Book Notification

June Flaum Singer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bluffer's Guide to ... Books

The Bluffer's Guide to Interior Decorating (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bluffer's Guide to Sex, Revised (By: Sarah Brewer) (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Debutantes (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Star Dreams (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Movie Set (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Markoff Women (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The President's Women (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Till the End of Time (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sex in the Afternoon (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brilliant Divorces (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

What to do until the money comes; (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon

June Flaum Singer is an American author of romance novels that is best known for tackling taboo topics in her novels. Flaum Singer debuted into literary fiction with the publishing of “Debutantes” in 1982. The novel was a popular and unconventional novel at the time, that it instantly went to the top of the bestseller lists of that year. Between 1982 and 1993 she wrote nine more works; seven in fiction and two nonfiction works about house decorating and money management. June is the daughter to Mayer Flaum, a painter from Beverly Hills California. Perhaps given that her father was a painter she got interested in men that loved paint and got married to Joseph Singer also a painter. Together the two had four children Valerie, IJ, Brett, and Sharon Singer. Three of their daughters went on to follow in their mother’s footsteps to become novelists and poets. Brett Singer is best known as the author of the 1979 published work “Petting Zoo”. While June Flaum had not been much of a reader, she married into quite the literary family as her husband was son to Israel Joshua Singer of the “Brothers Ashkenazi” and “Yoshe Kalb” fame. Given her husband’s interest in literary fiction having translated for his uncle Isaac Bashevis Singer and his father, June got a chance to indulge in great literary work, which got her interested in publishing.

June Flaum Singer’s novels are about triumphs, tragedies, love, and a whole cacophony of what happens in adulthood and in families. Taking her readers through decades and generations of families and sometimes just one family, she provides deep insights into the lives of women and men of the elite of the United States and Europe. Most of the novels are written in no more than 500 pages and have so much crammed into them to leave the reader engrossed right from the first page to the last. From following “Debutantes’ in her debut novel to the tempestuous stories of love and betrayal in “Presidents Women”, Flaum writes great romantic stories that provide more questions than answers. Some of her characters thinly mirror some of the most known of historical characters including the likes of Gloria Vanderbilt of the wealthy Vanderbilt family. She follows her characters as they enter into marriages they should never have, fight their in-laws, have children, and generally make bad decisions. The novels are not set in any one particular locale as her characters shift from the likes of Boston, New York, LA, to Switzerland, Paris and London. Malevolence and evil are also part of the novels as a number of villains including tyrannical father-in-laws from the likes of Padraic O’Connor in Debutantes and the father-in-law in “The Markoff Women” make a huge impression. The novels have it all from cheating and lying, molestation, excessive religion, nervous breakdowns, brainwashing, secret babies, abortions, kidnapping, incest, abandonment, and family political power plays.

June Flaum Singer is a specialist in making the reader ask themselves the hard questions about the meaning of life. She does not shy away from taboo topics such as incest, loveless marriages, and family politics. She poses some of the most difficult questions that some women may have to deal with in marriage and love lives. In one of the novels, her lead is forced into a loveless marriage with one of California’s most powerful politician who will not be divorced. He is threatening to take away her children if she insisted on ending the marriage. While most of the novels are set in the 80s and very early 90s, they still pose the same questions about women and how they can lose it all in an instant. For instance, a woman’s career could be ended with the release of an art film just as a blue film would likely kill a big Hollywood film star’s career in today’s world. June Flaum never does offer answers but just described her characters and situations leaving the reader to make their own conclusions.

“The Debutantes” is June Flaum’s first novel that introduced her to the world as one of the best literary talents of the generation. The leads in the series are four girls who go to the prestigious Miss Chalmers School. Chrissy Marlowe is a tabloid staple as she is front and center of a custody battle given that she has arguably one of the most tragic parents in the country. There is the daughter of legendary poet named Maeve O’Connor that is cousin to Marlena Williams, an average and booking looking girl who is from a low class Southern family. Each of the girls come with their own secrets that none of their friends know about. The novel is full of tabloid scandals, secret babies, drug abuse, alcoholism, and dysfunctional family relationships. The novel’s central character Chris Marlowe is based on Gloria Vanderbilt and even includes her famous penchant for several husbands and custody battles. The girls stick together through thick and thin, even after leaving school. All through the kidnap of Maeve’s daughter to Maeve’s demented father getting married to Sara, the girls remain friends and finally find happiness.

“Presidents Women” is another thrilling novel showcasing the tempests that are the lives of the Stantons and Sheridans family and romantic lives. The novel is set in World War II where Francesca and Carlotta Collings two sisters have run into Bill Sheridan. Frankie immediately falls for Bill though he only has eyes for the reckless and sultry Carlotta. Carlotta does not feel the same way and instead elopes with a gangster. Meanwhile, Judith Tyler Stanton who is Carlotta’s niece also falls for Bill and using her political connections to help Bill, makes him sleep with her, albeit begrudgingly. Carlotta dies in a freak accident in 1962 and Bill who is presidential aspirant after serving as Florida governor now marries Frankie. Despite the façade of all is well, things are set to become chaotic with incest on the cards. Judith’s son Rudyard, who is fathered by Bill falls for D’arcy Sheridan. Carlotta’s younger daughter Jade is planning to avenge her mother’s death, Judith who is a widow is creating new enemies with her vengeful and calculating plots. It is an excellent narrative of emotional interrelationships and complex familial wrangles that make for a great evening read.

Book Series In Order » Authors » June Flaum Singer

Leave a Reply