Book Notification

Karen Miller / K.E. Mills Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rogue Agent Books

The Accidental Sorcerer (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Witches Incorporated (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wizard Squared (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wizard Undercover (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Karen Miller is a renowned Australian author of science fiction, fantasy, and humor stories. She has written several widely popular novel series in her career, including the Godspeaker series, Tarnished Crown series, FIshermen’s Children series, and the Kingmaker, Kingbreaker series. Additionally, Miller has contributed to a few series of other authors. Besides writing under her original name, she uses the pen name of K.E. Mills to write some of her books. Author Miller was born in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. She migrated to Australia with her parents at the age of two. Her father is an Australian, while her mother is an English national. Miller says that she has always loved to live in Sydney. Following her graduation from the Institute of Technology with a bachelor’s degree in Communications, she went on to live in England for three years. Miller’s days in England were spent with excitement. She was employed there in a health center.

Miller was sacked from this job for not agreeing to do the EST ritual like others. Later, she joined DHL London as a customer services officer. She also worked in the field of life insurance, selling schemes to people. When nothing else seemed right, Miller headed off to work for her lifelong dream, that is, dealing with horses professionally. And eventually, she returned home after spending eighteen grueling months. Since then, Miller has worked in the customer service department of insurance & telecommunications industries, served as a training officer, educational publishing production assistant, PR officer in the local government body, etc. She even taught Business Communication and English at TAFE and has worked as a supervisor and the owner of a fantasy/mystery/science fiction bookshop.

In between, Miller also managed to obtain a master’s degree from Macquarie University in Children’s Literature. Miller used to own horses and would spend too much money and time breeding, showing, judging, and training them. But then, she had to give them away and felt like a major part of her life ended. When Miller is not busy writing novels, she can be found involved in her local theater group as a director, actor, stage manager, prompt, and publicity officer. She considers herself a story junkie and has interests in Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica, Firefly, Angel, Stargate, X-Men, The Professionals, West Wing, Homicide Guy, Due South, and many other shows. Also, Miller loves music a lot.

During her writing sessions, she likes to listen to film soundtracks primarily as they tend to evoke her emotional responses. This way, she finds it easy to access emotion at the time of writing tough scenes. And, a little bit of music is considered good in everything. Some of her favorite movie composers include Alan Silvestri, John Williams, James Horner, and Hans Zimmer. The singers she likes the most include Russell Watson, Simon & Garfunkel, Steeleye Span, Meatloaf, Queen, Mike Oldfield, Sarah McLachlan, etc. Miller thinks that she is gifted with over imagination and it helps her in many interesting ways. She loves being in the company of pet animals and has two cats and three dogs at her home. The things that she does not like include smoking, drinking, or exercising. Miller keeps a tab on her eating habits to stay fit and healthy.

A popular novel series written by author Karen Miller is known as Kingmaker, Kingbreaker series. It is comprised of three books in total released between 2005 and 2011. Miller has created the main characters in this series in the form of Asher, Prince Gar, Morgan, Barl, and several others. The debut book of this series is entitled ‘The Innocent Mage’. It was released by the Orbit publication in 2005. The book opens by mentioning that using magic unlawfully in the Lur kingdom results in death. Lur has been ruled by the Doranen for centuries with magic after they first arrived as refugees. In their home kingdom, a powerful mage had begun a terrible war, so they had to find desperate means to escape. In order to ensure the safety of Lur, its native inhabitants, Olken, agreed upon not using their magic. Subsequently, they passed a law forbidding magic and anyone found using it shall be executed.

Asher moved out of his village to find work. He acquires employment in the royal stables and soon becomes a good friend of Prince Gar. Because of his closeness to the prince, Asher gets more power and money than he ever dreamed. Asher’s activities have been closely watched by The Circle, a team dedicated to preserving Olken magic and use it when the mage comes to attack Lur again. He has no idea where his life is headed and when the day finally arrives, he realizes that his life has taken an unexpected new turn.

Another exciting installment of the series is known as ‘A Blight of Mages’. It was also published by Orbit Books in 2011. This novel features the primary characters in the roles of Morgan, Barl, and a few others. Initially, Barl is introduced as an impulsive and young girl. She is gifted with a special power that keeps calling her from within. However, her city has a rule that such powers can only be used by those with noble blood or the ones having the right links are allowed to learn how to hone the power. Barl shows desperation to learn, but the eagerness to do the forbidden results in her going astray. She faces a strict ban from learning and using the mystic arts. The key to Barl’s education is held in Morgan’s hand.

As a member of the Mage Council, he tries to maintain the balance of status, preserve the bloodlines of the mage, and pursue the scholarly experiments. Morgan knows very well that Barl belongs to low status yet he finds himself intrigued by her special gift. He believes that her power can be used to create extraordinary incantations and decides to get her on board to make his plan successful. Barl’s power and Morgan’s ambition for a perfect combination. But, Barl does not seem to understand the sinister plans of Morgan. He appears to be filled with darkness in his greed to acquire Barl’s power. And when Barl finally realizes what Morgan is really up to, she denies being a part of his plan and also looks to destroy his sinister ambition.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Karen Miller / K.E. Mills

4 Responses to “Karen Miller / K.E. Mills”

  1. Bob: 2 years ago

    Ms. Miller,

    I just discovered you…wanting to find a good, meaty series of books in the fantasy genre. . LOVE your writing style and ease of read.

    Question: I really want to enjoy the Kingmaker series, so….should I actually read “Blight” before “Innocent”….even though it was released after “Awakened”? Will I enjoy the story more?

    I just started The Innocent Mage and blew through the first 150 pages…(loving the set-up) when Amazon delivered “Blight”. So I have to ask….should I stop now and read “Blight”.

    Bob Bischoff

  2. Joyce: 2 years ago

    Hurry please with Prince of Glass! I’m losing sleep…Joyce

  3. Mary Sue KALISZEWSKI: 3 years ago

    Can you tell me if The Prince of Glass, second book in The Tarnished Crown Series was actually published. Your website says it was in 2020 but I can’t find a copy on line anywhere and no one shows any cover art for the book. If it hasn’t been published yet, do you know when it will be? Thanks. -msk

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      It doesn’t look like it was. I have researched it and can’t seem to find any reason as to why but I’ve removed it from the listing above for now. Thanks.


Leave a Reply