Book Notification

Kate Baxter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Last True Vampire Books

Stripped Bear (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last True Vampire (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warrior Vampire (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Vampire (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Untamed Vampire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Vampire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wicked Vampire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kate Baxter is an American novelist best known for writing paranormal romance novels. Her most famous series of novels is the Last True Vampire series of novels, which is composed of over eight titles. A prolific writer, Baxter churns out her novels very fast. The first of the eight novels, The Last True Vampire was published in 2015 and currently has more than 8 books in print. Kate likes to consider herself a die-hard romantic with a love for the fanged, furry, and black clothes of the undead and the refinement of Shakespearean literature. She currently lives in rural Idaho, the setting for most of her paranormal romances. A sun lover, she loves wrangling when the sun comes out, and will only go out into the cold if she absolutely has to. Summer time is Kate Baxter’s best time of the year and you can find her sitting by the lake, taking in the view from her house’s balcony. She also loves pink appliances and believes that junk food needs to be made part of the food pyramid.

Kate Baxter’s True Vampire series best compares to the Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian or Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward. This is one of the best paranormal romance series to written by an American writer in a long time, and served to show that Baxter is a name to watch in the paranormal genre. She writes about male characters that can be as dangerous and as wild as you would expect in a paranormal series. Kate juxtaposes such characters with female leads that are harbored and sassy damsels. As expected, the polarity in the characters results in explosive chemistry when the two meet, making for narratives that are charged with intensity and passion. While she is a relatively new writer on the scene, Baxter manages to create compelling characters that leave the reader asking for more, even in the very early world building novels in the series.

The setting of Kate Baxter’s Last True Vampire series is the classic paranormal romance world of vampires, who have to confront ancient cults of zealots. These vampire-hating cults base their fanaticism and philosophies on organized religion that truth be told have a canny resemblance to some of Dan Brown’s works. Baxter’s heroes have a lonely life until they meet their soul mates, who change their lives forever. The author employs the archetypal vampire mythology aspects such as making her characters unbelievably handsome, nightwalkers, super-fast and strong, and sun sensitive. One of the innovations that she can be credited for, is the double fang on her vampires.

At the beginning of the Last True Vampire series, Mikhail Aristov, a Los Angeles based vampire is the only true vampire surviving in the world. Baxter introduces him as the only protector of an orphaned race, and the single carrier of all its memories. He is the last of the ancients who has wandered the earth without a soul, purpose, love, or kin for centuries. Perhaps unintentionally Kate Baxter’s narratives in the series are an allegory of American life as juxtaposed through its hopeless and soul sucking materialism. The dhampirs who are people that have vampire blood running in their veins share their memories and draw their power from the chief protagonist Michael. Just as the modern day Urbanite tries to keep up with the jones’s in their materialism, Michael is overwhelmed and exhausted by the collective community of vampires, who keep sending him their memories and draw their strength and power from him. Baxter weaves such an intricate web of interdependence that is both intriguing and poignant. While she writes a story that provides deep insights on internal battles between the present and the future, she combines it with a lot of action, sexy love scenes, beautiful people, and suspense that will have you on the edge of your seat.

The Last True Vampire, the first novel in the series is also one of its most popular. The chief protagonist is Michael Aristov, the one last true vampire, and king of the ancient race of vampires. Driven by his hunger and haunted by his past, he spends his nights roaming the nightclubs of L.A. As the sole survivor of the Ancient Ones, he managed to avoid the hunters of his kind for centuries. Now that he is back among the living, he has to feed like a creature of lust, a common vampire. Nothing that he finds could ever fulfil his deepest longing, that is, until he stumbles into his ideal woman, Clair. Clair Thompson has blood so intoxicating and so sweet that its smell alone makes him go mad with lust. Seductive, sexy, and sly, she is the only human that could satisfy his craving. But she could also seal his fate forever if he is not careful. From their stolen kisses, Michael takes Claire into the depths of his dark world, where falling in love could be the worst mistake that one could ever make. Now the big question is, could she be trusted to keep his centuries old secret?

Another book by Kate Baxter that you absolutely have to read is the second novel in the Last True Vampire series, The Warrior Vampire. Naya Morales while seemingly an ordinary human, was conceived with Shaman powers. Her entire life is now centered on finding stolen magic and meting out justice to its thieves. But all that changes when one night she answers to the call of magic, too alluring, glorious, and sensual that she just has to check it out. She soon finds herself confronting the most dashing and irresistible thief she has ever set eyes on. From the moment he looks into her eyes, Ronan the vampire knows that Naya is the soul mate that had been promised to him centuries ago. Their almost mystical connection drives a deep longing for her blood and an aching for her body. Naya is risking the wrath of her tribe by listening to the words of a vampire. But when she tries to redeem herself by taking Ronan prisoner, she finds that she is the one whose heart has been captured by the handsome vampire. Neither the fires of hell nor chains of silver can get her out of her predicament.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Baxter

Leave a Reply