Juliet E. McKenna Books In Order

Publication Order of Tales of Einarinn Books

The Thief's Gamble (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Swordsman's Oath (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Gambler's Fortune (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Warrior's Bond (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Assassin's Edge (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Few Further Tales of Einarinn (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Aldabreshin Compass Books

The Southern Fire (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Northern Storm (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Western Shore (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Eastern Tide (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Chronicles of the Lescari Revolution Books

Irons in the Fire (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blood in the Water (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Banners in The Wind (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Hadrumal Crisis Books

Dangerous Waters (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Darkening Skies (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Defiant Peaks (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Tales of the Apt Books

The Scent of Tears (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Green Man Books

The Green Man's Heir (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Green Man's Foe (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Shadow Histories of the River Kingdom (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Collections

Anniversaries (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Chapbooks

Turns and Chances (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Challoner, Murray & Balfour: Monster Hunters at Law (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Author Juliet E. McKenna was born in the year 1965, in Lincolnshire, United Kingdom. She has been interested in fantasy stories she she was a childhood from The Iliad to Winnie the Pooh. She has an abiding fascination with the other world and the people inhabiting them played its role in her later reading Classics while at St. Hilda’s College, Oxford.

She combined selling books with motherhood for a few years, and now fits her writing around her family and vice versa. Before writing full time, she had a career in personnel management before she made a change to book-selling. She is also a part of the British boom of fantasy authors.

She has been nominated for two British Fantasy Society Awards for Best Novel for her books “The Swordsman’s Oath” and “The Thief’s Gamble”.

Juliet has been a judge for awards like the Arthur C. Clarke Award in the year 2013, the World Fantasy Awards in 2018, and the James White Award in 2011. She also hosted FantasyCon 2015’s awards nights, gives talks, is a teacher of creative writing, and goes to fantasy conventions on a regular basis.

Juliet writes the “Hadrumal Crisis” series, the “Aldabreshin Compass” series, the “Chronicles of the Lescari Revolution” series, and the “Tales of Einarinn” series. Her work is from the fantasy genre.

“The Thief’s Gamble” is the first novel in the “The Tales of Einarinn” series, which was released in the year 1998. Magic. It is something for the powerful, the rich. The Archmage and his cloud-masters and elite wizards.

Livak is not one of them. She haunts the back taverns in the realm, being careful the entire time to appear neither poor nor rich, neither short or tall, and neither woman or man. Obscurity is what protects her, gambling is her weakness, and thievery her livelihood.

Some bets are just too tough to resist. Especially when they offer up a chance for her to board a ship headed for Hadrunal, the fabled city in Archmage. Livak follows Shiv, a minor wizard, to try to turn a rune or two. She never thought that the stolen tankard that she is looking to sell has the secrets of an ancient magic in it infinitely darker and much more powerful than any mortal mage’s spells.

The book has a good story and is well plotted, with a main character you cannot help yourself but like despite what she does for a living. Fans found this to be a strong start to the series, and cannot wait to pick up more books from the series. Juliet does a great job of climbing into Livak’s mind here, capturing her essence very nicely.

“The Swordsman’s Oath” is the second novel in the “The Tales of Einarinn” series, which was released in the year 1999. Ryshad was formerly a warrior, a sworn man that pledge to defend the Empire as well as his lord with both his life and his sword. Livak, a thief. was a woman just dangerous and cunning as she was beautiful. Brought together by the clever wizard Shiv and fate, these two unlikely allies once journeyed to the frigid lands in the North to find the answers to some old mystery. Instead, they find death and even worse at Elietimm’s hands, a group of evil sorcerers that came close to destroying them.

The Elietimm have just infiltrated the Empire by using their deadly and strange power. It is up to a reunited Livak and Ryhsad, along with Shiv, to find the secret knowledge that is able to save the Empire. It is a mission that is going to lead them far from these lands that they know well. Ryshad will be the one that is going to go the farthest, off to a distant country where nothing is like it appears to be. Not even the magical sword that has long kept him safe. If that sword should turn on him now…

These are well-written and likable characters, and does a great job of depicting Pered and Shiv’s relationship. This is an entertaining read that gave readers a fun time checking out. Readers cannot wait to read about what happens next in this series.

“The Gambler’s Fortune” is the third novel in the “The Tales of Einarinn” series, which was released in the year 2000. Livak used her great cunning and courage to escape from the mind bending and evil sorcery of the Elietimm. She had the help of Ryshad, the swordsman that was able to steal the heart of the beautiful bandit.

A fortune is waiting for her and her beloved, if she can secure an ancient, powerful, and forgotten magic that the Empire is looking for to protect itself from its enemies. There are some others looking to possess the secrets of these same lost arts.

Fans enjoyed this story, especially its conclusion. Mckenna spends time giving life to this fantasy setting, the main characters come upon spectacular conflicts, and the epic war battles are outstanding, too. All of these books prove that McKenna is one must read author.

“The Warrior’s Bond” is the fourth novel in the “The Tales of Einarinn” series, which was released in the year 2001. Ryshad, swordsman and Einarinn’s greatest warrior, has sworn to protect Messire D’Olbriot, his lord, even if this means seeing his love, Livak, go off on a dangerous quest to locate the lost aetheric magic all by herself.

Shadow and intrigue are on the land. A journey to recover magical artifacts takes the swordsman back to a lost colony called Kellarin, whose settlers have just been awoken recently from their centuries long sleep. Amidst the deadly intrigues and intricate halls of the royal court, even the most cautious of strategems are able to fail. Ryshad will have to fight in order to save Einarinn’s future itself.

Fans enjoyed this lively adventure tale quite a bit. This is a complex interpersonal dynamics made this a really interesting read, one that never gets dull for a single instant. These characters are fun to watch while they develop over the course of these books.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Juliet E. McKenna