Nick Petrie Series

Julia Chapman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Dales Detective Books

Date with Death (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Date with Malice (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Date with Mystery (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Date with Poison (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Date with Danger (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Date with Deceit (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Date with Betrayal (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Date with Evil (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Cozy Case Files Mystery Sampler Books

A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 1 (2017)
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 2 (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 3 (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 4 (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 5 (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 6 (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 7 (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 8 (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 9 (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 10 (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 11 (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 12 (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cozy Case Files, Volume 16 (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cozy Case Files, Volume 17 (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Anthology series.If author is listed on a book then this author wrote a story within that book.

Julia Chapman is an author living north of England. It also happens to be a pen name used by the real life human being known as Julia Stagg.

Chapman has spent most of her life living abroad in a sort of nomadic existence. She’s naturally inclined to wander, but you can find part of her solidly in one place if you ever pick up one of her books!

She resides in the Yorkshire Dales a beautiful place in England that gives her plenty of inspiration for her books in her mystery series– which happen to have stories that take place in exactly the same place! Stagg has also written a few novels that were set in the French Pyrenees but is now writing crime fiction under her other pen name.

Julia Chapman is the creator and writer of the Dales Detective Mystery series. The series kicked off in 2017 with the publication of the first novel in the exciting series, which is titled Date with Death! The sequel came out the same year and then shortly after, she decided to add another novel to the series and came out with the third book, which is titled Date with Mystery.

Date with Death is the debut novel in the Dales Detective Mystery series. This is the thrilling first story in the mystery series in which readers get to meet the main character of Delilah Metcalfe for the first time. She is a young woman that makes her living running a dating agency.

Metcalfe is the owner of her very own Dales Dating Agency, and at the moment, it’s a business that isn’t exactly paying off. She’s finding that she has a lot of concerns when it comes to money and it’s taking all that she can do in order to keep the business going and make some money too. With the threat of going into the red way too far looming over her head, Delilah is faced with a tough situation.

She’s got no choice but to try and do what she can to maintain the businesses. At the same time, she’s got to do what it takes to keep a roof up hanging over her head. At the same time, it can be really tough to figure out what to do. It’s her only option if she wants to keep going– she’s got to consider taking on a tenant.

Delilah decides to consider others for the office space and eventually decides that Samson O’Brien would make as good a tenant as any. So with him moved in, things are actually looking up. She’s confident that this is a great move that is going to help her make some money and finally start getting those ends to meet.

What she may not know is that Samson was dismissed from his last job with the police force. Not only that, but he’s on the verge of being criminally prosecuted. Things are not looking good, but he has no choice but to try and look at the bright side and just keep pressing on. So now he has come back to the place that he grew up to try and work on clearing his name.

He opens up a detective agency during this process and quickly lands a case. His first case gives him the task of looking into a local man’s death. It was supposedly a suicide, but is that really the case? As Samson starts to look into the case, it’s clear that things have changed unexpectedly.

Samson quickly finds out that he is following a long trail of dead people. It leads back to the most unlikely of places– the very dating agency and the owner that he has become the tenant of Samson is determined to get to the bottom of this case, but is he in deeper over his head than he realized?

He’s already dealing with so much, but can he team up with Delilah and work to clear his name? The team may make a good pair, but they’re also dealing with someone that is not normal like them Instead, they’re a straight up cold blooded killer. What’s going to happen? Read Date with Death to follow all of the twists and the turns and find out for yourself!

Date with Malice is the second book in the mystery series by author Julia Chapman. If you liked the first book in this series, then you may definitely have an interest in picking up this fun sequel that is chock full of surprises.

Samson O’Brien moved back to his home town a little while ago with a lot going on. It felt like the world was caving in on him, and he was just trying to do his best to right the ship and even everything out again. It’s winter time now in the Dales, and someone has come to seek his help.

The tenant thing worked out well so far, and Samson is doing okay with his detective agency. It’s still running and up and operational, anyway. Mrs. Shepherd is a potential client that one day comes to the agency. This older lady is convinced that there is someone out there that must be attempting to kill her.

Samson politely hears her out, but isn’t certain if this lady is all there. He’s not sure about her story but wants to follow up on it. When a retirement home reports a series of incidents disturbing the peace, the detective starts to think that she may have been telling the truth.

The holidays are coming up, and Samson is doing what he can to try and figure out what’s going on with his case. This investigation may actually make him work to get the trust of a community back that he lost a long time ago. Can Delilah provide him with the help that he so desperately needs?

These two must choose to collaborate if they will ever figure out who’s putting the community at risk. Can they work together long enough to take down the common threat? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Julia Chapman

6 Responses to “Julia Chapman”

  1. Carol: 1 year ago

    Are we going to find out what happens to Sampson in court ?

  2. Martine Croisé: 1 year ago

    I began to read the first book of the series in June 2021 and I could not have stopped during this last summer. You’re a fantastic writer and the translation is very good. It’s full of suspense, charm and fun. And to be able to wait for number 7, I Just have read L’Auberge. Right analyze of french society. Congratulations please excuse my bad english.

  3. Malc: 1 year ago

    Just finishing Date with Mystery which I think is the best of the series so far.

  4. Pat Caswell: 1 year ago

    Am from Yorkshire a long time ago am on book 2 and am loving your books just like home Pat

  5. Jean nicholson: 1 year ago

    Is there a book 7 in the dale detective series

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      Not at the moment.


Leave a Reply