Book Notification

Kate Anslinger Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of McKenna Mystery Books

Publication Order of Town Books

The Things We Carry (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Town Book #2 (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Underwater Secrets (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saving Jason (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Her Last Voyage (With: Heather Sawdon) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kate Anslinger is an American author of mystery and thriller books popularly known for her. Grace McKenna stands out as the lone female detective in her department, wielding a sharp mind and a unique ability to see past crimes in the eyes of criminals. This remarkable gift has empowered her to crack cold cases and bring justice to the victims. Aside from being a novelist, Kate wears many hats as a ghostwriter, editor, and book coach, leveraging her diverse skills in the literary world. She’s also a veteran of the United States Air Force. Her debut novel, Saving Jason, delves into the challenges of PTSD, reflecting her connection to the subject. Kate resides in a tranquil beach town near Boston, where she shares her home with her husband, two daughters, and a lovable Newfoundland pup.

The Gift is the first novel in the Amazon bestselling McKenna Mystery series. Detective Grace McKenna harbors a unique secret—a gift that allows her to peer into a person’s eyes and witness visions of both victims and wrongdoers. Though a blessing, this ability poses challenges in her line of work. Imagine having to explain a crime without any evidence or knowledge of the victim’s disappearance.

Grace faces a dilemma. A teenager has gone missing for two days, but fortunately, she has been staying with a friend and returning home safely. Yet, during their conversation, Grace notices something unsettling in the girl’s eyes, propelling her to take matters into her own hands to crack a case.

The story unfolds with captivating characters and thrilling action sequences, particularly as McKenna navigates morally ambiguous territory. Amidst the chaos, a budding romance blossoms between McKenna and a fellow officer, though revealing her secret could jeopardize everything. The plot is skillfully crafted, leaving readers eager for more from this promising series.

In Chasing Ghosts, the fourth novel in the series, Grace continues to use her gift to solve a spree of cases. Currently, Grace finds herself navigating the complexities of her first pregnancy, which her doctor closely monitors due to the advanced age of her pregnancy. During a routine check-up, she encounters Charlotte Anderson, a fellow expectant mother, accompanied by an older woman named Amy. When Grace locks eyes with Amy, she is overwhelmed by a vision of a distressed gothic teen, sparking her curiosity about the enigmatic woman.

In her novel, Anslinger skillfully guides readers through Grace’s perspective, captivatingly exploring her extraordinary gift. This narrative choice allows readers to intimately experience Grace’s struggles and triumphs as she grapples with the mysteries unraveling before her. Each character is intricately crafted, with distinct traits that leap off the page, and the dialogue adds depth to their personalities. As Grace delves deeper into her investigation, the emotional weight of her quest becomes palpable, resonating with readers drawn into her relentless pursuit of truth.

One of the novel’s most compelling themes is that appearances can be deceiving. Initially perceived as a wholesome and kind-hearted individual, Amy harbors hidden depths that challenge Grace’s perceptions. This exploration of the dichotomy between outward appearances and inner truths adds complexity to the narrative, keeping readers on the edge of their seats as they navigate the shifting dynamics of the story.

Anslinger expertly weaves a tapestry of suspense, intrigue, and unexpected twists, ensuring that readers keep guessing until the end. The novel’s numerous plot twists and turns will leave readers eagerly turning pages, eager to unravel the mysteries at the heart of Grace’s investigation.

Readers will likely find much to appreciate in this gripping tale of secrets, deception, and the unyielding quest for justice. With its richly drawn characters, compelling narrative, and thought-provoking themes, Anslinger’s novel promises to captivate audiences and leave a lasting impression long after turning the final page.

Underwater Secrets is Kate Anslinger’s standalone novel, published in 2016. It delves into the life of Claire Fitzgerald, who is grappling with the weight of her mother’s passing while navigating her insecurities and uncertainties. As she sorts through her mother’s belongings, Claire uncovers old photographs and a set of china, each holding clues to her mother’s hidden past. Alternating between Claire’s present-day perspective and her mother Emelia Nolen’s experiences in 1965, the novel paints a vivid portrait of family secrets and the journey toward self-discovery.

In the present day, Claire, a successful entrepreneur and mother to her young daughter Paige, is overwhelmed by insecurities compounded by her mother’s death. As she explores the attic, she stumbles upon photographs featuring her mother and a mysterious man, as well as a set of china that triggers memories of a stranger using the same teacup. These discoveries spark a quest for answers as Claire grapples with the truth behind her mother’s past.

The alternating chapters seamlessly weave together Claire and Emelia’s narratives, providing insight into women’s lives and the intricacies of their relationships. Through Claire’s reflections and Emelia’s experiences, the novel explores themes of identity, family, and the complexities of love.

The storytelling in Underwater Secrets is masterfully crafted, with each chapter flowing seamlessly into the next. The author skillfully navigates between past and present, unraveling the mysteries of Claire’s lineage while capturing the poignant emotions of loss and discovery.
As Claire delves further into her mother’s past, she unravels hidden truths that shed light on her identity. Through the journey of self-discovery portrayed in the novel, readers witness Claire’s emotional growth as she navigates through the complexities of her family history. Underwater Secrets beautifully captures the delicate balance between uncovering long-held secrets and embracing the unique qualities of one’s lineage.

Moreover, the novel delves into themes of love, loss, and the enduring connections within familial relationships. As Claire sifts through her mother’s belongings, she uncovers the mysteries of the past and confronts her own vulnerabilities and insecurities. The poignant exploration of these themes adds depth to the narrative, resonating with readers profoundly.

Underwater Secrets promises to captivate audiences and leave a lasting impact with its meticulously crafted characters and intricately woven plotlines. The rich tapestry of emotions portrayed in the novel ensures that readers will be drawn into Claire’s journey of self-discovery and emerge with a renewed appreciation for the complexities of family bonds.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Anslinger

Leave a Reply