Book Notification

Kat Rosenfield Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Amelia Anne Is Dead and Gone (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inland (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
No One Will Miss Her (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Must Remember This (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kat Rosenfield
Kat Rosenfield is a freelance writer and a young adult author. She grew up in Coxsackie, New York and went to Drew University.

She is a former MTV News reporter, and her work as a pop culture and political writer has appeared in Playboy, US Weekly, TV Guide, Unherd, Entertainment Weekly, Reason, Vulture, and Wired.

“No One Will Miss Her” was nominated for an Edgar Allen Poe Award for Best Novel.

Kat originally got the idea for “Inland” because she didn’t want to write a fantasy, but especially not a mermaid fantasy. This was all happening just a couple years ago, when everybody was talking about mermaid, as they were set to be the next big thing in YA fiction, after sparkly vampires. And every time she heard about it, she was just not at all interested.

Then at the same time, she found herself pondering if there was a way that she could make this idea at all interesting. If somebody put a gun to her head and told her to write about mermaids, could she then figure out a way to tell that story her own way? eventually, that idea started taking shape of the sea as a character in and of itself, and of what might it be like to believe that you were a part of it somehow. And telling this story in a real world setting, where we naturally assume that anybody who believes in this kind of thing is crazy. All of a sudden there was this really sinister and creepy story she wanted desperately to write.

“Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2012. An arresting un-coming-of-age tale, brought to readers from a breathtaking talent.

Becca has forever longed to break free from her tiny, backwater hometown. However an unidentified dead girl’s discovery on the side of a dirt road sends the entire town, and Becca herself, into a tailspin. Unable to make sense of any of the violence of the outside world that is creeping into her own backyard, she finds herself merely retreating inward, paralyzed from moving forward for the very first time in her life.

Brief chapters detailing Amelia Anne Richardson’s last days are intercut with Becca’s own summer while the parallel tales of two young ladies struggle with relationships and self-identity on the edge twist the reader ever closer to the truth behind her death.

This is fantastic and arresting mystery without any easy answers in it. The writing is rather entrancing, with this rhythmic and slow cadence to it that captures a moody summer violence which both of the girls’ experience. It’s not an easy read or your typical page turning mystery, but you still find yourself being fascinated by the mystery and language used, as well as the mystery of what happens to Becca and Amelia Anne, whose real fates appear elusive even by the conclusion of the novel.

“Inland” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2014. There was a shadow in the water. When it moved underneath their boat, the ocean opened up its yawning blue mouth and swallowed her mom whole.

Callie Morgan and her dad spent nine years suffocating in the arid expanses of the Midwest, a far cry from where her mom drowned. They’re now returning to the coast. Miraculously, she can breathe a whole lot easier. No more clawing, sudden attacks followed by those weeklong hospital stays.

However something is calling to her from the river behind their house and from the ocean located miles away. Right when her life begins to feel as though its her own, and the possibility for romance has started blossoming, the intoxicating pull of the dark water starts seeping into her mind, filling her up with doubt and revealing some family secrets. Could it be madness, or is there really a voice, one that beckons her to come out to sea? To answer this call of the dark waves, and to come back home.

Kat’s writing is long and lyrical and windy while Callie is happy, and then is abrupt, short, and stunted when she is unable to breathe. It is beautiful writing in the way that it can make you smell the salty air, feel Callie’s total isolation, and feel the Florida sun. Kat delivers a novel that is poetic and lush without ever getting annoyingly overwritten. Readers felt this was like a spiritual experience, with writing that is absolutely incredibly, and it is such mysterious, dark, creepy, funny, and emotional to behold. And includes a story that is so much more than its plot.

“No One Will Miss Her” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2021. A girl from a hardscrabble small town meets this gorgeous Instagram influencer from the big city, with a murderous twist which is going to shock even the savviest of readers.

One beautiful October morning in rural Maine, this state police homicide investigator pulls into the hard-luck town of Copper Falls. The town pariah Lizzie Oullette is dead, the local junkyard’s burning, and Dwayne, Lizzie’s husband, is nowhere to be found. While scandal ripples through the community, Detective Ian Bird’s inquiries unexpectedly take him away from the small town in Maine off to this swank city townhouse several hours to the south. A blonde and fabulous social media influencer and a wife of a disgraced billionaire, named Adrienne Richards, was renting Lizzie’s small lake house as a getaway out in the country. Even though Copper Falls is anything but a resort town.

While Adrienne’s connection to this case becomes clearer, so does her connection with Lizzie, who narrates the tale from beyond the grave. Each of the women is desperately lonely in their own way, and they attempt to navigate a relationship which cuts across class boundaries: complex, transactional, and lastly, lethal. This is a tale of cunning, privilege, and identity, while two devious women from opposite worlds learn the dangers of coveting somebody else’s life. This is a “Gone Girl” for the gig economy.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kat Rosenfield

Leave a Reply