Book Notification

Karen Marie Moning Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Highlander Books

Beyond the Highland Mist (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Tame a Highland Warrior (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highlander's Touch (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kiss of the Highlander (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Highlander (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Immortal Highlander (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spell of the Highlander (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Into the Dreaming (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of MacKayla Lane/Fever Books

with DavidLawrence

Publication Order of The Watch Hill Books

The House at Watch Hill (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

with DavidLawrence
Fever Moon (With: DavidLawrence) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

An American author of paranormal and urban fantasy, Karen Marie Moning has been writing romance novels for some time now. Having reached the top of the ‘New York Times’ best-seller list on multiple occasion, she’s managed to gain a vast and varied audience. Recognized both nationally and internationally, she’s an author that shows no signs of stopping any time soon.

Early and Personal Life

Born on the 1st of November, 1964, in Cincinnati, Ohio, Karen Marie Moning was to embark on a career as one of Americas most prestigious romance authors. The daughter of Anthony and Janet, she was to draw upon her surrounding environment for much of adult career. Later on she was to attend university, building upon her inspiration even further. Graduating from Purdue University, she gained a Bachelor’s degree in the subjects of both science and law, something which she’d later rely on when writing. She further established her voice by taking inspiration from the environment around her, something which she gained from her early working career as well. Her experiences as a bartender, insurance specialist and computer consultant would all help to provide a grounding in her work that would act as the foundation for much of her material later on.

With a variety of interests, she has managed to shape and inform her career over the years, as she’s well known for placing mythology within her work. This is specifically the case for Celtic mythology that has helped inform a large part of her working career. Continuing to write from her home in Cincinnati, she will carry on building her oeuvre from now into the foreseeable future.

Writing Career

Karen Marie Moning has gone through a variety of jobs in the past, all of which has helped to progress her towards the author that she is today. With her degree and her education she went out into the working world to develop her voice as her readers know it today. This has been a gradual progression, building one of the most unique styles to date, with a universal audience stretching worldwide.

With a strong interest in writing from the outset, she has always been writing wherever she’s been and whatever station she’s had in life. Working as a bartender, insurance specialist and computer consultant, she’s always still managed to continue writing throughout, whatever else may be happening. Finally getting published with her Highlander series, as the first book ‘Beyond the Highland Mist’ was brought out in 1999, she eventually got the recognition she was looking for. This series has charted eight novels in total so far and counting. Followed up with her ‘Fever’ series beginning with ‘Darkfever’ in 2006, this series has managed five entries so far. Running throughout these novels is Moning’s keen interest in Scottish culture and Celtic mythology, which has been a strong influence on her work with both their traditions and folklore. Continuing to writer urban fantasy, she has helped to progress the genre in a massive way and is a contribution that’s left a legacy behind within the industry. With many more titles set to come out, she will continue expanding upon this legacy as she shows no signs of stopping any time soon.

Beyond the Highland Mist

Beginning the highlander set of books from Moning, this was also to be her first book to be published, thus introducing her to the literary world. Originally brought out in 1999 on the 9th of March, it would establish much of the folklore and setting that was going to progress the series forwards. It also helped set-up the characters that were going to be running throughout the series of books as well.

Known to many throughout the ancient kingdom simply as Hawk, he was respected as he was feared, something which would potentially be his downfall. Impervious to the charms of any woman, he was a mysterious figure who would fend for himself struggling against the world and all that was in it. That is until Adrienne de Simone is brought from modern day Seattle into his medieval realm by a most vengeful fairy. Throwing the warrior’s world into chaos, he has to battle with these new feeling besetting him. Soon she is pressured into marriage with him, something she is finding difficult to contend with as she is having trouble adjusting to the situation at hand. Not of this world or this time will do that to some people, but soon she finds that she is drawn to him and his allure like many other women before her as she begins to fight her own passion building inside. Hawk is determined to make her his at all costs and she’s finding it more and more difficult to resist as time goes on. Will she be able to hold off his charms or will she succumb to them as time goes on? Can she ever make it back to her own time, or is she stuck there without any escape? What will become them both as they head beyond the highland mist?


The first of the ‘Fever’ series of novels and the next franchise following on, this collection of books from Karen Marie Moning takes a slightly different angle to what came before. Initially published on the 1st of October, 2006, this was to be the start of a fantasy romance series that continued for many entries to come. With a certain degree of sensuality, it helps establish both the tone and the characters that were to follow.

Starting with MacKayla Lane, it sees this particular protagonist embarking on a life of extraordinary consequences. After going to Ireland to find out the truth behind her sister’s death, she hopes to shed light on what really happened to her during the final moments of her life. She soon finds herself up against an evil that she could never have imagined, as it comes face-to-face with her threatening her very existence. That’s when she discovers she has a particular talent which allows her to view the world beyond and into a land known as Fae. Will she be able to find the killer before it’s too late? What do her talents entail? Can she find out the truth behind the darkfever?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Karen Marie Moning

One Response to “Karen Marie Moning”

  1. Charlotte Huffman: 8 months ago

    Love your fever bookd


Leave a Reply