Book Notification

Karl Pilkington Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The World of Karl Pilkington (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Happyslapped by a Jellyfish (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Karlology: What I've Learnt So Far... (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Idiot Abroad (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Further Adventures of An Idiot Abroad (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moaning of Life (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
More Moaning (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Karl Pilkington

An English comedian, producer, and author, Karl Pilkington is well-known for his idiosyncratic and often humorous perspective on modern life. First heard by many on XFM and in the podcast ‘The Ricky Gervais Show’ alongside fellow comedians Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant, he would fast become a household name for many. Typically providing his unique insights in a deadpan tone, he would provide a funny and entertaining look at modern British life. His outlook would prove to be a hit with many listeners around the world, with a sense-of-humor that never saw him taking himself too seriously.

Presenting as well as producing, he has starred in a number of travel programmes for Sky, along with acting in shows and sitcoms. This includes travel-shows such as ‘An Idiot Abroad,’ whereby he’d travel across the world, with Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant providing him with various different tasks on his journey. Becoming a regular fixture for many, he would go on to star in his follow-up travel programme ‘The Moaning of Life,’ once again taking him to various destinations worldwide. Alongside this he was also known for acting, providing a regular guest appearance in the show ‘Derek,’ and in his own sitcom which he also wrote called ‘Sick of It.’

Since then he has also gone on to write a number of books, many of which capture the essence of his comedy, bringing it to readers from around the world. Whether it’s humorous verses based on his observations, or light-hearted quips and musings, there’s always something that’s sure to entertain the reader. He’s also provided travel diaries and journals to accompany his shows, providing further insights into his various journeys abroad. He continues to work and provide voice-overs, with his worldwide following of fans still growing both nationally and internationally to this very day.

Early and Personal Life

Born on the 23rd of September 1972, Karl Pilkington was raised in Sale, Greater Manchester, in England, growing up in the Racecourse Estate there. He had a close relationship with his parents, and would also speak about his elder brother and sister, as they would all come to shape many of the stories he’d later relate. Attending Ashton-on-Mersey School, he wasn’t too keen on school itself, instead looking to increase his own entrepreneurial activities, selling copies of video-games to his classmates.

At the age of fifteen he would drop out of school in order to take part in a Youth Training Scheme, working as a printer for disks and cassettes. This would then lead to him later moving to London whereby he would work as a producer for the radio station XFM, and it was here he would meet Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant. Making appearances on The Ricky Gervais show where he began as a producer, he would soon become a regular fixture, leading to the popular podcasts and animated television show for HBO. Currently living in Sandbanks, Dorset, in the UK with his partner Suzanne, he’s a flexitarian and he supports the football team Manchester United.

Writing Career

One of the first books that Karl would write was titled ‘The World of Karl Pilkington,’ and it would come out in 2006. It would contain transcripts from ‘The Ricky Gervais Show,’ along with illustrations and exclusive new material from Karl himself. Just one year later in 2007 he would go on to publish the book ‘Happyslapped by a Jellyfish,’ which would also contain various poems, musings, and funny stories from Karl’s own life. This book would prove to be hugely popular, providing a real insight into his unique mindset and perspective on the world.

Other books he would publish were Karlology, along with various different travel memoirs to accompany his shows such as ‘An Idiot Abroad’ and ‘The Moaning of Life.’ His books would become a firm fixture on the bookshelves of many, as well being talked about in the podcasts with Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant. Standing the test of time, they continue to find readers from all over, offering plenty of humor, warmth, and engaging entertainment.

Happyslapped by a Jellyfish

First brought out in 2007, this book would initially come out through the ‘Dorling Kindersley’ publishing imprint. Combining comedy, travel, autobiography, and poetry, it’s a straightforward title straight from the mind of Karl Pilkington. Providing a stand-alone book, it would also offer some history on the man himself, giving fans further insight into his life.

Taking a journey with the many Karl Pilkington himself, this sees him packing his suitcases for trips abroad, giving his observations and musings along the way. Offering plenty of pithy anecdotes and entertaining insights, he looks at everything from the general length of Toblerones, to sunbathing in T-Shirts. These everyday perspectives provide the book with a real sense of personality that ensures it really stands out from the rest.

Throughout the book there are also numerous illustrations and humorous asides that instantly grab the reader, making it easy to read and follow. Providing the ideal casual summer read, there’s many stories from Karl’s own upbringing, as he offers stories from his own childhood. All of this offers a more complete picture of him as a person, offering both fans of his podcast and newcomers alike a hugely entertaining read.


Initially published by the DK publishing imprint, this would originally arrive in 2009 on the 1st of October to a great deal of acclaim. Offering another look into the mind of Karl Pilkington, it would also be a non-fiction book that would instantly engage readers from far and wide. Combining facts and stories from Karl, there’d be plenty of variety included within the book, making for an engaging and compelling read.

Collecting together tidbits of education and information Karl has learned over the years, this books seeks impart what he’s learnt so far. With contributions from various different celebrities and experts as well, he provides an engaging and informative insight into numerous different subjects. Not only that, but it’s also easy to read once again, with lots of wit and humor throughout, making this another casual read for fans and newcomers alike.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Karl Pilkington

Leave a Reply