elda’s world.

A young woman Katla comes into play where together and her family have come to trade with the other side. They are thrown into a mess of love, deception and murder, and all this is connected to the actions of virelai that comes in a chain each event leading to the other until things are beyond control.
The author has really come up with a story that has the effect of making the reader continually move through from page to page. The characters’ description is one that is incredible. One exceptional thing about how she writes is that she has a simple way of building characters within a short time and this makes it possible to come up with multiple players and events to make the book a must read for all fantasy lovers.

Wild Magic

Wild Magic is her second book in The Fool’s Gold Series. Use of magic has been reintroduced to Elda throwing the people in chaos and wars. What started as an innocent act by Virelai is turning into a colossal mess that bears numerous terrors and problems for almost everyone.

Rosa Eldi is unaware that she is the source of magic and gets married to the king Raven of the north. As things get hot, she is after only one thing, to conceive to provide a child for succession. Different from the rest who are involved in the antagonism and war, Aran Aranson is determined to sail to the island of legend in a bid to amass a fortune for himself despite being ordered to move into battle by his king. Many characters like Virelai are caught up in situations that they were unaware of and are forced to find ways out which only heighten things. Despite the difference in intentions, they all seem to have a connection that connects to the antagonism brought out in the piece.

The author has gracefully curved the story letting in different events and characters to come up with an incredible story. She has an articulate way of introducing characters and describing events and crafting a story that’s fast-paced and yet very fascinating. Jude has brought different players who seem to be headed in different directions yet all have a common relation that makes up the book. Her style and choice of words is one that will leave the reader wanting to have more and more making it very enjoyable to read this book.

The Rose of the World

The Rose of The World is the third and last book in The Fool’s Gold Series. The conflict between the two communities has considerably accelerated as the presence of the magic from the famous sorcerer, Rahe, makes it completely hard. Rosa has not regained her memory which brings Eda to the brink of destruction.

Rosa is caught up in the middle of all this where she is abducted from her husband by Ravin who is working with Rahe, the sorcerer. She is also trying to regain her memory, a task that seems almost impossible to her. Many poor decisions made by the characters lead to dangerous consequences where death is used to tie the loose ends. A lot of pain, greed and misconception plugged the characters into deep messes that leave them in tough situations.

Things get complicated for everyone, including Aranson, who are forced to do things that are against their wish in the attempt to free themselves from their own created tragedies. Many of the battles that come about the result from greed as different individuals in the story especially those described as an evil rush to satisfy their selfish needs at the expense of others. As the death rate increases so do the resurrection bringing in the aspect of magic into play. The beautifully woven story also does showcase the consequences of making wrong decisions not only to an individual but also to others in the community.

You will end up feeling almost present in the action, pain and difficulties that they are involved in such what Rosa goes through as you read the book. Jude Fisher has done it awesomely when it comes to creating a blend of myths and magic in a very vibrant manner despite the danger and horror surrounding the story. She can create an almost visible picture of different places like the Istrian Sea and the spellbinding eternal city for the reader.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jude Fisher

Leave a Reply