Book Notification

Kate Breslin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

For Such a Time (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not by Sight (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
High as the Heavens (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Far Side of the Sea (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
As Dawn Breaks (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Love's Time (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kate Breslin is a former bookseller abnd bestselling author of Christian, inspirational, and romance fiction. She has been a writer of award-winning poetry and travel articles and for her work, she has won several awards over the years.

She was the winner of the 2015 Carol Award by the American Christian Fiction Writers and the Best Award for First Time Author from Christian Retailing for her debut novel “For Such a Time.”

Breslin has described her novels as wartime histories, particularly about the First and Second World Wars in which she weaves in fictional stories. Her stories usually include ordinary people who make it through incredible odds and go on to do extraordinary things.
She usually writes stories about loss, love, faith, and a happily ever after and sometimes stories of danger, intrigue, and adventure finding inspiration in historical events.

Kate Breslin now makes her home in the Pacific Northwest where she lives with her husband and kids. When she is not penning her novels, she can usually be found taking long walks or reading in the beautiful woodlands of Washington.
She also loves to explore new places in the United States and in Europe and has been to Barcelona, Rome, and Greece among other places where she sometimes finds new stories.

Even though she now makes her home in the suburbs of Seattle, Kate Breslin was born in Melbourne, Florida. Growing up, her father used to move around a lot due to his job and hence she has lived all over the United States.

As a child and as an adult, she lived in the Seattle area three different times. She would ultimately move back there with her husband and established her own home in the area. While Florida will always be in her heart, she has come to love the Pacific Northwest with its evergreens and mountains.

It was while she was living in Florida as a child that she began writing. Her very first attempts included poems that she made for family birthday cards before she graduated to penning short stories for school.
However, she would get distracted by everyday life and it would not be until she was a full-grown adult that she would get back into writing. She had run out of novels penned by her favorite historical romance writers when she thought why not write her own?
However, nothing was as easy as she imagined it would be and it was not until 2014 that she published her debut.

While Kate Breslin was never a war history buff, she has come to love setting her novels during the First and Second World Wars. She got interested in the setting and time period when she penned “For Such a Time” her debut novel.

She had always been a fan of the “Downton Abbey” series by Masterpiece Theater and it was while she was watching one scene from World War I that she got the inspiration to write “Not By Sight,” which was published in 2015.

She also finds much inspiration from stories of ordinary people who cope with adversity and still manage to achieve great things. As for authors and books that have inspired her fiction, she has said that the biggest ones have to be the novels of Linda Nichols.
She loved the author’s faith message and her well-written characters and stories which did not sound too preachy. Ultimately, she was driven to write inspirational fiction when she spent a weekend binge-reading the “Mark of the Lion” trilogy by Francine River.

Kate Breslin’s first novel is “For Such a Time” which is set in 1944. The lead is Hadassa Benjamin, a blue-eyed Jewess who feels like God has abandoned her. The reason for this feeling is that she had been saved from death by firing squad but then immediately fell into the hands of a new enemy.

She was pressed into service by Aric von Schmidt, the SS-Kommandant Colonel who is in charge of a Czechoslovakia transit camp. Hadassa hides behind the identity of Stella Muller but if she is to maintain her cover and survive as the Colonel’s secretary, she will have to stand by and watch Jews being deported to Auschwitz.

She suspects that Aric is a man of hidden sympathies and depths and moves to make an appeal on behalf of the prisoners in the camp. He shows some compassion and offers her hope and over time she starts becoming attracted to him. This is dangerous as she knows she should despise him as one of her enemies.

While she is trying to protect the prisoners at the camp, every attempt puts her at high risk of exposure. She says to herself that maybe just like Esther in the bible she was placed in the camp to save her people even if she may ultimately lose her life.

“Not by Sight” by Kate Breslin is set in the middle of World War I and tells the story of the heir to the earldom of Stonebrooke Jack Benningham. While most young men of similar age are out in France fighting the Nazis, Jack makes use of his high status in society and his reputation as a rogue to roam England tracking down German spies.

On the other hand is Grace Mabry, a woman that has a twin brother who is on the front in France. She happens to be a rich suffragette and is also fiercely patriotic. While she is out one night, she spies Jack across the ballroom and thinks him a coward. She intends to hand him a white feather as payment for his cowardice.

She would never have imagined that her actions would result in some unintended consequences. She soon finds herself having to leave London and finds work working in the countryside as part of a haying crew.
When she finally crosses paths with Jack, will she have the courage to admit that she should not have mocked him when she did not know the whole story?

Kate Breslin’s novel “Far Side of the Sea” is set in 1918 during the spring and introduces Lieutenant Colin Mabry. He is a British soldier who works for MI8 following injuries sustained on the front.

He just got a message from the woman he once loved named Jewel Reyer who he had believed was dead. He travels to France when he gets the summons desperately hoping his mission will restore the courage that had deserted him on the front and ease his guilt.
Colin is shocked to learn that the message was from his ex’s half-sister Johanna. The latter is employed by French Army Intelligence as a dovecote. She says that she had found a diary that belonged to Jewel and thinks her sister was taken by a German agent and could still be alive.

Colin is skeptical as there are spies everywhere but as they move across Spain and France they begin to develop a tentative trust.

Mainly set in continental France during the First World War, it is a work full of suspense, spies, intrigue and so much historical beauty.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Breslin

Leave a Reply