Nick Petrie Series

Karen Baugh Menuhin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Heathcliff Lennox Books

Murder at Melrose Court (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Black Cat Murders (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Curse of Braeburn Castle (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death in Damascus (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Monks Hood Murders (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Tomb of the Chatelaine (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Mystery of Montague Morgan (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Birdcage Murders (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Wreath of Red Roses (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Murder at Ashton Steeple (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Author Karen Baugh Menuhin has been an itinerant traveler her entire life. She grew up in the military, usually on RAF Bases but preferring to be in the countryside when possible.

At the age of sixty, she decided to write. She doesn’t know why, however, the stories just came pouring right out of her, along with her characters. Stalwart butlers, machinating Countesses, eccentric Uncles, Fogg the dog, idiosyncratic servants, and the hapless Major Heathcliff Lennox. An entire world built itself on the page, she just happened to follow along.

She lives and writes in the Cotswolds with Krov, her dear husband, who helps and inspires her in all of her efforts. Krov is a professional diver, ex-US special forces soldier, an award-winning documentary filmmaker, a professional writer, and the oldest son of Yehudi Menuhin (a violinist).

She has two sons: Sam Baugh and Jonathan and five grandchildren: Joshua, Isabella-Rose, Hugo, Scarlett, and Charlie.

Karen loves Traditional Detectives, the 1920’s, Downton Abbey, and Cozy Crime. Along with her cat, her dog, and her family.

She writes the “Heathcliff Lennox” series, the first of which, called “Murder at Melrose Court”, was released in the year 2018. The books are from the genres of mystery, crime, and historical fiction.

“Murder at Melrose Court” is the first novel in the “Heathcliff Lennox” series and was released in the year 2018. The year is 1920, and Christmas is coming. Major Lennox discovers a corpse on his doorstep, but why his doorstep? Could it have something to do with the Countess? Was it about the ruby necklace?

Lennox has to go to Melrose Court, which is home to Lord Melrose, his uncle, in order to uncover the mystery. Then murders start and it begins snowing and all of a sudden things get very complicated.

Major Heathcliff Lennox, who stands six foot three inches tall, is an ex-World War One pilot with unruly dark blond hair. He is about thirty years old and was named after the hero of “Wuthering Heights” by his romantically minded mom, much to his great annoyance.

Readers enjoyed this novel for its excellent pace, charmingly distinctive characters, and peppered throughout with huge quantities of humor. This one is sure to keep your attention from start to finish, and makes for a strong Agatha Christie atmosphered read. Karen includes some interesting side stories about the life of British aristocracy’s staff in the 1900s.

“The Black Cat Murders” is the second novel in the “Heathcliff Lennox” series and was released in the year 2019. Who murdered Sir Crispin Gibbons? One wedding invite and news which could be murder, takes Lennox to The Earl of Bloxford’s country estate. He quickly finds himself in a world of forgeries, purloined artworks, and one priceless Bloxford Beauty. Who exactly are the Bloxford Beauties? Why are they the focal point that death is revolving around?

Lennox has to confront some unscrupulous dealers and artists, and life-long friends to finally figure out a plot so complicated that even his longtime adversary Chief Inspector Swift from Scotland Yard is confounded.

Once more, Karen delivers a well plotted and well thought out mystery with a bit of humor and some interesting characters. Both the settings and the characters are magnificently crafted, and the era of the twenties is brought to life with its use of accents and language, as well as the social structure. Fans enjoy reading about Lennox and Mr Fogg, and would like to visit this world she has created.

“The Curse of Braeburn Castle” is the third novel in the “Heathcliff Lennox” series and was released in the year 2019. One centuries-old skeleton is found in a lonely Scottish Castle. It is wearing a crown, and hides a curse. Lennox’s detective buddy, Swift, now lives in Braeburn Castle and he is the one that uncovered this skeleton.

While ghosts are heard and some treasure-seekers show up, the killings begin. Lennox has to go to Braeburn and investigate while Halloween draws ever nearer.

Lennox is quite a delightful character, the coziness of the books makes for a satisfying and lovely read, the writing is outstanding, and the tone is quite humorous. Lennox gets himself into some scrapes that made some readers laugh out loud many times. This book has a bit of everything; romance, intrigue, murders, and mystery. Karen’s writing stays true to the style of the twenties, yet is still easy to read.

“Death in Damascus” is the fourth novel in the “Heathcliff Lennox” series and was released in the year 2020. There are accusations of attempted murder flying around and a damsel in distress. However, it isn’t in the comfortable confines of the English countryside, it is in the remote city of Damascus.

Lennox has to go and investigate, however he isn’t too keen on exotic locations, and his former retainer, Greggs is quite averse to the mere idea. Nevertheless, ex-Chief Inspector Swift convinces them, and they arrive in the ancient city to find a spy, a movie crew, and a pair of mysterious ladies.

No one appears to be telling the truth, as they all have their secrets, and there is one secret especially that has drawn all of them like bees to the honeypot. What could it be though? Then there is murder, and mysteries coming from the ancient past, and one handsome Sheik that remains in the shadows.

Heathcliff Lennox and Swift have to investigate and use every bit of their own ingenuity to unravel the enigma that is hidden deep under the dusty streets of ancient Damascus.

This is a fast paced mystery that was well written, with an ending that is tough to see coming. Each of the characters are fantastic and fans had a tough time setting the book down, it was that compelling for them. Readers have enjoyed seeing Lennox grow both as a character and as an investigator, and he, along with Greggs and Swift are some interesting characters. This is another wonderful mystery novel that is just as good as the previous books and keeps you wondering who the killer is until Lennox cleverly exposes him.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Karen Baugh Menuhin

4 Responses to “Karen Baugh Menuhin”

  1. KARINA NIGIDO: 5 months ago


  2. barbara crowe: 9 months ago

    i can not wait for bird cage murders in audible to come great books x

  3. Cyndi Lussier: 12 months ago

    Love the series. Only book series that my husband is enthusiastic about. but the last two books are not on audible. Any idea when they will be available in the format?

    Thank you

  4. Chris: 1 year ago

    When will the latest novel (2021) be available as an audible? With the same amazing reader who has done all the others? He is by far the absolute best narrator/reader I have ever listened to . . .I absolutely love Heathcliff and all his capers; listening is so much fun!!
    Please advise when it will be available…
    Thank you! Chris from the USA


Leave a Reply