Book Notification

Kate Connor: Demon Hunter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kate Connor: Demon Hunter Books

Carpe Demon (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
California Demon (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demons Are Forever (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deja Demon (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demon Ex Machina (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Demon You Know... (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pax Demonica (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with Demons (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Day of the Demon (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Train Your Demon (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Kate Connor: Demon Hunter

Julie Kenner is an author of various genres—although most commonly some form of paranormal romance—and almost all of her books have become NY Times bestsellers. These include her Kate Connor: Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom series, her own take on superheroes with her Protectors series (The Cat’s Fancy, Aphrodite’s Kiss, Aphrodite’s Embrace, Aphrodite’s Passion, Aphrodite’s Secret, and Aphrodite’s Flame), and her take on an urban fantasy-slash-paranormal romance, The Blood Lily Chronicles (Tainted, Torn, and Turned).

Sometimes she writes grittier, more sensual and more suspenseful novels, for which she uses the pseudonym “ J.K. Beck”. This includes her series The Shadow Keepers (When Blood Calls, When Pleasure Rules, When Wicked Craves, and When Passion Lies).

Other times she writes more in the erotica genre, and for those she writes under the shortened pseudo- pseudonym “J. Kenner”. This mostly includes her Stark trilogy (Release Me, Claim Me, and Complete Me)—a series that could rival the 50 Shades of Grey series, though with less BDS&M and more plain old erotica.

However, without a doubt, of all the novels she’s written, her Kate Connor: Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom series is easily the most fun and a must-read for moms—and anyone—who’s longing for some escapist fiction.


So far, Julie Kenner has released five books in the Kate Connor series: Carpe Demon, published in the year 2005, California Demon in the year 2006, Demons Are Forever: Confessions of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom in the year 2007, Deja Demon: The Days and Nights of a Demon Hunting Soccer Mom in the year 2008, and lastly the Demon Ex Machina that was published in the year 2009.

She has also released a novella, titled The Demon You Know published in the year 2012, which follows Allie (Kate Connor’s daughter) and chronologically takes place between Deja Demon and Demon Ex Machina.

Additionally, Kenner has announced that a sixth book will be coming soon (though the specific release date remains unspecified): Pax Demonica.

All of these can be bought (or, in the case of Pax Demonica, pre-ordered) online or in store at most major bookstores.

The adventures start in Carpe Demon, with the introduction of Kate Connor, a seemingly normal mother happily married to her (second) husband and busy raising their two kids—except that she used to be a demon-hunter. She’s determined to keep her retirement from Hunting permanent, and she succeeds for fourteen years.

Then a demon appears in her local Wal-mart and, later that night, comes crashing—literally—into her home, forcing her to reluctantly come back out of retirement.

Now Kate has to juggle taking care of her kids, keeping demons out of her town, and keeping her demon-hunting secret from her family.

In book #2, California Demon, Kate Connor struggles between watching her daughter, Allie, grow increasing affections for a boy while also trying to discern why one of the new teachers at Allie’s school looks sort of familiar….

Demons Are Forever (Book #3), finds Kate confronting a reappearance of her dead ex-husband, who may be possessing someone in town—or someone’s possessing his body.

Deja Demon (Book #4) brings Kate head-to-head against High Demon Goramesh. While fighting to prevent the rise of an undead army, she also tries to support her husband’s political campaign and potty-train her son, who’s now a toddler.

In the fifth book, Demon Ex Machina, Kate finds herself juggling self defense classes with the other moms in town, making regular demon patrols, and dealing with her son’s lapse into a toddler tantrum phase.


For the most part, although there is a large list of total characters, there are only a few main characters that take significant roles in multiple or all of the books—namely Kate’s family.

There’s Kate Connor, of course, the protagonist. Kenner writes her as a housewife filled with spunk, a character that’s been compared several times to Joss Whedon’s Buffy in Buffy the Vampire Slayer. A likeable, strong-willed female character that can kick a substantial amount of demon butt? What’s not to like?

Kate’s family consists of her (second) husband Stuart, her teenage daughter Allie, and her toddler son Timmy.

Stuart is portrayed as an average man and husband, who is preparing to run for the position as the county attorney. He’s supportive of Kate (as a mom), though he tends to be busy with his career in politics.

Allie is also shown as a typical teenage daughter, with the usual moodiness and argumentative nature that can come with puberty.

Timmy is only around two years old for the majority of the series, and so he doesn’t have much character development of his own. What he does bring to the series is being one who always needs protection and watching—especially from demons—since he is incapable of doing much thinking or protecting for himself.

At the beginning of the series, all of these family members are completely unaware of Kate’s demon-hunting past—or even that demons exist—but the threat of them finding out is a constant aspect of the suspense.


For the most part, readers enjoy these romps about a demon-hunting soccer mom although, as with all things, there are those who disagree.

A majority of readers enjoyed Carpe Demon, but most of those who have problems, have problems with the other books in the series. They say that their issues lie mostly in a repetition and redundancy that occurs in the sequels. According to them, Kenner has a habit of rehashing prior events at the beginning of each novel, as well as having Kate say or think something along the lines of “ I won’t let those demons lay a hand on my family!” about every chapter or every other chapter.

Beyond those flaws, however, readers agree that the Kate Connor: Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom series is a fun form of escapist fiction. Escapist fiction exists to help readers escape and take a break from their own personal realities—and what a great way to escape, with a reality where moms can do normal mom duties and save the world from evil?

All books have their own flaws and, at the very least, Julie Kenner’s Kate Connor books are a fun way to pass the time, and to imagine what it might be like to be a demon-slaying soccer mom (or if your mom were a demon-hunting soccer mom).

Book Series In Order » Characters » Kate Connor: Demon Hunter

Leave a Reply