Book Notification

Kara West/ Leeza Hernandez Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mia Mayhem Books

Mia Mayhem Is a Superhero! (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem Learns to Fly! (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem vs. the Super Bully (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem Breaks Down Walls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem Stops Time! (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem vs. the Mighty Robot (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem Gets X-Ray Specs (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem Steals the Show! (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem and the Super Family Field Day (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem and the Super Switcheroo (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem Rides the Waves (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem and the Cat Burglar (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mia Mayhem and the Wild Garden (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Kara West would like to be a superhero, mainly so she can ask squirrels what it is that makes them so nervous. She lives in the city of Chicago with her cats, who spend more time sleeping and less time causing any trouble.

Kara writes the “Mia Mayhem” series of chapter books, the first of which “Mia Mayhem is a Superhero”, was released in the year 2018. The books are aimed at kids grades one through three, and for those that are making the transition from picture books to chapter books.

The series is illustrated by Leeza Hernandez, who is an English illustrator, designer and she occasionally likes to write. She is an award winning author that comes from the south of England, but since the year 1999, has lived in the state of New Jersey.

Since the nineties, she designed newspapers and magazines, with illustrating books for youngsters since the beginning of the 2000s. She also works as one of the art directors at a local magazine. She has also added in art licensing into what she can do, making up various patterns for surface design. Leeza sells her cat artwork to cat lovers at Cat Conventions.

Part of Leeza’s jam is playing around with pen and ink, sewing, digital collage, noodling around in her studio making her art, printmaking, and painting. During any spare time, she creatively plays with new book ideas in her art studio, too. Giving her all kinds of inspiration are her cats, her family, cheese, and travel; these are the things in her life that give her all the sauce behind the awesome.

“Mia Mayhem is a Superhero” is the first novel in the “Mia Mayhem” series, which was released in the year 2018. Mia Macarooney is just a regular eight year old girl that finds out she is A SUPERHERO. Her life goes from ordinary to totally super after she is invited to attend an after school Program for In-Training Superheroes also known as THE PITS. The odd thing is, in a weird destiny kind of way, all of this news, in some way, feels totally right.

All her life, Mia believed she was just a super klutz, but it winds up being that she is just SUPER. So now, it is up to her to keep her secret identity and balance her regular daily life. All while she learns to be the world’s newest superhero.

This book is both charming and silly and there is a cute factor to the book, too. Mia is a character that is easy to relate to and she inspires due to her self-confidence always winning out over her self-doubt. This is sure to be a hit with any new reader of chapter books, as the story is a lot of fun and kids of any age are going to love seeing a superhero learn to control her power and take new challenges on.

“Mia Mayhem Learns to Fly” is the second novel in the “Mia Mayhem” series, which was released in the year 2018. Mia is placed in a beginner’s flying class with other kindergartners, she has a tough time and is just ready to give up on it. Luckily, with help from Eddie, her best friend, and the super school’s most talented flier, Mia finally is able to learn how to get off of the ground.

Parents enjoyed reading this along with their kids, and it was a quick read. The fun plot lines help new readers while they read more about Mia while she goes on her adventures. The spread out text helps readers understand better what the words are.

“Mia Mayhem vs. the Super Bully” is the third novel in the “Mia Mayhem” series, which was released in the year 2019. A super annoying villain (who is really another superhero) shows up at THE PITS and says that Mia does not belong, she does not know what she should do. Is she going to be able to stand her ground as she goes up against the Super Bully?

These are great books to introduce younger readers to the new books, as they help readers build confidence while making the switch to chapter books. They also are just very enjoyable stories and easy to read.

“Mia Mayhem Breaks Down Walls” is the fourth novel in the “Mia Mayhem” series, which was released in the year 2019. Mia is determined to be the very best in her strength-training class, which would allow her to learn how to climb super tall buildings and lift cars. When her own super strength gets the best of her, she winds up causing total mayhem. Is Mia going to be able to rebuild the walls that she broke down, one-by-one?

Readers of any kind enjoy reading these books, and some parents notice their kids do more superhero playing after they found these books. These are a huge hit around kids’ bedtime, parents notice. They even do a stellar job of being inclusive.

“Mia Mayhem Stops Time!” is the fifth novel in the “Mia Mayhem” series, which was released in the year 2019. When Mia learned she had superpowers, there was an ability that came naturally to her: the ability to freeze both time as well as people. She finally learns about the secret to controlling this power, and gets excited about putting her new skills to the test. She winds up freezing the entire town by accident, is she going to be able to find a way to make the clock begin ticking again?

“Mia Mayhem vs. the Mighty Robot” is the sixth novel in the “Mia Mayhem” series, which was released in the year 2019. Mia’s best buddy, Eddie, has built an incredible robot that is supposed to be one mighty cleaning machine. At first, things run smooth while the robot helps around the house and at the regular school. Things go quickly haywire when Mia makes the robot grow three times its normal size by accident. Does Mia actually have what it takes to go up against this big, mighty robot?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kara West/ Leeza Hernandez

Leave a Reply