Book Notification

Julie Cantrell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Into the Free Books

Into the Free (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Mountains Move (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Feathered Bone (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perennials (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

God Is with Me through the Day (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
God Is with Me Through the Night (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dog Saves Duck (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Crescendo (With: Allen Cheney) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

When You Pass Through Waters: Words of Hope and Healing from Your Favorite Authors(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's a Wonderful Christmas(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Julie Cantrell is a USA TODAY and New York Times bestselling and award-winning author who has tons of experience working as both an editor and author. She published “Into the Free” her debut novel in 2012 and has since gone on to be a critically acclaimed inspirational fiction author.

After years of helping aspiring authors and friends edit their manuscripts, she launched her own editing company. She uses Blue Spark Editorial to bridge the business goals of the publishing team and the creative vision of the author. By doing this she is able to find a balance between the craft and art of the writing process.

In addition to her two children’s fiction works, four novels, and a creative nonfiction collaborative work, she has also contributed to more than 20 non-fiction works, devotionals, and anthologies.
Aside from that, she has also penned magazine and newspaper columns written grants for corporate and nonprofit clients, and was a marketing writer for FNC Inc.

Working as a freelancer for more than two decades, she had provided content for the likes of Gensler, PUBLIX Super Market, AirCARE1, Mothers of Preschoolers, International, and the Princeton Healthcare System among others.

The author was born in the Louisiana town of Baton Rouge, even though most of her years growing up were spent in Walker Louisiana.

She went to Louisiana State University where she got her bachelor of arts and master’s degrees in communications sciences. She penned her master’s thesis exploring children impacted by language impairment and how this impacted their working memory.
During her time in college, Julie Cantrell was also a Phi Kappa Phi member. After graduating from college, she became a language and speech pathologist working in educational and medical settings, before she ultimately focused on editing and writing.
As a specialist in language development, the author spent much of her professional years teaching kids to write, read, and develop communication skills. She would also serve on the Oxford Mississippi Lafayette Literary Council.

While there, Julie Cantrell founded an after-school program intended to help at-risk elementary students develop their reading skills. She first got into writing when she wrote about child development and parenting for Mothers of Preschoolers International.
She would then work as an editor and copywriter for all manner of corporate clients, newspapers, nonprofits, and magazines.

With published works across numerous languages and all manner of genres, Julie Cantrell currently edits, coaches, and writes full-time. She also finds the time to teach the Drexel University MFA program and boasts several successes from her creative writing students.
She has been a fellow of the Pat Conroy Writer’s Residency, the Mary Elizabeth Belson Fellowship by the Rivendell Writer’s Colony, and the Literary Arts Fellowship by the Mississippi Arts Commission in addition to working for the Southern Literary Review as editor in chief.
All four of her fiction novels have been bestselling titles on Amazon. In 2004, she moved her family to Oxford, Mississippi after years of living in Colorado, Louisiana, New Hampshire, Maryland, Massachusetts, and Illinois.

“Into the Free” by Julie Cantrell tells the story of Millie who while just a girl may be the only person with the power to break a heartbreaking family cycle. Millie Reynolds lives in Mississippi during the Depression which means that she cannot help but think of escaping the madness in her world.

With a useless mother and abusive father, she is struggling to find answers and a place where she can belong. Millie befriends the Gypsies and their caravan that pass through the town every spring. The travelers help her find a key that could unearth some astonishing secrets about her family.

When tragedy struck, she finally has the opportunity to use the mysterious contents of the box she had found to break the long-standing cycle of abuse and madness that has dogged her family for years.
Through everything, Millie Reynolds finally gets to experience the thrills of first love even as she struggles to trust God when she believes everyone has abandoned her.

Full of Southern vibes and penned in the style of bestselling novels such as Kathryn Stockett’s “The Help” and Tom Franklin’s “Crooked Letter,” it is a brilliant story that will keep readers engrossed right from the first page to the last.

Julie Cantrells’ “When Mountains Move” opens a few hours before Millie Reynolds is set to get married to Bump Anderson. She is madly in love with the man but is not too sure if he would continue loving her when he learns of her secret.
Her mind is racing and it does seem that there is no clear line between wrong and right. Whatever path she takes will result in a lot of pain, even though she is prepared to do anything to protect her loved ones.

She decides to bury the truth and move forward as she helps Bump start his own ranch in the Colorado wildlands. Just when she believes her past life in Mississippi is behind her, the facts come back to threaten her.
It is at this time that Oka who is Millie’s grandmother comes in to help. She makes use of her ancient Choctaw traditions to teach the power of second chances to Millie.
The latter resists her efforts as she believes redemption is unlikely. But she is facing a strong woman in Oka who models forgiveness as the only way anyone can find their way to true freedom.

“Perennials” by Julie Cantrell introduces 45-year-old Lovey who is at a crossroads in her life. She has not done so badly for herself as she has a home in Sedona and Phoenix and has been a huge success at her job. Every weekend usually sees her head to Sedona to replenish her spirit.

She has been working on a very big project that she believes will provide a huge financial payout. With that money, she hopes to retire and go live in the country. But her plans go bad when her father calls and tells her that she needs her to travel home to help in the planning of their Golden anniversary.

She has to go back to the home she fled when she was an eighteen-year-old. Back home, the reader is treated to the family dynamics between the lead, Bitsy her sister, and their parents.
There are many injuries from their childhood to unpack including the siblings’ volatile relationship. Complicating things even further, Lovey gets back together with her boyfriend from high school. She may have to do a lot of soul-searching to discover what she wants to do with her life.

It makes for a heartwarming story that explores the things that are really important in life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Julie Cantrell

Leave a Reply