Book Notification

Judith Lennox Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Reynardine (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Glittering Strand (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Till the Day Goes Down (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Italian Garden (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Years (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winter House (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Some Old Lover's Ghost (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Footprints on the Sand (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow Child (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark-Eyed Girls (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Written on Glass (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Middlemere (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
All My Sisters (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Step in the Dark (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Before The Storm (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heart of the Night (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catching the Tide (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Turning Point (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Last Dance (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jeweller's Wife (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hidden Lives (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secrets Between Us (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer at Seastone (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Judith Lennox, aka Lennox Smith, is a historical Romance author born in Salisbury, Wiltshire. She studied English at Lancaster University.
Judith is a famous author of bestselling books, including the Winter House, the Secret Years, Footprints of the Sand, and Dark-eyed Girls, among others.
Catching the Tide

In England in 1933, when the famous writer Milo Rycroft meets the mannequin, Tessa Nicolson, at a frozen pond, no one suspects that this fateful encounter will forever change the lives of three women.

Sisters Tessa and Freddie Nicolson were born and raised in Italy. When they are sent to England in their teens, their lives change drastically. The unconventional and beautiful Tessa becomes a successful model and gets into a relationship with a married man.

When his wife finds out, Tessa flees to Italy. Tessa herself could not forget her Italian childhood love for a long time and now no longer believes in love. Hit by a severe blow of fate, she returns to Italy. Her sister Freddie, who grew up together in Italy, is initially the mere appendage of her famous sister, who later subordinates everything to supposed security on her own in England.

And then there is Rebecca Rycroft, who has held on to the dried-up marriage to Milo for too long and only takes her life into her own hands late. They all seek their fortune in turmoil before, during, and after the 2nd World War.

She has to learn to live with the fact that she played a role in the tragedy, which ruined her marriage.

On the eve of World War II, Freddie travels to Tuscany to visit Tessa. Along the way, she meets Jack Ransome, a traveler, and part-time spy. The attraction between the two is evident, but Freddie misses the chance for romance. However, when the war erupts in all its intensity, any chance of happiness for the two sisters seems lost.

Tessa is caught up in the horrors of the war in Italy, and her younger sister is also affected by the tragedy and has to make her way in war-torn London. The two sisters must learn to fight for their happiness and survive, wondering whether they’ll meet each other.

The story always accompanies one of the three women, initially known as Milo. What begins as a harmless encounter at the pond becomes a destructive storm that blows away their old lives.

The plot tells how each of the three women tries to go their way, not free of setbacks and shaped through painful self-knowledge. You have to learn that the paths of love are rocky and winding. Long plot stretches take place in England, but Italy also plays a role.

Strong feelings, trials, and tribulations of love, women make their way – these are the classic ingredients of her and are skillfully mixed together with a pinch of guilt. And the self-buried in her marriage realizes that she is independent.

The cover also captures the mood of the book well. Juliane Köhler is a great speaker who tells the story calmly yet sensitively. In doing so, she manages to let the respective character of the women resonate through her voice.

Catching the Tide is a wonderfully written novel with themes of love and loss and skillfully captures the indulgence of pre-war World War II Europe and London. Other themes include arson, war, death, grief, friendship, hope, and forgiveness.

The story is a sweeping saga of several characters in Italy and England before and after the war. It conveys the atmosphere during that time, and the description of places and people was fully detailed so that the reader will feel they are right there with the characters enduring their lives.
The Dark-Eyed Girls

Sweet Liv is looking for perfect love and marries the man of her dreams who destroys her life. Experimental Katherine throws herself into her career as a way of avoiding family life. She gets into a dangerous affair and later feels suffocated by the only thing she has tried to avoid.

Katherine loves Rachel, who later marries her parents and then faces a tragedy. The bond between Liv and Katherine starts weakening with time, but as Katherine discovers the raw truth about Rachel, Liv starts to put the pieces of her broken life together. The friendship is reasserted, and their lives go on with their dark-eyed girls.

It all starts when Liv, an eight-year-old girl, suffers the sudden abandonment of her father. She and her mother will ask for help from Diana, an old friend of the mother. Liv will befriend Rachel, Diana’s daughter, and Katherine, her friend.

The three girls will grow up together, inseparable. When they turn eighteen, they are very different. Liv is a romantic who falls in love with a professor in college and marries very young, as is Rachel, the perfect girl who marries the ideal man.

However, Katherine is a very modern woman for her time, who wants to be independent, who has aspirations and dreams; she doesn’t want to be a vase woman and goes to London. Although each one lives in a place and the years go by, they are still sisters, so they are there whenever needed.

Everything goes awry when Rachel, about to give birth, calls them for help, and the girls do not come for different reasons. Something they will regret for the rest of their lives

The author has used her skill to show the various characters, their choices, and how they complement each other. Three friends are different from each other but manage to keep the friendship that they swore as children.

The story shows how important friendship is, and everything that makes up life is successes, laughter, joy, sadness, failures, heartbreaks, and loss. The girls grow up in a small English village where they remain in touch as they grow older, even when their lives go in different directions.

The author shows how their relationships developed and changed throughout the years. Many things tend to happen for a decade as people go through life, but the important thing is the friend who stays. After all, what’s more, important than having a friend?

The story mainly focuses on the three dark-eyed sisters of the soul, though not but blood, and how their lives go around a mystery.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Judith Lennox

Leave a Reply