Book Notification

Kaitlyn Davis Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Midnight Fire Books

Publication Order of A Dance of Dragons Books

The Golden Cage (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow Soul (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silver Key (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spirit Heir (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bronze Knight (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Phoenix Born (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Iron Rider (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Leena's Story (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Once Upon a Curse Books

Gathering Frost (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Withering Rose (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chasing Midnight (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Parting Worlds (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Granting Wishes (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Midnight Ice Books

Publication Order of The Raven and the Dove Books

The Princess and The Pawn (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Raven and the Dove (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunter and the Mage (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon and the Queen (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Godborn and the King (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Arcane Forest Anthology(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kaitlyn Davis is an American author that writes adult fantasy novels. Kaitlyn is a pretty common name in the paranormal genre, though some people might know her for the romance novels she has written under the ‘Kay Marie’ pseudonym.


Kaitlyn Davis has always been an avid reader. She has been telling stories for as long as she could write. In fact, Kaitlyn believes that the first thing she did with the first crayon she ever picked up was to write a story.

There was a desire in Kaitlyn Davis to not only write stories but to also share them with the world. As she grew up, however, the rigors of life grounded her and she seemed to give up on her publishing dreams even before she had given them much thought.

Kaitlyn was a very shy and quiet girl. By the time she was in her teens, Kaitlyn was spending most of her time by herself, burying her head in a book, showing little interest in hanging out with friends.

Even at that young age, the author knew she loved the paranormal genre. She was especially enamored by vampires. Kaitlyn frequently cites ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’ as one of her earliest inspirations.

The love story between Buffy and Angel moved her, and she found that she had a burning desire to produce something similar, if not better. Though, Kaitlyn Davis did not set out to garner a reputation for her vampire books.

It all began when she joined Johns Hopkins University. The author was studying to get a Bachelor’s Degree in Writing Seminars, and she eventually graduated with her B.A. The idea for ‘Ignite’, the author’s first novel, came to Kaitlyn during her days at the University.

Kaitlyn was at the beach one day, basking in the sun when she thought of how cool it would be to have characters that could channel the heat and the light of the sun to manifest awesome powers. What began as a simple consideration quickly blossomed into a more complicated concept with intriguing characters and a plot.

Kaitlyn did not set out to make her characters vampires. But it wasn’t long before her love for them led her to pepper the creatures into her books, creating the ‘Midnight Fire’ series that people know today.

Getting her first book off the ground was a bit of a chore for Kaitlyn Davis. Sure, she had the ideas all but developed, and she even wrote a few chapters. But then she entered her senior year at the University and her class schedule grew so hectic that Kaitlyn did not have the time to work on her book.

The author did not dwell on the issue, instead simply choosing to give all her attention to her Johns Hopkins course. Any other author might have taken that as an excuse to abandon their writing dreams.

But Kaitlyn wasn’t nearly as lazy. And the moment she finished her studies and graduated, Kaitlyn Davies immediately went back to her manuscript and completed the story she wanted to tell.

Kaitlyn has since garnered a decent following for her books. Kaitlyn writes adult fantasy. Her books feature strong female characters with amazing powers that must undertake journeys to save their lives and the lives of those they love from impending disaster.

Kaitlyn has a thing for strong female characters and she has earned quite a few criticisms as a result. So many of Kaitlyn’s female protagonists have been accused of being so strong and so competent in their abilities that they minimize the stakes of their respective stories; this, in turn, negatively impacts the quality of the books.

Kaitlyn’s books, though adult in nature, tend to feature very typical young adult tropes chief amongst which are all the love triangles. Kaitlyn’s heroines are always getting entangled with more than one boy, and that forces the author to dedicate a considerable portion of her books to the solving of her heroine’s romantic issues.

Kailtyn’s books, it is worth noting, are self-published. Kaitlyn often emphasizes the important place Amanda Hocking has in her life. The author pretty much influenced Kaitlyn’s journey as an aspiring writer. And as the one person that seemingly brought the self-publishing field into being, Kaitlyn doesn’t believe anyone would have ever read her books if Hocking hadn’t created a platform for her to use to get her work out to the masses.

Kaitlyn admits that self-publishing is hard. It has taken her years of hard work to build up a decent following. And even then, Kaitlyn has had to work really hard to maintain her readers’ interest in her work.

Kaitlyn’s engagement with the self-publishing arena is a testament to her stubbornness. More than reading and writing on a daily basis, Kaitlyn is always encouraging aspiring authors to believe in their work. That is the only way they can hope to survive in light of harsh criticisms from publishers and agents.

Kaitlyn’s belief in her work was so strong that when it began to look like she wouldn’t get her books out through traditional publishing channels, she decided to get the book published on her own. Kaitlyn has published many more books since ‘Ignite’ in 2011. The rigors of writing, editing and marketing haven’t deterred her spirit.


Kira Dawson didn’t think much of her move to South Carolina outside of the usual anxieties. But then she met Luke. And while the blond goofball eventually became her best friend, it was Tristan that sent her heart racing.

As she begins to settle in South Carolina, Kira cannot help but wonder what Luke and Tristan could be hiding from her. Further prodding eventually reveals to Kira the truth of Tristan’s blood lust.

An even bigger revelation is Kira’s own mystical strength. The discovery thrusts Kira into a dangerous world that sees her fight to stay alive even as she strives to choose between two boys.


Kira’s life changed forever when she stumbled upon her mystical powers and the secrets her friends Luke and Tristan were hiding. With the eclipse firmly behind her, Kira makes it her mission to learn about her heritage and, in particular, her parents.

Tristan and Luke are not making things easy. They are each determined to win her heart. But as she begins to circle the truth, Kira realizes that she might have bigger things to worry about.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kaitlyn Davis

Leave a Reply