Book Notification

Kate Alice Marshall Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Secrets Of Eden Eld Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I Am Still Alive (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rules for Vanishing (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Last Echoes (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
These Fleeting Shadows (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Lies in the Woods (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Narrow (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extra Normal (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
No One Can Know (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Behind the Mask: A Superhero Anthology(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath Ceaseless Skies Issue #261(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kate Alice Marshall is a mind-blowing American writer of young adult, middle grade, science fiction, fantasy, and fiction novels. She is particularly famous for writing the standalone novels, I Am Still Alive and Rules for Vanishing. The fantasy and science fiction stories written by Marshall have appeared in various literary magazines and journals, including Crossed Genres, Beneath Ceaseless Skies, and many others. Marshall uses the pen name of Kathleen Kimmel to write historical romance stories. In addition to her writing commitments, she contributes to the video game industry by working as an occasional designer and dedicated writer. Marshall says that her love for books is evident in every aspect of her professional career. She serves as a cover designer and development editor for several fellow authors.

As of today, author Marshall resides near Seattle. She is happily married and lives with her loving husband, her baby, and a couple of pets. She thinks that all of them conspire to make her run around all the time. Currently, Marshall is working on her first book series titled Eden Eld series and is in the process of developing the first novel of this series. Author Marshall says that she began writing even before she could properly hold a pen in her hand. Her interest in writing grew so much in the next few years that she has not stopped writing since then. Marshall likes to keep herself busy with her writing interests all the time throughout the year and spend her spare time relaxing with her family members and her pets. But, her summers are spent exploring various tourist attractions and kayaking and camping. Marshall claims that the inspiration behind her novels has always the survival stories that she used to read when she was younger.

Numerous critics have lauded Marshall’s efforts in writing her novels and have described them as gripping, taut, strong, and intriguing page-turners. Even Marshall’s writing style has been hailed as visceral, evocative, and dynamic. Such praise from the critics and fellow authors have helped her book to become widely successful and appreciated by a large number of readers. The writers who are listed in her list of favorites include Rachel Hartman, Kelly Barnhill, Katherine Arden, and Natalie C. Parker. Marshall maintains that her stories are the outcome of multiple disconnected pieces of inspiration gathered over time. She received a lot of inspiration from horror podcasts and internet ghost stories. Marshall feels such stories crafted the kind of tales that get under her skin and played with the rules and form of the genre. She thinks each of her characters has bits and pieces of her personality in them.

Marshall feels she can easily relate to the skepticism of Jeremy and the difficulty of Sara in maintaining friendships. After receiving worldwide praise for her first two books, Marshall is now looking forward to writing many more exciting stories in the years to come. She is hopeful that readers will like her future works and shower their love on them as they have done for earlier novels. Marshall expresses her gratitude to all those critics who have spoken nice words about her books and have given rave reviews to them on multiple literary platforms.

An exciting book penned by author Kate Alice Marshall is entitled ‘I Am Still Alive’. It was released in 2018 by the Viking Books publication. Marshall has depicted the central character in this novel in the role of Jess. Initially, Jess is introduced as a survivalist. Following the death of her mother, she asked to live with her father in the cold climate of Alaska. One day, she was alone in her cabin when it caught fire and got burned completely. Jess realizes that she must act fast or else she will succumb to the cold even before hunger. She had not met her survivalist father in more than a decade and had no intention of ever meeting him in life. But, the sudden death of her mother in a car accident and her injury in the same accident forced her to join the company of the man she doesn’t want to be near to, in his cabin located in the remote wilderness of Canada.

As the days passed by, Jess and her father started getting along well and also began to know each other. Just then, a shocking secret from the past life of her father got revealed and caused the destruction of everything. The fire took the life of Jess’ father and left her stranded. Now, she had no one to give her company in the cold wilderness, except for her dad’s dog. As she comes to terms with the fact that no one is going to come for help, she begins to gather strength and courage to build shelter, look for food, and keep herself and her dog warm. At times, she gets the feeling that the wilderness is going to destroy her completely, but her strong determination to survive keeps her going. Jess wants to survive and overcome the hardships to take revenge for her father’s death. She knows that culprit very well and wants to make him pay for his sinful crime.

Another engaging novel written by author Marshall is known as ‘Rules for Vanishing’. It was also published by Viking Books in 2019. The primary characters shown in this novel include Sara, Becca, Lucy Gallows, and a few others. This book opens by mentioning that a period of one year has passed since Sara’s younger sister, Becca, vanished. For Sara, her life in high school has still not returned back to normal. Following the disappearance of her sister, her school friends parted ways with her. No one sits with her during lunchtime anymore. Sara begins to suspect that her former friends don’t like her or maybe they are afraid of her. Later, Sara receives a mysterious message in which she and several of her friends are invited to play a strange game. The game is aimed at finding a local ghost legend named Lucy Gallows. As soon as Sara learns about this game, she thinks that it is the only way to locate Becca before she will be lost forever. Sara’s estranged friends join her in the quest and equip themselves with cameras and other necessary tools. They know that the path is going to be filled with hardships and difficulties and they have to remain united all along to overcome them.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Alice Marshall

Leave a Reply