Book Notification

Judith James Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rakes and Rogues of the Restoration Books

Libertine's Kiss (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soldier of Fortune: The King's Courtesan (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highwayman (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Judith James
Author Judith James has worked as a clinical psychologist, a trail guide, a horse trainer, a legal assistant, and for fifteen years she worked as a counselor. Her journey has taken her all over, including places such as the West Coast to the Arctic. Judith grew up in Montreal, Quebec and is an avid reader.

Judith’s writing combines her love of adventure and history with the keen interest she has in the heart’s capacity to heal and the complexities of human nature.

She writes the “Rakes and Rogues of the Restoration” series as well as some stand alone works. Her debut novel, called “Broken Wing”, was released in the year 2008. Judith writes romance and historical romance.

“Broken Wing” is the first stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2008. This novel stars Gabriel St. Croix and Sarah Munroe. The novel is set during the chaotic start of Napolon’s rule, and tells the story of a street survivor looking for a place to belong, whose name is Gabriel St. Croix. He was raised in a brothel after being abandoned as a child, and has never known affection or friendship. Hiding emotional and physical scars behind a cool and icy facade, the only relationship he has is with a young boy that he has spent the previous five years protecting from the harsh reality of their environment.

All of that is about to change, however, since the boy’s family has found him, and they have come to take him back home. Sarah Munroe has always blamed herself for her brother’s vanishing. When he is found, safe and unharmed, even with where he was living, Sarah vows to help the guy who protected and rescued him any way she is able to. With some loving patience she is able to help Gabriel face his own demons and teaches him to trust in love and friendship.

The past catches up with Gabriel and he must face it all on his own. He becomes a pirate, a mercenary, and a professional gambler, he goes to the Barbary Coast, London, and France as he desperately tries to find Sarah once more. On his journey, though, he is going to find the most dangerous journey as well as the biggest gamble of all is inside the darkest parts of his own heart.

Fans of this one enjoyed Sarah and Gabriel as a couple. Sarah is a great heroine and she believes in Gabriel right from the start and always fights for the guy. Readers found their own hearts breaking for Gabriel and the pain he felt during his life and liked that he was able to become a good guy despite it all.

“Libertine’s Kiss” is the first novel in the “Rakes and Rogues of the Restoration” series, which was released in the year 2010. This novel stars Elizabeth Walters and William de Veres. William de Veres, who was abandoned by his cavalier dad at just a young age, grew up knowing very little happiness. William has finally been able to put the past well enough behind and is now a noted rake and a military hero, so he rises through the ranks of the hedonistic Restoration court quickly. However, not before he is required to look for shelter from a young and charming Puritan woman.

The civil wars have cost Elizabeth Walters, once high spirited, her father and her best friend which leaves her all alone and unprotected. She flees from an unwanted marriage, looking for safe haven, but she finds something that she never expected. Her kindness and beauty brings her to William’s attention, and then to the king, it gives her a choice to make. After all, is a notorious libertine really capable of love?

Readers found themselves digging William de Vere and finding him to be a larger than life hero. Both William and Lizzie are fantastic characters and are easy to picture in your mind. Judith James is a great author and does an amazing job of bringing the period to life.

“Soldier of Fortune: The King’s Courtesan” is the second novel in the “Rakes and Rogues of the Restoration” series, which was released in the year 2011. This novel stars Robert Nichols and Hope Matthews. Hope Matthews (determined, beautiful, and sensuous) is one of the king’s favored mistresses. Her many charms have helped her rise up from the gutter and into the king’s bed. With the new queen’s impending arrival, her nights spent in the royal chamber, and those hopes she had of security, are going to swiftly come to an end.

Captain Robert Nichols, who is hardened by the recent civil war and haunted by his past, lives just for revenge. He is told that he has to marry the king’s courtesan to provide a cover for their affair, he is faced with a brand new low. Both are the pawns of a great man, but married to their dreams of independence, their clash is inevitable. Will these wounded souls realize the answer to all of their dreams maybe lie in one another’s arms?

“The Highwayman” is the third novel in the “Rakes and Rogues of the Restoration” series, which was released in the year 2014. This novel stars Jack Nevison and Arabella Hamilton. England in 1860. Jack Nevison, known to some as Swift Nick and Gentleman Jack, preys on the wealthy, as he steals coin, and sometimes a kiss, on some of the darkest roads in England. Jack’s dangerous deeds are the stuff of legend, but the thrill of a highwayman’s life is starting to get cold for him, until he meets the spinster and intrepid travel writer, named Arabella Hamilton.

Bold and beautiful, Arabella might come from the world that Jack despises, but she is a kindred spirit at heart. Circumstances unite both of them together the sparks fly, yet they still remain on opposing sides of the law and society. With one encounter after another, they risk a lot more. To be together, is one going to have to give up their own world forever?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Judith James

Leave a Reply