Book Notification

June Shaw Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cealie Gunther Mystery Books

Relative Danger (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killer Cousins (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Reunion (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of A Twin Sisters Mystery Books

A Fatal Romance (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead on the Bayou (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Manor of Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Approaching Danger (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Instructions for Love (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Approaching Menace (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just One Friend (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Looking for Romeo (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

with Claire Naquin
How to Take Care of Your Pet Ghost (With: Claire Naquin) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Author June Shaw lives on a lazy bayou in south Louisiana. Shaw was a young widow with five children, was able to get her college degree. After that, she began teaching students in junior high school. At this point, her deferred dream of being a writer took hold. She believes that the best part of writing is the part where she gets to create anyone she wants and have them act in any way she wants. It is also hard, because the author has to make the characters people that readers care about.

Between being a part of her own kids growing up and grading papers, she learned how to write plays and sold her stories. In Boston, she won a play writing contest. She also had two of her short plays produced Off-Off Broadway; one of her short screenplays aired on a channel for arts in New Orleans.

After this, she started working on novels and became a grandmother. Then, her debut novel “Relative Danger” sold and it got reviewed really well. Deadly Ink nominated it for Best Mystery of the Year or their David Award. She is the author of the “Twin Sisters Mystery ” series and the “Cealie Gunther Mystery” series. This last is, like the author herself, about a widow with children, except Cealie Gunther goes around and solves crimes.

For two years, she represented the state of Louisiana on the Mystery Writers of America’s southwest chapter.

When she is not writing her next novel, she likes to read, dance, travel, swim, fish, meet new people, and spend time with her friends and huge family.

“A Fatal Romance” is the first novel in the “Twin Sisters Mystery” series and was released in the year 2017. Sunny Taylor and Eve Vaughn are twin sisters and they have both gotten divorced. Needless to say that they are fed up with headaches and heartaches. They think they have found peace after they open up a repair and remodel company in Sugar Ledge. Sugar Ledge is a small town in Louisiana. Sunny thinks she is done with romance, but Eve is still open to it.

Their latest customer is found face down in a pond; his widow dies shortly after. Sunny was seen having a not so pleasant moment with the widow, which makes the suspicion fall on both of the twins. Someone tries to kill Eve and they find that they are drawn into a murder mystery. They have no idea of what to do. There are a lot of prying eyes on them, not to mention a culprit they do not know out there trying to stop them. Sunny and Eve have to band together and rely on each other like they never have before if they want to stop this killer.

“Relative Danger” is the first novel in the “Cealie Gunther Mystery” series and was released in the year 2006. Cealie Gunther is an elderly woman that stays away from binding things, like Gil Thurman and control top pantyhose. Cealie, who is widowed, thought that she wanted to avoid her ex-lover Gil (who is a hunk) as she travels in an attempt to find herself. He opens Cajun restaurants in quite a few cities (the ones that she travels to), and she is no good at avoiding temptation. Cealie steers clear of her family members to keep from growing dependent, but cannot due to their being most important to her.

Murder is involved, and Cealie is pulled right into things. But she knows more about parts of speech (she owns a copy editing agency) not about weapons. She goes to visit her motherless daughter to see her graduate from high school. Unless Cealie’s interference with the school sets of catastrophe that involves a special person.

Fans of the novel liked Shaw’s writing and liked the way she uses humor to cope. No matter if a character is secondary or part of the main cast, they are well drawn. This is especially true of Cealie, the main character of the books, she is very charming and full of spunk. She is also up to date on things, runs her own businesses, and even has a hot love life. She is a rare sleuth, due to the fact that she is older, and a delight to read about.

“Killer Cousins” is the second novel in the “Cealie Gunther Mystery” series and was released in the year 2009. Cealie Gunther is asked by a cousin that tormented her in youth to head to Gatlinburg, Tennessee. The cousin is need of help or will face some drastic consequences. It is not really possible that Gil (who Cealie is still trying to avoid) could be opening another Cajun Delights in this part of Tennessee could he?

She is torn between heading off for her vacation and getting to the hills of Tennessee. Ultimately, she knows where she is supposed to go. She is surprised by what she finds there, once she shows up. Cealie fears that someone she knows could be implicated and more people could be attacked.

Fans felt that the novel brought back memories of their own experiences with their cousins. Some felt that Shaw was able to surprise them with who the killer was. Readers found that this book was a treat to read, and that Cealie was a great character to get to know. Some could not read the book fast enough, and hope that they have many more of these books to look forward to.

“Deadly Reunion” is the third novel in the “Cealie Gunther Mystery” series and was released in the year 2011. Widowed Cealie Gunther is invited to her next high school reunion; she will see friends that she has not seen in many years. It will be on a cruise ship that is headed for Alaska, the state that her son lives in. This will allow her to visit him and help an old friend of hers that has a major problem.

She will also get sufficient time away from Gil to figure out their future together. The cruise is simply a disaster, right from the get go. People start dying, and Gil turns up. She is not sure, but he might be stalking her. Feisty Cealie decides that she will figure things out before there is another victim. Did she really know her old friends at all? Or did her friends hide things from her?

Fans of the novel were surprised by who the killer was, yet again. Cealie was super feisty and not at all willing to just sit on the sidelines, but actually do something about the crimes being committed. The book has a fast pace and everything else that some like in a cozy mystery novel. You will get to know the characters and care about them; you will even want more, once the novel has ended.

Book Series In Order » Authors » June Shaw

Leave a Reply