Nick Petrie Series

Kate Marshall Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Secrets Of Eden Eld Books

Thirteens (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Brackenbeast (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Glassheart (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I Am Still Alive (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rules for Vanishing (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Our Last Echoes (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
These Fleeting Shadows (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
What Lies in the Woods (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Kate Marshall is American author of young adult fiction best known for her. I Am Still Alive standalone novel published in 2018. She loves to help others tell stories about their life, experiences, and beliefs. Kate and her husband create keepsake journals that make it easy for people to share their stories and thoughts with others.

I Am Still Alive

Kate Marshall’s debut novel I Am Still Alive may be the grand poobah of this year YA thriller books giving suspense pros like Stephen King and Lois Duncan a run for their money. I Am Still Alive is a tense wire of a book thrums with a great deal of suspense and unexpected touching moments.

The book opens up most uniquely- “I’m alone, and no one is coming for me.” It introduces us to Jess Cooper a young girl writing in a notebook. She is only sixteen years old alone in a remote home of Alaska where she lives with her father after her mother died in a fatal car crash. Through a couple of flashbacks, we get to learn that Jess was never close to her father and she is also recovering from injuries from the accident that killed her mother.

This might seem too much to absorb, but the author dispenses out the bad news in an elegant way. One can clearly see that Marshall knows her audience well and her book I Am Still Alive is set to appeal to the fans of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

Not unexpectedly, Jess does not take warmly to her father’s isolated way of life, but instead, she makes best out it just like most teens in novels do. But not so long she receives another dose of misfortune after three strong men arrive at their home and murder her father, torch the cabin and most of their supplies.

This is when the frigid spine of Kate’s story truly becomes visible. Now alone, baffled and scared, Jess knows that to survive as the winter sets in she will have to fight. The only company she’s gone’ is her father’s dog, Bo.

Luckily for Jess, for the few months she spent with her father, she carefully paid attention to her father’s tips for navigating the wilderness. Her first move is to locate a rock overhang where she can spend the night and then she takes stock of her father’s charred possessions- a few jars, an ax blade, a rope, and a first aid kit.

Little by little, facing setbacks along the way (some which are life-threatening), Jess builds a life for herself in a place where her father loved. There are some triumphs along the way too- she builds her first fire, catches her first fish and many others. From her first night alone, resolution fuels her recovery efforts and at the same time wants revenge for the person who murdered her father. She knows that the men will be back- and so she waits and strategizes how the revenge will be served.

Kate Alice Marshall’s debut novel fits the bill since its structures and themes are boldly contemporary. The book’s first half is split into alternating sections- “Before and after” as Jess recalls how and why she came to live with her father in the remote area of Canada and how she has managed to survive since his murder and the destruction of everything that had kept her small family alive in this scenic but unforgiving place.

By the time the two timelines merge halfway through the book, the readers are set to have heavily invested in Jess survival which is made even harder by a disability that forces her to work twice as hard- as person with two legs. I Am Still Alive is a story full of vivid details that will fascinate the fans of Hatchet by Gary Paulsen and its ilk from making a shelter to finding food, and there’s plenty of high stake with the animals and humans alike. However, Kate Marshall’s exhilarating tale is also a moving narrative about coming to terms with oneself and other people’s imperfection and finding oneself inner strength and resourcefulness thanks to her perfect and also flawed main and supporting characters.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Marshall

Leave a Reply