Nick Petrie Series

Kate Heartfield Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alice Payne Books

Alice Payne Arrives (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Alice Payne Rides (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Armed in Her Fashion (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Humours of Grub Street (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Embroidered Book (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Valkyrie (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Chatelaine (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Assassin's Creed Books

The Magus Conspiracy (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Resurrection Plot (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Glittership Yearly Anthologies Books

GlitterShip Year One (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
GlitterShip Year Two (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Anthology series.

Publication Order of Monstrous Little Voices Books

with Adrian Tchaikovsky, Emma Newman, Foz Meadows
Coral Bones (By: Foz Meadows) (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Course of True Love (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Unkindest Cut (By: Emma Newman) (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Even in the Cannon's Mouth (By: Adrian Tchaikovsky) (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On the Twelfth Night (By: ) (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Monstrous Little Voices: New Tales from Shakespeare's Fantasy World (With: Adrian Tchaikovsky,Emma Newman,Foz Meadows) (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Clockwork Canada(2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Murder Mayhem Short Stories(2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
GlitterShip Year One(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Time Travel Short Stories(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shades Within Us(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Time Travel Short Stories(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Kate Heartfield is a published Canadian author of fiction in the horror, science fiction, and fantasy genre. She also writes nonfiction and has been an editor.

She attended the University of Ottawa, where she studied political science and graduated with her degree. She then attended Carleton University, where she studied to get her degree, a Master’s in journalism. She was a columnist as well as an editorial board member from 2004 up until 2015 for the Ottawa Citizen. She also served as the editor of the editorial pages for two years from 2013 to 2015.

Heartfield has been nominated for the National Newspaper Award in Canada in the area of editorial writing back in 2015. She has taught journalism at Carleton University. She also has worked online to teach creative writing as part of The Loft Literary Center.

Heartfield resides in Ottawa, Canada in a rural area. She has a brother named Ian Heartfield.

The first time that she had her writing published it was in an issue of Black Treacle in its March 2013 volume. The author belongs to several writing groups, such as the Writers’ Union of Canada, Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, East Block Irregulars (in Ottawa), the Codex writers’ group, and the Historical Novel Society.

The author belonged to the Ottawa International Writers Festival Board from the time of 2011 to 2014. She also was part of the jury of science fiction as a 2017 member for the Ottawa Book Awards. She is also on the novel jury for the literary Sunburst Award.

She has had her writing and work appear in different formats. These include podcasts, anthologies, magazines, and periodicals. It has been featured in such places as Black Treacle (already mentioned), Alice Unbound, Clockwork Canada, 49th Parallels, Daily Science Fiction, Curiosities, Glittership, Lackington’s, Kaleidotrope, Monstrous Little Voices, Liminal Stories, Murder Mayhem Short Stories, Shades Within Us, Postscripts to Darkness #4, PodCastle, On Spec, Twenty-One, Strange Horizons, Spellbound, Tesseracts, Waylines and others.

Her full length novel Armed in Her Fashion was published in 2018. The book won awards such as the Aurora Award in 2019 for the best novel category. It was nominated in 2019 for the Sunburst Award. In the Locus Poll Award in 2019 for the best first novel, it came in eighth. She has written The Road to Canterbury, a medieval adventure story that is interactive. She is also the author of The Humours of Grub Street, about a writer that isn’t allowed to leave Grub Street because of the monsters.

Kate Heartfield is the creator and the author of the Alice Payne series. This fictional series kicked off in 2018 with the publication of the debut novel, titled Alice Payne Arrives. The second installment and sequel would come out a year later, titled Alice Payne Rides. The first novel was nominated in the category of best novella for a Nebula Award in 2019. It was also put up for best short fiction category of the Aurora Award in 2019.

Alice Payne Arrives is the first book in the Alice Payne series by Kate Heartfield. If you are a big fan of any science fiction books or stories than involve time travel, then be sure to check this novel out!

This is the tale of a thief who can time travel that ends up becoming a hero in an adventure that readers will not forget anytime soon! There is a lot going on in this story, from a major that has lost all illusion to a highway woman and a war that threatens to be conducted across all of time.

The year is 1788 and readers get to meet the main character of Alice Payne for the first time. Alice has a reputation that she has spent a while earning as the Holy Ghost. This alias is a known highway robber that gets the job done along with the help of Laverna, her automaton. Those who travel the highway or do so while having a heavy purse fear her arrival and the ensuing absence of their riches as they are lifted off of them.

Meanwhile, in the year 1889, things are happening. In an attempt to save history itself, Mayor Prudence Zuniga is doing what she can. If she can just change history, maybe she can save the timeline. But this is a tricky thing and nearly seventy tries at it later she has found that it appears to be futile. It’s just not happening.

2016 was a problematic year, but 2020 finds more action to be had. The guides and farmers are battling across time. The prize that they are fighting for just happens to be the world. The only thing that will be able to change the way that the war goes would be something or someone that is new coming in and changing the game.

What will happen with the entrance of Alice Payne? Read this debut book in the series to find out!

Alice Payne Rides is the second installment of the Alice Payne series and the sequel to the first book. The action starts back up again in full force with lots going on in this exciting continuation of the story.

Alice has gone back to 1203 and in the process has kidnapped Arthur of Brittany. Little does she know that this action actually helps to create the mystery that actually made them feel the need to go back there originally.

Also, Alice discovers along with her team that they’ve also hitched a traveler back with them. They’ve arrived safely in 1780 only to find that the smallpox virus took a ride and came back along with them.

Now they are busy looking for a vaccine in the future, especially Prudence. But while she’s there, she discovers that the different sides that are in a time war in the future want to use this for their own benefit. The team is working hard, trying to prevent a pandemic from spreading. Can they help mend time and make history go the way that it was originally intended to?

Or is it all just futile? The time war rages ever on. Can Alice Payne and others make sure that history is set right? Read this book to discover what happens for yourself!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Heartfield

Leave a Reply