Book Notification

Kate Mosse Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Languedoc Books

Publication Order of The Joubert Family Chronicles Books

The Burning Chambers (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The City of Tears (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost Ship (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Map of Bones (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Eskimo Kissing (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crucifix Lane (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winter Ghosts (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Taxidermist's Daughter (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Mistletoe Bride & Other Haunting Tales (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mistletoe Bride (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Becoming a Mother (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Extra Pair of Hands (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warrior Queens & Quiet Revolutionaries (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Great Escapes(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midsummer Nights(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Library Book(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Is How We Come Back Stronger: Feminist Writers on Turning Crisis into Change(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marple: Twelve New Mysteries(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kate Mosse is an English author specialized in novels, short stories, non-fiction and broadcasting. She was born in 20 October 1961. She is well-known for writing Labyrinth which has been translated into more than thirty-seven languages.

Kate Mosse grew up in Chichester and attended Chichester High School and New College, Oxford. She graduated in 1981 with a BA in English and spent the next 7 years publishing in London. In 1992, she left publishing and started working on her writing career. In 2001, she began working on the first book of her series, Labyrinth which has sold millions of copies in more than 40 countries.

Kate Mosse got married to Greg, her old school friend. Currently, she lives with her husband and family in Chichester and Carcassonne.

Books and Book Series


This was the first book in the series Languedoc. It is set in July 2005 in Pyrenees Mountains near Carcassonne. A volunteer of an archeological dig, Alice, comes across a cave and discovers something that sent shivers down her spine – strange writings on the walls, two crumbling human skeletons and a labyrinth pattern.

Travelling back in time, up to 800 years ago in France, a woman by the name Alais is given a ring and strange book for safekeeping by her father. This was just on the eve of a brutal crusade that was to later rip apart southern France.

According to Alais’s father, the book harbors the secrets of the true Grail, the ring and is inscribed with a labyrinth. It is also the one to identify the guardian of the Grail. Unfortunately, there has to be a great sacrifice to protect this secret from the armies outside the city walls of Carcassonne.


It is the second book in the series and involves Leonie Vernier and her brother Anatole. In 1891, they are invited by their widowed aunt to the beautiful town of Rennes-les-Bains in southwest France. Their aunt owns a mountain estate, Domain de la Cade which is famous in the region.

Sooner, they realize that their aunt Isolde and the Domain are far different from what they had in mind. Villagers believed that the deceased died after summoning a dark demon from the old Visigoth sepulchre at the top of the mountain. A book, from Domain’s library gave a clear explanation of the mysterious tarot pack that disappeared after their uncle’s death.

About a century later, Meredith Martin, an American graduate arrives in France to conduct a study on Claude Debussy, a 19th century French composer. Meredith checks into a hotel in Domain de la Cade but something feels very familiar about this hotel…strange visions and dreams begin to haunt Meredith…

The winter Ghosts

In the winter of 1928, Freddie is travelling through the attractive but forbidding French Pyrenees. He is in the search for resolution to the horrors of World War 1. A snowstorm spins his car and sends him off the mountain road. Shocked, Freddie tries to find his way through the woods and fortunately, he emerges in a tiny village where he meets Fabrissa.

Fabrissa is also mourning from the losses of World War 1. One night, Freddie and Fabrissa share their stories and this is when Freddie knows his role in the life of this remote town.


This is the third book in Languedoc series. It is set in 1942 where France was inhabited by Nazi. A not only spirited but also courageous nineteen year old, Sandrine finds herself sucked into a Resistance group, codenamed ‘Citadel’, in Carcassonne. Its members are women who are ready to risk anything to fight for their rights.

When Sandrine and Raoul meet, they discover that they have similar passions not only for their homeland but also for each other. However, in hard times where the enemy has eyes on every one and ears in walls, where friends disappear drastically without a trace, there is a high price to pay for love than expected.

The Taxidermist’s Daughter

It is 1912, Sussex. Villagers gather in a churchyard on the night when the ghosts of those who were to die the following year are seen.

Constantia Gifford stands alone and doesn’t believe in such superstitions. She is 17 and lives with her father, the taxidermist, in the remains of what was once Gifford’s world famous museum of taxidermy.

The bell starts to toll and all eyes stay fixed on the church. A gloved picks up a flint with no one noticing. Just as the last note fades, a woman is found dead.

During the highest tides of the season, the village struggles to fight the rising waters. Connie tries to uncover the truth behind the murder but she finds herself under suspicion. Is Constantia who she seems to be? What is the secret behind Gifford house?

The Mistletoe Bride and Other Haunting Tales

This is a collection of stories from Kate Mosse which are inspired by traditional folk tales, ghost stories and country legends from England and France. These tales are spiced up with lots of vengeful ghosts and spirits of haunted men and grief stricken women who are coming to terms with their destiny.

The Cave

March 1928. It has been more than a decade since the Great War ended but Freddie is still mourning the loss of his brother. His grief follows him when he decides to go on a vacation in south-west France. He meets Marrie after his car crashes and stumbles to a nearby village in the hills. She is also mourning. The story of how she lost her family deeply moves Freddie. This will lead him to the caves above the village where he discovers a heart shocking secret…

Eskimo Kissing

Sam is an ordinary teenager who has built her life through friendship and a special bond with her twin sister through entertainment and schoolwork. The novel revolves around an adopted twin whose sister has died for her real parents.

Crucifix Lane

Annie Jones is gets involved in an accident and knocked unconscious as she was leaving a club at six o’clock in the morning. When she wakes up, 11 years have elapsed. She is still in London but the river is no longer tidal, immigrant refugees have taken over the Marsh Projects and biopiracy is rife…

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Mosse

Leave a Reply