Book Notification

Kate Cann Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Art & Coll Books

In the Deep End / Ready? (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sink or Swim / Sex (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Diving In / Go! (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Art's Story (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Beach Books

Footloose / Grecian Holiday (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fiesta / Spanish Holiday (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape / California Holiday (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sea Change / Mediterranean Holiday (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Beach Books

Fiesta / Spanish Holiday(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape / California Holiday(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Footloose / Grecian Holiday(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sea Change / Mediterranean Holiday(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Hard Cash Trilogy Books

Moving Out / Hard Cash (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moving In / Shacked Up (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moving On Speeding (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Crow Girl Books

Crow Girl (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crow Girl Returns (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crow Girl Rises (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rayne Books

Possessed / Possessing Rayne (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Consumed / Fire and Rayne / Fire (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Kate Cann is a well-established English journalist and author. During her early years, Cann penned stories and diaries. Upon completing her high school education, Kate Cann joined the University of Kent where she studied American Literature and English as well. Later on in the year 1979, she was awarded her Master’s degree from the same university. Kate Cann began working in the year 1980, in one of the leading publishing houses, Time-Life Books. She mainly served as a copy editor. One day while going through a young fantasy novel, Kate Cann came to the realization that she could pen down a much better book than the one she was going through.

When her two kids were born, Kate Cann began working as a freelance copy editor from home. As luck would have it, Kat Cann got to work on teenage books. Cann did not love the way the teenage books treated sexual relationships. The sexual relationships were not only gloomy, but they were also gushing and unrealistic in every aspect. When Kate Cann began working on her first novel, she not only forgot to eat but she almost forgot to pick her children from school. A year later, Diving In was sent to the publishers, and it was accepted. Whenever Cann ran out of material, she realized that she had teenagers in the house, thus from time to time she eavesdropped on them. Her children were exceedingly tolerant of the idea, though from time to time they asked for money from Cann.

Kate Cann became a full-time writer in the year 1983. Currently, Cann resides in Wiltshire. Cann draws her inspiration from her teenage years and also her life as a mother. She also draws experience from the years she served as an editor for Time-Life Books.

Kate Cann Best Books

Possessed is the first book in the Rayne book series. In Possessed, Kate Cann introduces the readers to Rayne. The book begins with Rayne feeling as if she is trapped. Rayne believes that the only reason as to why her mother does not want her to go out is that she wants to use her as a babysitter, for her brother Jerry. Rayne also feels that her boyfriend who appears to care only about the status that Rayne is going to bring also traps her. She also feels trapped by the incessant action and noise, which surrounds her London, based flat. Thus, when Ryan manages to pass her A level examinations, she decides to take a break for one year. Ryan decides to apply for a room and board job at one of the secluded estates located out of the country.

However, at Morton’s Keep, Ryan does not find the quietness and peace that she was expecting. Morton’s Keep has a shocking past of torture, pain, and darkness. It does not take long before Ryan finds herself in the middle of all this. Uncertain of whom she should trust, or whether whatever she sees or feels is real, Rayne must be able to uncover the secrets of the Keep, together with the Keep’s frightening past especially if she plans to survive. With that said, Possessed is a planned duology and an exceedingly effective psychological horror narrative that tops regarding characterization and atmosphere. The first section of Possessed looks into the claustrophobic psyche of Ryan and her need to get away from everything and everyone.

This section is an effective tool that Kate Cann uses to show the readers how muffled and trapped Rayne feels at home and her relationship as well. The character can sense how close to the edge Ryan is and how flirty and strained her nerves are, especially with the Possessed being narrated in an exceedingly smart and effective third person. When the protagonist first made the decision to leave London, she accomplishes that through deception and manipulation so as to provide both her relationship with Damian her boyfriend and her mother. Playing the two against one another, Rayne tells Damian that she needs space away from her mother, while on the other hand, she tells her mother that she needs time away from Damian’s controlling behavior and pressure. Apart from the fact that Rayne is not a sweet character, she manipulates people out of the fear of not wanting to destroy any of her relationships.

However, despite being manipulative, Rayne is an exceedingly sympathetic character as we get to see how smothered Rayne is at home. Thus, when she eventually finds freedom and peace at Morton’s Keep, it is an exhilarating thing. Diving In is another excellent read by Kate Cann. In this book, we are introduced to 16-year-old Colette who loves to spend most of her time swimming all her problems away. Most of Colette’s problems are home related Thus, whenever she finds an opportunity to stay away from home, she normally takes it without thinking. When she is not swimming, she loves to fantasize about a man who tends to love swimming as much as she does. In the beginning, Colette refers to the mystery man as Achilles.

Eventually, she gets to learn that the mystery man’s real name is Art. Art is a seventeen-year-old boy, who is not only tall but also handsome as well. Colette loves to spend most of her time away from home at the pool, watching Art swim. The main reason why Colette loves to stay away from home is that of Sarah; her little sister tends to make herself look quite helpful and hardworking while in the process making Colette look lazy. Through all the new relationships, breakups and the surprise relationships, Diving In covers all the normal situations that any teenager would experience.

Sink or Swim is the third book in the Art and Coll book series. In this book, Coll and Art have had an exceedingly successful relationship; however, Coll starts to feel as if this is not what she wants. It is extremely hard to contemplate how things are going to end. Nonetheless, of she continues to stay, she is eventually going to find herself completely sucked under. Sink or Swim is the final book in the Art and Coll mystery series. Despite the fact that Sink or Swim is quite emotional, it still has its fair share of humor.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Cann

Leave a Reply