Book Notification

Kate Ryan Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kate Ryan Mysteries Books

She Waits (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Nice Clean Murder (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with Murder (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who'll Be Dead For Christmas? (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Of Course It's Murder (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Happened in Malinmore (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Near Myth Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's Not Always Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Recalculated Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead in the Water (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Married to Mayhem (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's Murder, Dude (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stranger Than Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

“Kate Ryan Mysteries” is a series of novels by award-winning mystery author Kate Sweeney. She is a Goldie award-winning author with more than forty novels in the “Kate Ryan Mystery,” “Dawn,” “Moon,” “Winds of Heaven,” and “Lilac Time” series, several single standing novels, a collection, and several novellas. Sweeney was the winner of the Golden Crown Literary Society Award in 2007 for her debut novel “She Waits.” The novel also made the shortlist for the Lambda Literary Society Award and spawned the “Kate Ryan Mystery” series. She also got a nomination for the Speculative Fiction’s GCLS Award for the novel “Away from the Dawn.” Kate is a contributing author for several anthologies including the Bella Books published “Wild Nights.” The Chicago-born author currently makes her home in Villa Park, Illinois, and works a day job as an office manager. When she is not working her job or writing her novels, she loves to travel.

The Kate Ryan mystery series is about Kate, a middle-aged photographer and former private detective. She is as human as can be as she gets mugged, falls, and has panic attacks. When presented with a mystery she is just as puzzled as the next person. However, she is good at thinking on her feet and in no time she will usually start piecing things together. She is surrounded by a motley crew of characters that are all fun and games but can also get serious when they need to. There is her younger sister Teri who behaves more like her mother and Mac her husband who respects and loves Kate. He enjoys that he gets an excuse for adventure by having her in his life. Then there is her friend Maggie who has a hot temper and is one of the most aggravating persons you could ever meet. However, the combination of these characters makes for great stories that draw one in and makes one care about what happens to them. Set I Ireland, Sweeney writes great descriptions as she talks about the beautiful landscape of Ireland and the voices of the people. She writes clean and nice mysteries that keep one guessing right up to the very end before providing the shocking ending.

“She Waits” the debut novel of the “Kate Ryan Mysteries” introduces middle-aged wildlife photographer Kate Ryan. She gave up a dangerous but very lucrative career so that she could pursue her passion for photography. Together with her partner, they had decided to give up private investigations when their last case had almost proved fatal. Kate had made the mistake of trusting someone that had once backstabbed her and she has now vowed to never again be so reckless as to trust her heart over her mind. She now finds her enjoyment and solace in photography, Chance her lovely dog, and her beautiful home. She had spent several years as an emotionally detached person who just performed the daily motions until she gets asked for a favor by one of her favorite persons. She heads to a small hamlet out in the country and meets the beguiling and stubborn Margaret Winfield. Kate and Margaret are brought together by a simple twist of fate even though what keeps them together is the threat of old family secrets, death threats, betrayal, and deceit. Kate is determined to keep Maggie safe even as she works to resolve a murder mystery that is two decades cold. Every day they spend together they grow closer but things are falling apart in Margaret’s family as ancient grudges come to light and more tragedies occur.

“A Nice Clean Murder” is the second novel of the “Kate Ryan Mystery” series. The story opens with Kate’s brother in law Mac learning that he had been left some property in Ireland by an uncle he barely knew. But there is someone determined to ensure he does not get his inheritance and things get really bad when the family realizes they are getting stalked. Kate does not know why Mac is so courageous in the face of the intimidation. Together with Teri they head for Ireland and Charlie and Maggie soon follow on their heels. The friends are about to get embroiled in ancient tales of superstitions, pirates, and murder combined with Irish folklore. Kate meets with a pretty lawyer who seems very interested in her though she knows that Maggie is the best person for her even if her emotions tend to send her in the wrong direction. She still has to deal with her dark past when she almost got killed. These demons have made it almost impossible for her to get close with anyone ever since. She is struggling with having to juggle the mystery of Mac’s behavior even as she tries to include Maggie in her life. She is also an accident magnet that Maggie has to get out of trouble almost every day. The mission soon becomes trying to resolve the mystery before driving Maggie away or hurting someone she loves.

Kate’s insecurities strike once again in “The Trouble with Murder” the third novel of the Kate Ryan Mysteries. She is insecure about her relationship with Dr. Maggie Winfield and because of this, she decided to go on a three-week assignment in South Dakota photographing mustangs. She has not been in contact with anyone during this time, not her editor not her sister, and definitely not Maggie. But she is now back home and even though she heads to Aunt Hannah’s and then to Maggie’s, she is not sure of how she will be received. The situation is bad is as it is typical with Kate but when Ellen the newest friend to Maggie is introduced things become even more complicated. Kate was preparing to go on a vacation on some lake cabin house alongside Hannah and Maggie but now Ellen also wants to go. She is certain Ellen intends to take Maggie away from her but does not know what to do about it. Things get very interesting when they find signs of a break-in at the cabin and Kate is knocked out cold while checking out some equipment at the back. And then there are the relationship troubles with Maggie. Just how will Kate navigate through all these?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Kate Ryan Mysteries

Leave a Reply