Book Notification

Kate Morton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The House at Riverton / The Shifting Fog (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forgotten Garden (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Distant Hours (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Keeper (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lake House (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Clockmaker's Daughter (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Homecoming (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kate Morton is an international bestselling novelist from Australia, who has written many critically acclaimed novels in her career based on the literature and fiction genres. She has gone on to sell more than 10 million copies of her novels in more than 38 countries all over the world, which were translated into more than 26 foreign languages. Such a high sale of her books has made her one of the biggest publishing exports of Australia. The novels written by Kate have fetched her many prestigious awards and nominations. So far, she has published a total of 5 standalone novels in her writing career and is expected to publish a few more very soon. Kate was born in the year 1976 in Berri, Australia. She is the eldest among the three sisters and used to do many creative things in her childhood days. Kate’s family had to change their place of residence for a number of times before settling finally in the Tamborine Mountain region. As a kid, she attended a small country school and used to love reading books from a very early age. Her favorite books were the ones written by Enid Blyton.

Kate went on to complete her graduation from the Trinity College London with a Licentiate in Drama and in Speech. Later, she enrolled herself in a summer course based on Shakespearean literature at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art situated in London. After this, Kate joined the Queensland University and obtained her first-class honors in the subject of English Literature in the year 1999. She also won a scholarship for completing her Master’s degree by focussing on the tragedy in the Victorian literature. Kate began writing manuscripts during her college days and by the end of her undergraduate studies, she had completed a couple of full length manuscripts before going on to write her first novel as a professional author. After a few years into her writing career, she got married to Davin who is a composer and jazz musician. The couple has 3 children and they live together in the suburb of Paddington in Brisbane. All the novels written by author Kate Morton have gone on to become number one in the bestseller lists of the New York Times and Sunday Times. Throughout her career, Kate has won prestigious awards such as the General Fiction Book of the Year award in the years 2007, 2009 and 2013. She also won the Christina Stead Award in the years 2010 and 2012 by the Fellowship of Australian Writers. Apart from these, Kate was nominated for the Most Popular Book Award in 2008 and for the IMPAC Dublin Award in the year 2010. Before becoming an author, Kate wished to join the Royal Shakespeare Company but was sidetracked by her hobby of writing novels. She still feels like hanging on to her dream whenever she goes to the theatre or the lights in her house get dim. As an avid reader, she believes that the habit of reading should be pleasurable and must feel illicit.

Kate has written five novels in her writing career till now, which are published between the years 2006 and 2015. One of the initial novels written by her was titled ‘The Forgotten Garden’, which was published by the Pan Books publishing house in the year 2008. The plot of the novel revolves around the lives of the primary characters Cassandra Ryan, Eliza Makepeace, Nell O’Connor and Rose Montrachet. It is set in Australia and Cornwall, England, United Kingdom. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Cassandra Ryan is depicted as being lost and alone in her grief. Her life was shaken tragically in an accident around 10 years ago and to add to her grief, her beloved grandmother Nell has just lost her life. With her death, Cassandra feels like she has lost every dear thing from her life. However, her life is turned upside down after a mysterious and unexpected bequest from her dead grandmother. Due to this, she ends up challenging all that she thinks she knew about her family and herself. Soon, Cassandra inherits a book of intriguing and dark fairy tales, which is written by Eliza Makepeace, and decides to take her courage in both the hands and goes on to follow in the footsteps of her grandmother Nell. She begins a quest in order to find the truth about the history and past secrets of her family. Eliza Makepeace is described by the author as a Victorian authoress who had mysteriously disappeared during the early 20th century. While still on her quest to know the truth about her family, Cassandra does not know that she is going to discover a new life for herself in the process. The novel very well depicts the elements of a captivating story by giving descriptions about a secret garden, a foundling, a denied love, an old book full of fairy tales and a mysterious aristocrat family. With the help of all these elements, the novel proves to be a compulsive and atmospheric read. It shows the mix of secrets, memories, past, and family in an intriguing way.

One of the other initial novels written by author Kate Morton was titled ‘The Distant Hours’. It was published by the Atria publishing house in the year 2010. The plot of this novel revolves around the lives of the main characters Meredith Baker, Seraphina Blythe, Thomas Cavil, Edith Burchill, Lucy Middleton, Raymond Blythe, Juniper Blythe and Persephone Blythe. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Edie Burchill goes on a journey after getting a long lost letter. She moves towards the Milderhurst Castle, which considered to be a moldering old house despite being great. The Castle dwelled by the Blythe spinsters. Edie’s mother was also billeted at the same place during the Second World War around 50 years back. The Blythe family has two elder twin sisters, who seem to spend their whole life looking after their third sister Juniper, who has lost her senses after being ditched by her fiance in the year 1941. The castle seems to be decaying as Edie tries yo unravel the past life of her mother. In her quest to do so, Edie is about to know more than she has expected. The secrets have been hidden in the castle for a very long time and have been waiting for someone to come and find the truth. The characters of the novel seem unforgettable and atmospheric. Author Kate Morton’s description of haunting memories and intriguing circumstances give an account of Kate’s rich style of storytelling.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Morton

4 Responses to “Kate Morton”

  1. Sharron B Burgess: 2 years ago

    I eagerly await Kate’s next book!She is one of my favorite authors! On second thought,my favorite!

  2. rosalie Osborne: 3 years ago

    Has Kate written a book in the last couple of years? having read everyone await eagerly for a new book soon as the boooks i relate *****

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Unfortunately not.

    • Nancy: 2 years ago

      Kate Morton did an interview with Suffolk Libraries UK last year (available on YouTube) in which she stated that she was in the process of writing another book. She expected it to be published in 2022.


Leave a Reply