Book Notification

Julie Shackman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Scottish Escapes Books

A Secret Scottish Escape (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Scottish Highland Surprise (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cottage in the Highlands (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Scottish Country Escape (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highland Lodge Getaway (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bookshop by the Loch (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Scottish Highland Hideaway (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Scottish Island Summer (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Room at the Manor (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Julie Shackman is a fifty-two-year-old romance fiction novelist who is best known for the “Scottish Escapes” series of novels.

She has asserted that writing is something she always wanted but when she had her two children and started a family, everything else had to take a backseat.

In college, she studied media and communication and became a journalist despite the fact that she was a keen book reader from childhood and always wanted to write novels.
As a kid, she had always been surrounded by books given that her grandmother and her mother were avid readers who always took her with them to the local library.

She was only thirteen years old when she read Judith Krantz’s “Princess Daisy,” and this would have a significant impression on her. It was during this time that she began thinking that maybe she could write something like that and the belief never left.
While she got sidetracked when she started a family which took a lot of time, she would soon get back on the horse and begin writing once her children were older.
She published A Room at the Manor her debut novel in 2018

Like many novelists, Julie Shackman initially tried to get her novels published under traditional publishers and this proved too difficult.

After struggling to get published by the big names in the industry, she finally got a small publisher to publish her debut in ebook format in 2014.

While it was a small success, it opened the doors for her that in 2017, Selwa Anthony an Australian literary agent signed her up. It was after she joined forces with Anthony that she finally sold her first novel to Allen & Unwin.
Her debut would become a huge success that it paved the way for her to begin writing “The Scottish Escapes” in 2018 when she published” A Secret Scottish Escape” under HarperCollins.
She was over the moon when she was told that the publisher was offering her an initial three-book deal and it took a while to sink in.

Julia Shackman is now a full-time author and spends much of her time writing her fiction works.

She does most of her writing from a coffee shop every weekday morning where she usually writes in long hand, before she ultimately transfers her manuscript to her computer.
To balance out her life, she prefers to only write during the weekdays and spends her weekends relaxing with her hobbies.

Nonetheless, she will sometimes sit down to write during the weekends whenever she is chasing a deadline or when she gets a very good idea that just cannot wait.
Apart from her writing, she is also a well-sought writer of verses and captions for greeting card companies.

“A Secret Scottish Escape” by Julie Schackman is an interesting work that introduces the twenty-eight-year-old freelance author Layla Devlin.

She feels that she could not have been dealt a worse hand as her mother recently abandoned her and has been insinuating that the man she thought was her father all along was not.
The worst thing in all this is that she has found out that Mac her fiance has been cheating on her when he was found dead in his ex-wife’s bed.

While Mac was significantly older than her, Layla really loved him and his betrayal came as a huge shock. She decides to remain in Loch Harris the Scottish highland village hoping to improve the lives of the residents. She is a caring woman with good intentions though she sometimes comes across as being nosy.

She takes Mac’s inheritance with the intention of building a live music venue which has always been a dream. She commits herself to turning what had been a decrepit boathouse into a place tourists and locals could enjoy.
While she was talking to musicians she met an Australian man who had bought Coorie Cottage after recently moving to the area. Aptly nicknamed Mask he hid from nosy people and prying eyes behind a mask.
But he is just what Layla’s venue needs mysterious yet famous musician.

Julie Shackman’s novel “A Scottish Highland Surprise” is the story of Sophie Harkness, a wedding planner who will not let a spoilt bridezilla spoil a friend’s nuptials.

When her decision leads to her losing her job, Sophie is at a loose end until she learns that she is the owner of a shop in Briar Glen Scotland which had been bought for her by her late grandmother.

She packs her bags and moves to Scotland seeking a fresh start that she needs too much. The delighted and surprised Sophie soon makes her home in Briar Glen, where she runs a porcelain shop in remembrance of her grandmother.
With things starting to finally come together, she could not be any happier. She adores her new job and loves her new home. The items she usually sells tell some intriguing stories but she is fascinated by one particular tea set.
It had been left to her by her grandmother and came with a letter that had piqued her curiosity. Sophie becomes determined to learn the true story behind the unexpected treasure, which is now one of her most treasured possessions.
At some point, Xander North an aloof but handsome art critic comes to check out the tea set. Could she end up finding the most valuable treasure of all while living in Briar Glen?

“The Cottage in the Highlands” by Julie Shackman introduces Leonie Baxter, a woman who has been working as a junior reporter at “The Silver Ness News” for two years.
She loved her job and had cause for concern when she learned that the paper was the subject of a successful takeover.

She loved working with the small team that consisted of Leonie, Frances, and Doug and all of them are upset that their small paper is being taken over by a large conglomerate.

However, the fact is she is out of a job and needs to find a way to pay for her living expenses and a mortgage. Needing a break after spending days looking for a job she takes a walk alongside her dog so that she can unwind.
Letting her cockapoo lead turns out to be a bad idea as he goes missing and does not return when she whistles. When she goes looking for her she finds her in an abandoned house in a very wooded spot.
Despite looking very dilapidated, it has something that makes her very curious.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Julie Shackman

Leave a Reply