Book Notification

Julia Brannan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Jacobite Chronicles Books

Mask Of Duplicity (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mask Revealed (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gathering Storm (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Storm Breaks (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pursuit of Princes (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tides of Fortune (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dealing in Treason (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jacobite Chronicles Story Books

The Whore's Tale: Sarah (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Eccentric's Tale: Harriet (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ladies' Tale: Caroline & Philippa (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highlander's Tale: Alex (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Baronet's Tale: Anthony Part I (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Seventy-Five Percent Solution (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Julia Brannan

Ms Brannan’s A 75% Solution is a standalone novel filled with tension and suspense.

Sisters Joanne and Kate struggle with having successful loving relationships. They never grew up with any kind of good examples; the parents were unhappy and the girls grew up with conflicting thoughts about love and what it is and what is definitely is not.

Joanne is desperate for affection and to escape the bullying of her father. She’s sure no one will ever want her. After a whirlwind romance with Steve she grabs the opportunity to escape her hopeless life at home.

Kate has made a promise to herself to never fall in love, absolutely avoiding the trap she swears she won’t fall in. Now she’s helping her sister keep it together after Joanne’s illusions about her marriage come apart and and she has to make a new life for herself. In order for either sister to move forward they are going to have to come face to face with each of their pasts.

Joanne knows she’s stupid and ugly because her father told her, frequently. Kate came along when she Joanne was six and Joanne was instantly in love with her baby sister. Sadly, she also knew she had a sister to share the disappointment of her parents.

Now years later, Joanne realizes her parents didn’t really hate her or think she was really ugly and stupid. They just took their enormous amount of frustration and anger with each other out on her.

Jacobite Chronicles series
#1 Mask of Duplicity

Beth Cunningham has been living a quiet, satisfied country life since her father passed away. She and her servants lived frugally but comfortably and she was content to live this way with no desire for any change.

Beth has a brother, Richard, a sergeant in the Dragoons, whom they haven’t heard from since he took off without warning thirteen years ago. She wrote to him of the passing of their father but had not heard back. She was sure he had been killed in a battle somewhere, was in jail, or didn’t care enough to show up.

Unexpectedly and without warning, Richard rides up on his horse. He is thinking he is cutting a fine figure, up on his horse, and is expecting to make a big impression on the servants and his sister. Except no one is around. Frustrated by the failure of his big show, he stomps around the property looking for anyone at home. He finds whom he thinks a servant girl and proceeds to berate her for not attending to her jobs. After all, he’s the master of the household now.

The “servant girl” runs inside as ordered and flies up the stairs. She comes down a few minutes later, transformed. Richard looks at her and realizes he was made the fool. Beth thought she was playing a harmless joke. Richard doesn’t appreciate the joke. Richard is a vicious and vindictively dangerous man.

As Richard settles in he is harsh and rude to the servants, of course. He becomes even more so when he realizes the estate finances are much, much less than he was expecting. He had plans for the monies he was sure would be there and now his plans are vanishing and he has no intention of becoming a simple, country gentleman; counting pennies for the rest of his life.

His father, when finances were better, had set aside a rather large dowery for Beth. He can’t touch that money, the will is ironclad. He quickly realizes that Beth is the key to reversing his fortunes.

Beth isn’t interested in marrying for money. IF she were to marry it would be for love and devotion. Richard intends to force her hand. He tries to convince her to do his bidding by abusing and nearly raping her. He has beaten and nearly killed the servants. Beth realizes the only way to save the servants and herself is to acquiesce and allow a suitable marriage match.

With the help of Sir Anthony Peters, a silly socialite with wondrous influence, she soon has very suitable men eager to get their hands on her dowery. Beth’s priority is to find love and passion. It’s difficult because all those around her present with a mask and she can’t tell who to trust.

This story is rich in historical accuracy and is the first in the series set during the Jacobite Rebellion.

Jacobite Chronicles Story series
#1 The Whore’s Tale: Sarah

In this group of stories we are introduced to the pivotal characters to whom we are read about later in the award-winning Jacobite Chronicle series. These stories can be read independently from the original series or as a companion pieces.

In Cheshire, England in 1731, Reverend Browne has decided the future of his daughter, Sarah. Sarah dreams of being happy and independent but her father has decided she will remain with him, caring for him and his household as he crusades as one of God’s chosen to save souls from the Devil.

A chance meeting allows Sarah a way out and forges her a path of joy and happiness. Her happiness is quickly dashed as she realizes she has made a grave error. Her whole world is devastated and now she is in a struggle just to simply survive.

Ms. Brannan has been using reading and writing as means to escape a troubled and heartbreaking adolescence. After graduating university with a degree in English Language and Literature she settled in and worked at being a normal young adult with work and life. It wasn’t a good fit.

In order to live as she wanted to she worked at various jobs such as telesales, a teacher, and postoffice clerk. She has lived all over the British Isles but now has settled in Scotland. She decided to combine her love of writing with her passion for history and began her Jacobite series.

Ms. Brannan has written many blog posts about the Jacobite period in Scottish history. Rich with facts and famous figures, she puts as much interesting writing style into her blog posts as she does her books.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Julia Brannan

Leave a Reply